Texas / El Paso

Shed Permit in El Paso, Texas

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

Before installing an accessory storage building or structure of 200 square feet or more of floor area, or a second accessory structure on a site, inside the City of El Paso

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop)

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

The City of El Paso exempts an accessory storage building or structure of less than 200 square feet of floor area from the building permit requirement, but the exemption is allowed only once per site, so a second accessory structure needs a permit at any size. Exempt accessory structures still may not be placed over utility easements, and the city directs owners to check with the utility companies or Planning and Inspections first. The Citizen Access portal carries "Residential Accessory Structure" as its own record type and the Building Permit Application has a "Storage Shed" checkbox. These rules apply inside El Paso city limits only.

Typical threshold: The exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site.

Diagram of the 200 sq ft footprint area threshold for a shed permit in El Paso, Texas
Threshold illustrated: 200 sq ft. Whether El Paso requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-08-15.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds or places your shed, they usually handle any required permit. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing an accessory storage building or structure of 200 square feet or more of floor area, or a second accessory structure on a site, inside the City of El Paso

What a shed permit costs in El Paso

Line item
shed permitBy formulaFY 2026 Schedule C has no line item named "shed" or "accessory structure." The closest published Planning & Inspections building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus applicable technology fee," "Permit which require two inspections $160 plus applicable technology fee," and the residential square-footage schedule that begins "For additions or new single family residential construction between 401-1299 square feet ... $0.87 per square foot plus applicable Technology Fee." The city does not state which of these applies to a given shed.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How El Paso compares in Texas

Across the Texas jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 100 to 200, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ArlingtonIt dependsfloor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shed
AustinIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exempt
Corpus ChristiIt dependsDetached storage buildings larger than 200 square feet need a building permit; accessory structures 200 square feet or less are on the city's published exemption list.
DallasIt dependsone-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit
El Pasothis pageIt dependsThe exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site.
HoustonIt dependsone-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft does not require a permit
LubbockIt dependsThe building permit threshold for a detached accessory building is 200 square feet of floor area.

Closest shed permit thresholds outside Texas

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest El Paso's 200 sq ft.

  • Baton Rouge, Louisiana, floor area of a detached accessory structure
  • Bellevue, Washington, detached storage sheds playhouses or gazebos with a floor area of 200 square feet or less do not require a building permit; structures over 200 square feet require a permit
  • Boise, Idaho, floor area of a one-story detached accessory structure
  • Clark County, Nevada, sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190

How to apply in El Paso

In El Paso, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing.

What most shed permit applications include:

  • For El Paso, a written permit application identifying the proposed work and describing the property by its address or legal description, filed with the building department before construction begins (IRC R105.3).
  • For El Paso, a scaled site plan showing the shed's size and location and its dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is issued (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents showing the shed's foundation: freestanding accessory structures at or under the code's small-structure size and eave-height limits (600 square feet and a 10 foot eave height in the model code) are exempt from continuous footings but must still be shown supported on undisturbed soil or engineered fill and anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1).
  • Where the shed does sit on a continuous foundation with a wood sill plate, anchor bolt or approved strap details tying the sill plate to the foundation (IRC R403.1.6).
  • Roof framing details showing the rafter-to-wall or truss-to-wall connections, since even a shed exempt from continuous footings must be anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1; R802.11).

General submittal guidance from IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC. Source. City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop) sets the exact checklist for El Paso.

Where to apply in El Paso:

City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop)

Shed Permit in El Paso compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
El PasoIt dependsThe exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site....building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus...
ArlingtonIt dependsfloor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shed...Construction: "Portable Storage/Accessory Building 320 sq.ft. and under $50.00...
AustinIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exemptNot published
Corpus ChristiIt dependsDetached storage buildings larger than 200 square feet need a building permit; accessory structures 200 square feet or less are on the city's published exemption list....Residential Construction - New, Remodels, and Additions: Building Permit $0.461 per...
DallasIt dependsone-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit...Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In El Paso, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.

  1. Foundation or anchor inspection in El Paso: called after any required footings, piers, or ground anchors are set and any forms or reinforcing steel are in place, but before concrete is placed, so the foundation or anchoring system can be verified before it is covered (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. Frame inspection in El Paso: after the shed is framed, sheathed, and braced, the inspector checks the framing, bracing, fasteners, and the roof connections that resist wind uplift, before those elements are covered (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R403.1 anchorage).
  3. Final inspection in El Paso: made after the permitted work is complete and before the shed is used; work may not proceed past any inspection stage without the building official's approval (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R109.4 approval required).
  4. In El Paso: for a pre-fabricated or kit shed, the manufacturer's installation instructions must be on site at the time of inspection so the inspector can confirm the anchoring and assembly match the design (IRC R106.1.2).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the El Paso permit portal or by phone at 915-212-0104.

Inspection sequence from IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a shed permit in El Paso?
The City of El Paso exempts an accessory storage building or structure of less than 200 square feet of floor area from the building permit requirement, but the exemption is allowed only once per site, so a second accessory structure needs a permit at any size. Exempt accessory structures still may not be placed over utility easements, and the city directs owners to check with the utility companies or Planning and Inspections first. The Citizen Access portal carries "Residential Accessory Structure" as its own record type and the Building Permit Application has a "Storage Shed" checkbox. These rules apply inside El Paso city limits only. The exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a shed permit cost in El Paso?
FY 2026 Schedule C has no line item named "shed" or "accessory structure." The closest published Planning & Inspections building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus applicable technology fee," "Permit which require two inspections $160 plus applicable technology fee," and the residential square-footage schedule that begins "For additions or new single family residential construction between 401-1299 square feet ... $0.87 per square foot plus applicable Technology Fee." The city does not state which of these applies to a given shed. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a shed permit in El Paso?
You can apply through the El Paso permit portal or contact the City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop) directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a shed permit themselves in El Paso?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how El Paso applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in El Paso

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Electrical PermitPermit requiredReplacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt.(non-refundable)" is "$110 plus applicable technology fee," plus per-item charges such...
Fence PermitIt dependsMasonry walls and fences are measured against 42 inches in height; chain link fences are measured against a separate and higher trigger of 6 feet in height. The material determines which of the two applies....Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Building Permits: "building /fences" is "$110...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredAny size(non-refundable)" is "$110 plus applicable technology fee," then per-item charges are...
Patio PermitIt dependsConcrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry....building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredAny size(non-refundable)" is "$110 plus applicable technology fee," plus per-fixture charges...
Pool PermitIt dependsPools and ponds over 24 inches of depth require a permit, as do above ground pools containing 5,000 gallons of water or more....Building Permits line "building/residential/swimming pool, spa" is "$160 plus...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsThe 25 percent is a share of the residential roof covering being replaced, measured across the roof rather than as an area in square feet or a count of squares....Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Building Permit line "Roofing Permit": "$118 plus...
Solar PermitPermit requiredAny size...solar across four trades: Building Permits "Solar Shingle per 100 sq. ft." is "$14...

Shed Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not El Paso documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this shed permit page for El Paso was verified. 2 official sources: elpasotexas.gov, elpasotexas.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Shed Permit requirements across Texas localities

Shed permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing El Paso permit record

It depends
Get quotes