Deck Permit in Dallas, Texas
It depends
We could not confirm this
Before building a deck that will be more than 30 inches above grade or is over a basement or story
Issued byCity of Dallas Building Inspection
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Dallas exempts uncovered decks on single-family or duplex premises from a permit if they are not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade and are not built over a basement or occupied story. Decks exceeding 30 inches in height, or any deck over a basement or lower story, require a building permit. Applications are submitted through the DallasNow portal.
Typical threshold: decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before building a deck that will be more than 30 inches above grade or is over a basement or story
What a deck permit costs in Dallas
How Dallas compares in Texas
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | It depends | height of an uncovered deck above grade at any point |
| Austin | It depends | uncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exempt |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | A deck needs a permit if it is larger than 200 square feet, or more than 30 inches above the ground, or attached to a dwelling, or serving the exit door; any one of the four triggers alone requires the permit. |
| Dallasthis page | It depends | decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt |
| Fort Worth | It depends | height of the platform, walk or deck above grade, and whether it sits over a basement or story below |
| Houston | It depends | deck not exceeding 200 sq ft and not more than 30 in above grade and not attached to dwelling and not serving required exit door is exempt from permit |
| Lubbock | It depends | A structure attached to an existing residence is an addition and is permitted regardless of square footage. |
Closest deck permit thresholds outside Texas
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Dallas's 30 in.
- Chandler, Arizona, Decks not exceeding 200 sq ft in area, not more than 30 inches above grade at any point, not attached to a dwelling or townhouse, and not serving a required exit door are exempt from a building permit; any deck exceeding those limits or attached to the residence requires a permit.
- Minneapolis, Minnesota, freestanding decks less than 30 in above grade that are not attached with frost footings and do not serve the main entrance are exempt; all other decks require a permit
- Pima County, Arizona, Decks and non-structural flat work not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade, not over any basement or story below, and not part of an accessible route do not require a permit; a deck greater than 30 inches above finished grade or floor level requires a permit.
- Sacramento, California, uncovered deck 30 inches or more above grade requires a building permit
How to apply in Dallas
In Dallas, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs.
What most deck permit applications include:
- For Dallas, a permit application identifying the work, the deck's size (square footage), and whether electrical work such as lights or receptacles is included, submitted for plan review before construction begins (IRC R106).
- For Dallas, a scaled site plan (for example 1/4 inch to 1 foot) showing the new deck's location relative to the house, its overall length and width, and dimensioned distances from the deck to all property lines and other structures so required setbacks can be verified (IRC R106.1.1).
- For Dallas, a deck plan drawn to scale showing overall dimensions and the framing layout: joist size, spacing, span, and species; beam size and span; post size and height; and footing or pier size and depth (IRC R507.4 posts, R507.5 beams, R507.6 joists, R507.3 footings).
- For Dallas, a section or side elevation with connection details showing the ledger attachment to the house band joist with flashing, the fastener or bolt schedule, joist hangers, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the required lateral load connection (IRC R507.9 ledger connection, R507.9.2 lateral connection, R507.2.4 flashing).
- Footing sizing derived from tributary area, the soil bearing value, and design loads per IRC Table R507.3.1, with footings shown bearing on undisturbed soil at the frost depth required by the jurisdiction (IRC R507.3).
- Details for the guards required where the walking surface is more than 30 inches above grade, and for the stairs and handrails, showing guard height and opening limits, stair riser and tread dimensions, and handrail location (IRC R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
- For designs that fall outside the prescriptive R507 tables (for example multi-story or stacked decks, or a ledger attached to a cantilever), engineered and stamped structural plans are submitted in place of the prescriptive details (IRC R507.1 and R301).
General submittal guidance from IRC R106.1.1 (construction documents) and IRC R507 (exterior decks), 2021 IRC. Source. City of Dallas Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Dallas.
Where to apply in Dallas:
City of Dallas Building Inspection
- 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203
Deck Permit in Dallas compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas | It depends | decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt | No deck-specific line | |
| Arlington | It depends | height of an uncovered deck above grade at any point | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Austin | It depends | uncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exempt | Uncovered decks are grouped with pools and fences under the Small Projects Plan Review... | |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | A deck needs a permit if it is larger than 200 square feet, or more than 30 inches above the ground, or attached to a dwelling, or serving the exit door; any one of the four triggers alone requires the permit. | FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Residential Construction - New, Remodels, and... | |
| El Paso | Not confirmed | Not specified | Not published |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Dallas, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.
- Footing or pier inspection in Dallas: after the holes are dug and any forms or reinforcing are set but before concrete is placed, the inspector checks footing depth and diameter, a flat undisturbed bearing surface, and that the holes are free of water (IRC R109.1.1 foundation inspection; R507.3 footings).
- Framing inspection in Dallas: after the deck is framed but before the decking conceals it, the inspector verifies the ledger attachment and its flashing, the fastener and bolt schedule, joist hangers and metal connectors, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the lateral load connection; call it before decking is installed (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R507.9 ledger and flashing).
- Final inspection in Dallas: after the deck is complete and before it is used, the inspector confirms guard height and opening limits (a 4 inch sphere must not pass, 4 3/8 inch at stairs), stair riser and tread dimensions, handrail height and graspability where there are 4 or more risers, stair landings, and required stair lighting (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Dallas permit portal.
Inspection sequence from IRC R109 (inspections: R109.1.1 footing before concrete, R109.1.4 frame, R109.1.6 final), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Deck Permit checklist for Dallas
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt. Usually needed: Before building a deck that will be more than 30 inches above grade or is over a basement or story.
- Budget the fee. No deck-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade permits), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Dallas, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs. Start at the Dallas permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Dallas Building Inspection. Address: 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203.
- Plan for inspections. In Dallas, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Dallas
In 2024, Dallas authorized permits for 6,038 new residential housing units (1,957 single-family, 4,081 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.0B, down from 6,424 the year before. That works out to about 4.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,258,858.
About Dallas
Dallas has about 584,643 housing units. The median home is valued at $295,300, against a median household income of $67,760. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a deck permit in Dallas?
- Dallas exempts uncovered decks on single-family or duplex premises from a permit if they are not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade and are not built over a basement or occupied story. Decks exceeding 30 inches in height, or any deck over a basement or lower story, require a building permit. Applications are submitted through the DallasNow portal. Decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a deck permit cost in Dallas?
- No deck-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade permits), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a deck permit in Dallas?
- You can apply through the Dallas permit portal or contact the City of Dallas Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a deck permit themselves in Dallas?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Dallas applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Dallas
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit | No fence-specific line |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I)... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit | No patio-cover line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools with walls completely above grade capacity under 5000 gallons and depth less than 24 inches are exempt; all other pools require a permit | No residential pool construction line (Code Compliance's annual pool operating permit is... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing of single-family or duplex valued at $500 or less does not require a permit; re-roofing valued over $500 or full replacement requires a permit | No re-roofing line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit | No shed-specific line |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line |
Deck Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Dallas documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this deck permit page for Dallas was verified. 1 official source: dallascityhall.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Dallas Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page