Fence Permit in Dallas, Texas
It depends
We could not confirm this
Before building any fence that exceeds the applicable height limit
Issued byCity of Dallas Building Inspection
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Dallas exempts fences that are 4 feet or under in the front yard and 6 feet or under in side and rear yards from a permit. Fences exceeding those heights require a building permit from the City of Dallas Building Inspection Department. Applications are submitted through the DallasNow online portal.
Typical threshold: fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare fence installer quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before building any fence that exceeds the applicable height limit
What a fence permit costs in Dallas
How Dallas compares in Texas
Across the Texas jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 6 to 8, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | It depends | share of one side of an existing fence being repaired or replaced |
| Austin | It depends | fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | Fences taller than 7 feet in height need a building permit; fences 7 feet or less in height are on the city's published exemption list. |
| Dallasthis page | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit |
| El Paso | It depends | Masonry walls and fences are measured against 42 inches in height; chain link fences are measured against a separate and higher trigger of 6 feet in height. The material determines which of the two applies. |
| Houston | It depends | fences over 8 ft above grade require a permit; masonry or concrete fences require a permit regardless of height |
| San Antonio | It depends | fences over 6 ft in height require a permit; fences 6 ft or under generally do not require a permit in San Antonio |
Closest fence permit thresholds outside Texas
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Dallas's 6 ft.
- Boston, Massachusetts, permit required for fences over 6 feet in height per Massachusetts 780 CMR
- Columbus, Ohio, fence over 6 ft in height requires a permit; fence 6 ft or under does not
- Jersey City, New Jersey, permit required if fence exceeds 6 feet or acts as a pool barrier
- Los Angeles, California, masonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page
How to apply in Dallas
In Dallas, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.
What most fence permit applications include:
- For Dallas, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
- For Dallas, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
- For Dallas, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. City of Dallas Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Dallas.
Where to apply in Dallas:
City of Dallas Building Inspection
- 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203
Fence Permit in Dallas compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit | No fence-specific line | |
| Arlington | It depends | share of one side of an existing fence being repaired or replaced | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Austin | It depends | fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit | Fences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... | |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | Fences taller than 7 feet in height need a building permit; fences 7 feet or less in height are on the city's published exemption list. | The FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule (Rev. | |
| El Paso | It depends | Masonry walls and fences are measured against 42 inches in height; chain link fences are measured against a separate and higher trigger of 6 feet in height. The material determines which of the two applies. | FY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Building Permits:... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Dallas, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
- In Dallas: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
- In Dallas: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
- In Dallas: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
- A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in Dallas: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
- In Dallas: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
- Gate hardware is inspected too in Dallas: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Dallas permit portal.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Fence Permit checklist for Dallas
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit. Usually needed: Before building any fence that exceeds the applicable height limit.
- Budget the fee. No fence-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Dallas, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own. Start at the Dallas permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Dallas Building Inspection. Address: 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203.
- Plan for inspections. In Dallas, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Dallas
In 2024, Dallas authorized permits for 6,038 new residential housing units (1,957 single-family, 4,081 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.0B, down from 6,424 the year before. That works out to about 4.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,258,858.
About Dallas
Dallas has about 584,643 housing units. The median home is valued at $295,300, against a median household income of $67,760. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a fence permit in Dallas?
- Dallas exempts fences that are 4 feet or under in the front yard and 6 feet or under in side and rear yards from a permit. Fences exceeding those heights require a building permit from the City of Dallas Building Inspection Department. Applications are submitted through the DallasNow online portal. Fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a fence permit cost in Dallas?
- No fence-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a fence permit in Dallas?
- You can apply through the Dallas permit portal or contact the City of Dallas Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in Dallas?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Dallas applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Dallas
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt | No deck-specific line |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I)... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit | No patio-cover line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools with walls completely above grade capacity under 5000 gallons and depth less than 24 inches are exempt; all other pools require a permit | No residential pool construction line (Code Compliance's annual pool operating permit is... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing of single-family or duplex valued at $500 or less does not require a permit; re-roofing valued over $500 or full replacement requires a permit | No re-roofing line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit | No shed-specific line |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line |
Fence Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Dallas documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this fence permit page for Dallas was verified. 1 official source: dallascityhall.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Dallas Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page