Texas / El Paso

Patio Permit in El Paso, Texas

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

Before pouring concrete more than 30 inches above grade or concrete that will support a structure, and before building a detached patio cover, porch, or canopy, inside the City of El Paso

From an official source Verified

Issued byCity of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop)

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

The City of El Paso does not publish a rule that uses the word patio, but it does publish the two triggers a patio project runs into. Concrete work needs a permit if it is more than 30 inches above grade or if it will support a structure, which covers a raised or structural patio slab, and detached porches and canopies are listed as permit-required work, which covers a patio cover. A flat, at-grade, non-structural concrete or paver patio is not addressed by either published trigger. These rules apply inside El Paso city limits only.

Typical threshold: Concrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before pouring concrete more than 30 inches above grade or concrete that will support a structure, and before building a detached patio cover, porch, or canopy, inside the City of El Paso

What a patio permit costs in El Paso

Line item
patio permitBy formulaFY 2026 Schedule C has no line item named "patio" or "patio cover." The closest published Planning & Inspections building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus applicable technology fee" and "Permit which require two inspections $160 plus applicable technology fee." The city does not state which applies to a given patio project.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How El Paso compares in Texas

Across the Texas jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 6 to 30, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ArlingtonIt dependsheight of an uncovered patio above grade at any point
Corpus ChristiIt dependsEvery attached patio cover or carport needs a permit regardless of size; a detached patio cover or carport needs one once it is larger than 200 square feet.
DallasIt dependsdetached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit
El Pasothis pageIt dependsConcrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry.
Fort WorthIt dependsheight of the patio platform or walk above grade; a patio cover is a separate accessory structure regardless of the slab height
HoustonIt dependspatio covers and enclosed patios require a permit; unroofed ground-level concrete slabs generally do not; impervious cover limits may trigger additional review
LubbockIt dependsA patio cover or other patio structure attached to the residence is an addition and is permitted regardless of square footage.

Closest patio permit thresholds outside Texas

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest El Paso's 30 inches above grade.

How to apply in El Paso

In El Paso, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement.

What most patio permit applications include:

  • Filing a permit application with the local building department, which only the property owner or an authorized agent may sign, since a patio cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size (IRC R105.1).
  • For El Paso, a scaled site plan showing the new patio cover's size and location relative to the house and other existing structures, with dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is approved (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents such as a framing plan and elevation, showing rafter or beam sizes and spacing, the distance between supporting posts, and the method of attachment to the house, drawn with enough clarity for the building official to confirm the work will conform to the code (IRC R106.1).
  • For the roof structure itself, plans showing compliance with the patio cover appendix's structural limits, such as adequate footing sizes for the applied post loads, since a shallow slab on grade may substitute for a deeper footing only in limited cases up to about 750 pounds of load per post (IRC Appendix AH, Section AH105.2).
  • By contrast, an at grade concrete or paver patio that is not attached to the dwelling and stays within the code's small flatwork thresholds, similar to a sidewalk, driveway, or low deck under 200 square feet and 30 inches high, commonly needs no building permit at all, so none of the plan review steps above apply (IRC R105.2).

General submittal guidance from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Sections R105 and R106, with Appendix AH Patio Covers (named Appendix H in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 editions). Source. City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop) sets the exact checklist for El Paso.

Where to apply in El Paso:

City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop)

Patio Permit in El Paso compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
El PasoIt dependsConcrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry....building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus...
ArlingtonIt dependsheight of an uncovered patio above grade at any point...Residential Construction: "Patio Cover, Screened Porch, Gazebo & Decks*...
AustinIt dependsat-grade sidewalks, driveways, and concrete flatwork outside the public right-of-way are exempt; a covered patio or attached patio cover requires a residential building permitNot published
Corpus ChristiIt dependsEvery attached patio cover or carport needs a permit regardless of size; a detached patio cover or carport needs one once it is larger than 200 square feet....Residential Construction - New, Remodels, and Additions: Building Permit $0.461 per...
DallasIt dependsdetached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit...Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In El Paso, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.

  1. In El Paso: a footing inspection once the excavation, forms, and any reinforcing steel are in place but before concrete is poured, confirming the posts supporting a patio cover will bear on adequate footings (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. In El Paso: a frame inspection after the rafters, beams, posts, and any required rough in work are in place but before the roof sheathing or covering material conceals them, since a solid patio cover roof cannot be signed off once it is covered without this check (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In El Paso: a final inspection once all permitted work, including roofing and post anchorage, is complete, which the code requires before the structure may be used (IRC R109.1.6).
  4. In El Paso: an at grade concrete or paver patio that qualifies as exempt flatwork under the permit rules is not subject to any of these inspection stages, since the inspection sequence only attaches to work that required a permit in the first place (IRC R105.2).
  5. In El Paso: each inspection has to be requested by the permit holder rather than happening automatically, and the approved plans and permit card need to be on site and available when the inspector arrives (IRC R109.3).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the El Paso permit portal or by phone at 915-212-0104.

Inspection sequence from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109 (Inspections). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a patio permit in El Paso?
The City of El Paso does not publish a rule that uses the word patio, but it does publish the two triggers a patio project runs into. Concrete work needs a permit if it is more than 30 inches above grade or if it will support a structure, which covers a raised or structural patio slab, and detached porches and canopies are listed as permit-required work, which covers a patio cover. A flat, at-grade, non-structural concrete or paver patio is not addressed by either published trigger. These rules apply inside El Paso city limits only. Concrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a patio permit cost in El Paso?
FY 2026 Schedule C has no line item named "patio" or "patio cover." The closest published Planning & Inspections building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus applicable technology fee" and "Permit which require two inspections $160 plus applicable technology fee." The city does not state which applies to a given patio project. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a patio permit in El Paso?
You can apply through the El Paso permit portal or contact the City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop) directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a patio permit themselves in El Paso?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how El Paso applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in El Paso

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Electrical PermitPermit requiredReplacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt.(non-refundable)" is "$110 plus applicable technology fee," plus per-item charges such...
Fence PermitIt dependsMasonry walls and fences are measured against 42 inches in height; chain link fences are measured against a separate and higher trigger of 6 feet in height. The material determines which of the two applies....Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Building Permits: "building /fences" is "$110...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredAny size(non-refundable)" is "$110 plus applicable technology fee," then per-item charges are...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredAny size(non-refundable)" is "$110 plus applicable technology fee," plus per-fixture charges...
Pool PermitIt dependsPools and ponds over 24 inches of depth require a permit, as do above ground pools containing 5,000 gallons of water or more....Building Permits line "building/residential/swimming pool, spa" is "$160 plus...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsThe 25 percent is a share of the residential roof covering being replaced, measured across the roof rather than as an area in square feet or a count of squares....Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Building Permit line "Roofing Permit": "$118 plus...
Shed PermitIt dependsThe exemption covers accessory storage buildings or structures of less than 200 square feet of floor area, and is limited to one such accessory structure per site....building-permit line items are "Permit which require only one inspection $110 plus...
Solar PermitPermit requiredAny size...solar across four trades: Building Permits "Solar Shingle per 100 sq. ft." is "$14...

Patio Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not El Paso documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this patio permit page for El Paso was verified. 2 official sources: elpasotexas.gov, elpasotexas.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department (One Stop Shop). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Patio Permit requirements across Texas localities

Patio permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing El Paso permit record

It depends
Get quotes