Electrical Permit in San Diego, California
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work
Issued byCity of San Diego Development Services Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required for residential electrical work in San Diego including circuit breakers from 15 to 400 amps. Work exceeding 400 amps requires a plan-check permit. Standard replacements and additions qualify for the Simple (no-plan) MEP permit and do not require plan submission. EV charger installation also requires an electrical permit.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work
What an electrical permit costs in San Diego
How San Diego compares in California
No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | Permit required | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective... |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Land Development Fee Schedule S-002 C.6, "Electrical Permit (Other) $75.00... |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Section 2511 Electrical Code Fees, FY 2026-27: Issuing permits $42.77 each |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev... |
| Los Angeles County | Permit required | Electrical Code Fee Schedule (Title 27 of the County of Los Angeles Code, Ord... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Electrical Permit Application Flat Fee, 1 to 75 fixtures: $340 for FY 2024-25... |
| San Diegothis page | Permit required | Billed per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits... |
How to apply in San Diego
In San Diego, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For San Diego, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For San Diego, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of San Diego Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for San Diego.
Where to apply in San Diego:
City of San Diego Development Services Department
- 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108
- Phone: 619-446-5000
Electrical Permit in San Diego compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Diego | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits 15-45 amps... | |
| Alameda County | Permit required | Not specified | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1... | |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Not specified | Land Development Fee Schedule S-002 C.6, "Electrical Permit (Other) $75.00 minimum."... | |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Not specified | Section 2511 Electrical Code Fees, FY 2026-27: Issuing permits $42.77 each | |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016):... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In San Diego, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In San Diego: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In San Diego: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In San Diego: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In San Diego: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In San Diego: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In San Diego: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In San Diego: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Diego permit portal or by phone at 619-446-5000.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for San Diego
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work.
- Budget the fee. Billed per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits 15-45 amps $176.57 for the first 5 circuits, panel replace or upgrade up to 200 amp $176.57 each. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In San Diego, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the San Diego permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of San Diego Development Services Department. Phone: 619-446-5000. Address: 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108.
- Plan for inspections. In San Diego, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in San Diego
In 2024, San Diego authorized permits for 6,615 new residential housing units (775 single-family, 5,840 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.5B, up from 5,765 the year before. That works out to about 4.7 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,422,420.
About San Diego
San Diego has about 559,653 housing units. The median home is valued at $848,500, against a median household income of $104,321. About 48% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1978.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in San Diego?
- An electrical permit is required for residential electrical work in San Diego including circuit breakers from 15 to 400 amps. Work exceeding 400 amps requires a plan-check permit. Standard replacements and additions qualify for the Simple (no-plan) MEP permit and do not require plan submission. EV charger installation also requires an electrical permit. Always confirm with the City of San Diego Development Services Department before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in San Diego?
- Billed per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits 15-45 amps $176.57 for the first 5 circuits, panel replace or upgrade up to 200 amp $176.57 each. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in San Diego?
- You can apply through the San Diego permit portal or contact the City of San Diego Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in San Diego?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Diego applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in San Diego
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | deck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to a dwelling requires a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Deck with pre-approved plans $1,148.29 plan... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit | Fence or wall over 7 feet high is billed per 100 linear feet under IB-501 Table 501C... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per unit under IB-103 Table 1B effective May 2026: air handler or mini-split... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | patio cover accessory to a dwelling under 300 sq ft of projected roof area and no taller than 12 ft and not in a yard setback does not require a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Patio Cover with pre-approved plans $1,501.42... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per fixture under IB-103 Table 3B effective May 2026: water heater $122.97... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated above-ground pool 5000 gallons or less and under 18 inches deep is exempt; all other pools require a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Pool/Spa per master plan for a single dwelling... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | renewal of roof covering without structural changes is generally exempt; permit required if structural work is needed or roof weight increases above 6 lbs per sq ft | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026, cross-referenced from IB-123: roof... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft used as non-habitable storage does not require a permit | No dedicated shed line in the fee schedule |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Per IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only a $275.80... |
Electrical Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Diego documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for San Diego was verified. 2 official sources: sandiego.gov, sandiego.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Diego Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across California localities