Texas / Dallas

Shed Permit in Dallas, Texas

It depends

We could not confirm this

Before building a shed that meets or exceeds the 200 sq ft threshold

Based on building code Verified

Issued byCity of Dallas Building Inspection

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Dallas exempts one-story detached storage or utility buildings with a floor area under 200 square feet that contain no utilities from the building permit requirement on single-family or duplex lots. Sheds at or over 200 sq ft or with any utilities require a permit. Permit applications are submitted through the DallasNow portal.

Typical threshold: one-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit.

Diagram of the 200 sq ft footprint area threshold for a shed permit in Dallas, Texas
Threshold illustrated: 200 sq ft. Whether Dallas requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-06-18.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds or places your shed, they usually handle any required permit. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before building a shed that meets or exceeds the 200 sq ft threshold

What a shed permit costs in Dallas

Line item
shed permitBy formulaNo shed-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Dallas compares in Texas

Across the Texas jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 100 to 200, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ArlingtonIt dependsfloor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shed
AustinIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exempt
Corpus ChristiIt dependsDetached storage buildings larger than 200 square feet need a building permit; accessory structures 200 square feet or less are on the city's published exemption list.
Dallasthis pageIt dependsone-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit
El PasoIt dependsThe exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site.
HoustonIt dependsone-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft does not require a permit
LubbockIt dependsThe building permit threshold for a detached accessory building is 200 square feet of floor area.

Closest shed permit thresholds outside Texas

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Dallas's 200 sq ft.

  • Baton Rouge, Louisiana, floor area of a detached accessory structure
  • Bellevue, Washington, detached storage sheds playhouses or gazebos with a floor area of 200 square feet or less do not require a building permit; structures over 200 square feet require a permit
  • Clark County, Nevada, sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190
  • Clark County, Washington, Sheds over 200 square feet require a building permit; sheds of 200 square feet or less are exempt if they meet setbacks and easements, but any size shed in a mobile home park or multi-family zone requires a permit.

How to apply in Dallas

In Dallas, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing.

What most shed permit applications include:

  • For Dallas, a written permit application identifying the proposed work and describing the property by its address or legal description, filed with the building department before construction begins (IRC R105.3).
  • For Dallas, a scaled site plan showing the shed's size and location and its dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is issued (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents showing the shed's foundation: freestanding accessory structures at or under the code's small-structure size and eave-height limits (600 square feet and a 10 foot eave height in the model code) are exempt from continuous footings but must still be shown supported on undisturbed soil or engineered fill and anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1).
  • Where the shed does sit on a continuous foundation with a wood sill plate, anchor bolt or approved strap details tying the sill plate to the foundation (IRC R403.1.6).
  • Roof framing details showing the rafter-to-wall or truss-to-wall connections, since even a shed exempt from continuous footings must be anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1; R802.11).

General submittal guidance from IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC. Source. City of Dallas Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Dallas.

Where to apply in Dallas:

City of Dallas Building Inspection

  • 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203

Shed Permit in Dallas compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
DallasIt dependsone-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permitNo shed-specific line
ArlingtonIt dependsfloor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shedPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No.
AustinIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exemptNot published
Corpus ChristiIt dependsDetached storage buildings larger than 200 square feet need a building permit; accessory structures 200 square feet or less are on the city's published exemption list.FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Residential Construction - New, Remodels, and...
El PasoIt dependsThe exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site.FY 2026 Schedule C has no line item named "shed" or "accessory structure." The closest...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Dallas, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.

  1. Foundation or anchor inspection in Dallas: called after any required footings, piers, or ground anchors are set and any forms or reinforcing steel are in place, but before concrete is placed, so the foundation or anchoring system can be verified before it is covered (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. Frame inspection in Dallas: after the shed is framed, sheathed, and braced, the inspector checks the framing, bracing, fasteners, and the roof connections that resist wind uplift, before those elements are covered (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R403.1 anchorage).
  3. Final inspection in Dallas: made after the permitted work is complete and before the shed is used; work may not proceed past any inspection stage without the building official's approval (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R109.4 approval required).
  4. In Dallas: for a pre-fabricated or kit shed, the manufacturer's installation instructions must be on site at the time of inspection so the inspector can confirm the anchoring and assembly match the design (IRC R106.1.2).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Dallas permit portal.

Inspection sequence from IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Dallas

In 2024, Dallas authorized permits for 6,038 new residential housing units (1,957 single-family, 4,081 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.0B, down from 6,424 the year before. That works out to about 4.8 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,258,858.

About Dallas

Dallas has about 584,643 housing units. The median home is valued at $295,300, against a median household income of $67,760. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a shed permit in Dallas?
Dallas exempts one-story detached storage or utility buildings with a floor area under 200 square feet that contain no utilities from the building permit requirement on single-family or duplex lots. Sheds at or over 200 sq ft or with any utilities require a permit. Permit applications are submitted through the DallasNow portal. One-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a shed permit cost in Dallas?
No shed-specific line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a shed permit in Dallas?
You can apply through the Dallas permit portal or contact the City of Dallas Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a shed permit themselves in Dallas?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Dallas applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Dallas

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdecks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exemptNo deck-specific line
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permitNo fence-specific line
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a Mechanical Permit under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I)...
Patio PermitIt dependsdetached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permitNo patio-cover line
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times...
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated pools with walls completely above grade capacity under 5000 gallons and depth less than 24 inches are exempt; all other pools require a permitNo residential pool construction line (Code Compliance's annual pool operating permit is...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsre-roofing of single-family or duplex valued at $500 or less does not require a permit; re-roofing valued over $500 or full replacement requires a permitNo re-roofing line
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line

Shed Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Dallas documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this shed permit page for Dallas was verified. 1 official source: dallascityhall.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Dallas Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Shed Permit requirements across Texas localities

Shed permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Dallas permit record

It depends
Get quotes