Permit records
San Diego permit search
San Diego permit records are public. The jurisdiction publishes them through an online record search.
By Mario Bailey Last checked · 10 official sources
- Project types verified
- 10
- in San Diego
- Search verified
- 12 Jul 2026
- we opened it ourselves
Search San Diego permit records
San Diego Accela Citizen Access DSD record search.
Open the San Diego record searchApplying rather than searching? Use the San Diego permit portal
We opened this address ourselves on . Official government links only, and we check them on a schedule.
If the permit does not turn up
Older permits are often missing from online records, and a permit filed under a contractor's name will not surface in an address search that expects the owner. City of San Diego Development Services Department can check the paper file.
- 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108
- Phone: 619-446-5000
- Official permit page
- Official fee schedule
What needs a permit in San Diego
Every project type we have verified in San Diego, with the rule, the threshold, and the fee that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | deck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to a dwelling requires a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Deck with pre-approved plans $1,148.29 plan... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits 15-45 amps... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit | Fence or wall over 7 feet high is billed per 100 linear feet under IB-501 Table 501C... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per unit under IB-103 Table 1B effective May 2026: air handler or mini-split... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | patio cover accessory to a dwelling under 300 sq ft of projected roof area and no taller than 12 ft and not in a yard setback does not require a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Patio Cover with pre-approved plans $1,501.42... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per fixture under IB-103 Table 3B effective May 2026: water heater $122.97... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated above-ground pool 5000 gallons or less and under 18 inches deep is exempt; all other pools require a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Pool/Spa per master plan for a single dwelling... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | renewal of roof covering without structural changes is generally exempt; permit required if structural work is needed or roof weight increases above 6 lbs per sq ft | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026, cross-referenced from IB-123: roof... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft used as non-habitable storage does not require a permit | No dedicated shed line in the fee schedule |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Per IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only a $275.80... |