Patio Permit in Dallas, Texas
It depends
We could not confirm this
Before constructing any patio cover or enclosed patio addition
Issued byCity of Dallas Building Inspection
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Dallas exempts detached patio covers of 200 square feet or less on single-family or duplex premises from a building permit. Attached patio covers or any patio cover over 200 square feet require a permit. Enclosed patios that alter the building footprint require plan review. A plain concrete slab without a roof structure does not by itself require a building permit in Dallas.
Typical threshold: detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before constructing any patio cover or enclosed patio addition
What a patio permit costs in Dallas
How Dallas compares in Texas
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | It depends | height of an uncovered patio above grade at any point |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | Every attached patio cover or carport needs a permit regardless of size; a detached patio cover or carport needs one once it is larger than 200 square feet. |
| Dallasthis page | It depends | detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit |
| El Paso | It depends | Concrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry. |
| Fort Worth | It depends | height of the patio platform or walk above grade; a patio cover is a separate accessory structure regardless of the slab height |
| Houston | It depends | patio covers and enclosed patios require a permit; unroofed ground-level concrete slabs generally do not; impervious cover limits may trigger additional review |
| Lubbock | It depends | A patio cover or other patio structure attached to the residence is an addition and is permitted regardless of square footage. |
Closest patio permit thresholds outside Texas
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Dallas's 200 sq ft.
- Eugene, Oregon, roofed patio or porch cover supported by an exterior building wall
- Gilbert, Arizona, Only one-story detached non-habitable accessory structures up to 200 square feet are exempt from permit; attached patio covers and larger structures require a building permit.
- Portland, Oregon, area of an attached patio cover, porch cover, carport, or other open-sided roofed structure
- Sacramento County, California, floor area of a detached, not fully enclosed patio cover, pergola, arbor or trellis that is also no taller than 12 feet and stands 5 feet or more from the property line
How to apply in Dallas
In Dallas, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement.
What most patio permit applications include:
- Filing a permit application with the local building department, which only the property owner or an authorized agent may sign, since a patio cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size (IRC R105.1).
- For Dallas, a scaled site plan showing the new patio cover's size and location relative to the house and other existing structures, with dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is approved (IRC R106.2).
- Construction documents such as a framing plan and elevation, showing rafter or beam sizes and spacing, the distance between supporting posts, and the method of attachment to the house, drawn with enough clarity for the building official to confirm the work will conform to the code (IRC R106.1).
- For the roof structure itself, plans showing compliance with the patio cover appendix's structural limits, such as adequate footing sizes for the applied post loads, since a shallow slab on grade may substitute for a deeper footing only in limited cases up to about 750 pounds of load per post (IRC Appendix AH, Section AH105.2).
- By contrast, an at grade concrete or paver patio that is not attached to the dwelling and stays within the code's small flatwork thresholds, similar to a sidewalk, driveway, or low deck under 200 square feet and 30 inches high, commonly needs no building permit at all, so none of the plan review steps above apply (IRC R105.2).
General submittal guidance from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Sections R105 and R106, with Appendix AH Patio Covers (named Appendix H in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 editions). Source. City of Dallas Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Dallas.
Where to apply in Dallas:
City of Dallas Building Inspection
- 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203
Patio Permit in Dallas compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas | It depends | detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit | No patio-cover line | |
| Arlington | It depends | height of an uncovered patio above grade at any point | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Austin | It depends | at-grade sidewalks, driveways, and concrete flatwork outside the public right-of-way are exempt; a covered patio or attached patio cover requires a residential building permit | Not published | |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | Every attached patio cover or carport needs a permit regardless of size; a detached patio cover or carport needs one once it is larger than 200 square feet. | FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Residential Construction - New, Remodels, and... | |
| El Paso | It depends | Concrete work more than 30 inches above grade, or concrete that will support a structure, requires a permit; a detached patio cover is permitted under the city's porches and canopies entry. | FY 2026 Schedule C has no line item named "patio" or "patio cover." The closest... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Dallas, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.
- In Dallas: a footing inspection once the excavation, forms, and any reinforcing steel are in place but before concrete is poured, confirming the posts supporting a patio cover will bear on adequate footings (IRC R109.1.1).
- In Dallas: a frame inspection after the rafters, beams, posts, and any required rough in work are in place but before the roof sheathing or covering material conceals them, since a solid patio cover roof cannot be signed off once it is covered without this check (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Dallas: a final inspection once all permitted work, including roofing and post anchorage, is complete, which the code requires before the structure may be used (IRC R109.1.6).
- In Dallas: an at grade concrete or paver patio that qualifies as exempt flatwork under the permit rules is not subject to any of these inspection stages, since the inspection sequence only attaches to work that required a permit in the first place (IRC R105.2).
- In Dallas: each inspection has to be requested by the permit holder rather than happening automatically, and the approved plans and permit card need to be on site and available when the inspector arrives (IRC R109.3).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Dallas permit portal.
Inspection sequence from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109 (Inspections). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Patio Permit checklist for Dallas
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit. Usually needed: Before constructing any patio cover or enclosed patio addition.
- Budget the fee. No patio-cover line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Dallas, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement. Start at the Dallas permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Dallas Building Inspection. Address: 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203.
- Plan for inspections. In Dallas, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Dallas
In 2024, Dallas authorized permits for 6,038 new residential housing units (1,957 single-family, 4,081 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.0B, down from 6,424 the year before. That works out to about 4.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,258,858.
About Dallas
Dallas has about 584,643 housing units. The median home is valued at $295,300, against a median household income of $67,760. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a patio permit in Dallas?
- Dallas exempts detached patio covers of 200 square feet or less on single-family or duplex premises from a building permit. Attached patio covers or any patio cover over 200 square feet require a permit. Enclosed patios that alter the building footprint require plan review. A plain concrete slab without a roof structure does not by itself require a building permit in Dallas. Detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a patio permit cost in Dallas?
- No patio-cover line; billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a patio permit in Dallas?
- You can apply through the Dallas permit portal or contact the City of Dallas Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a patio permit themselves in Dallas?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Dallas applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Dallas
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt | No deck-specific line |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit | No fence-specific line |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I)... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools with walls completely above grade capacity under 5000 gallons and depth less than 24 inches are exempt; all other pools require a permit | No residential pool construction line (Code Compliance's annual pool operating permit is... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing of single-family or duplex valued at $500 or less does not require a permit; re-roofing valued over $500 or full replacement requires a permit | No re-roofing line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit | No shed-specific line |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line |
Patio Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Dallas documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this patio permit page for Dallas was verified. 1 official source: dallascityhall.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Dallas Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page