Solar Permit in Dallas, Texas
Permit required
We could not confirm this
Before installing any residential solar PV or solar water heater system
Issued byCity of Dallas Building Inspection
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A building permit and a separate electrical permit are required for residential solar panel (photovoltaic) and solar water heater installations in Dallas. Construction documents reviewed or sealed by a licensed professional engineer must be submitted. Applications are made through the DallasNow online permitting portal at dallascityhall.com.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing any residential solar PV or solar water heater system
What a solar permit costs in Dallas
How Dallas compares in Texas
No Texas jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | Permit required | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026... |
| Austin | Permit required | Solar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power... |
| Corpus Christi | Permit required | The FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule publishes no solar line item. |
| Dallasthis page | Permit required | No solar-specific line |
| El Paso | Permit required | FY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, prices solar... |
| Fort Worth | Permit required | The Schedule of Mechanical Fees, Table 1-H, carries a "Solar energy system:... |
| Houston | Permit required | Solar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan... |
How to apply in Dallas
In Dallas, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.
What most solar permit applications include:
- Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
- For Dallas, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
- Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
- For Dallas, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
- For Dallas, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
- Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).
General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Dallas Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Dallas.
Where to apply in Dallas:
City of Dallas Building Inspection
- 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203
Solar Permit in Dallas compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line | |
| Arlington | Permit required | Not specified | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Austin | Permit required | Not specified | Solar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit... | |
| Corpus Christi | Permit required | No size or capacity threshold is published; adding solar panels is listed outright as work that needs a permit. | The FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule publishes no solar line item. | |
| El Paso | Permit required | Not specified | FY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, prices solar across... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Dallas, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
- In Dallas: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
- In Dallas: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Dallas: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
- In Dallas: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
- In Dallas: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Dallas: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Dallas permit portal.
Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Solar Permit checklist for Dallas
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before installing any residential solar PV or solar water heater system.
- Budget the fee. No solar-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Dallas, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit. Start at the Dallas permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Dallas Building Inspection. Address: 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203.
- Plan for inspections. In Dallas, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Dallas
In 2024, Dallas authorized permits for 6,038 new residential housing units (1,957 single-family, 4,081 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.0B, down from 6,424 the year before. That works out to about 4.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,258,858.
About Dallas
Dallas has about 584,643 housing units. The median home is valued at $295,300, against a median household income of $67,760. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a solar permit in Dallas?
- A building permit and a separate electrical permit are required for residential solar panel (photovoltaic) and solar water heater installations in Dallas. Construction documents reviewed or sealed by a licensed professional engineer must be submitted. Applications are made through the DallasNow online permitting portal at dallascityhall.com. Always confirm with the City of Dallas Building Inspection before starting.
- How much does a solar permit cost in Dallas?
- No solar-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a solar permit in Dallas?
- You can apply through the Dallas permit portal or contact the City of Dallas Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Dallas?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Dallas applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Dallas
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt | No deck-specific line |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit | No fence-specific line |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I)... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit | No patio-cover line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools with walls completely above grade capacity under 5000 gallons and depth less than 24 inches are exempt; all other pools require a permit | No residential pool construction line (Code Compliance's annual pool operating permit is... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing of single-family or duplex valued at $500 or less does not require a permit; re-roofing valued over $500 or full replacement requires a permit | No re-roofing line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit | No shed-specific line |
Solar Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Dallas documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this solar permit page for Dallas was verified. 2 official sources: dallascityhall.com, dallascityhall.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Dallas Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page