Electrical Permit in Los Angeles, California
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work
Issued byLos Angeles Department of Building and Safety
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Typical job value
- $7,200
- declared valuation
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Los Angeles for new wiring, panel upgrades, and service work. Electrical installations under 600 volts up to 400 amps qualify for an Express Permit. EV charging (up to 400 amp service) and smoke/CO detector installation are also express-eligible. A licensed electrician is typically required for permitted work.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work
What an electrical permit costs in Los Angeles
How Los Angeles compares in California
No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | Permit required | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective... |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Land Development Fee Schedule S-002 C.6, "Electrical Permit (Other) $75.00... |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Section 2511 Electrical Code Fees, FY 2026-27: Issuing permits $42.77 each |
| Los Angelesthis page | Permit required | Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev... |
| Los Angeles County | Permit required | Electrical Code Fee Schedule (Title 27 of the County of Los Angeles Code, Ord... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Electrical Permit Application Flat Fee, 1 to 75 fixtures: $340 for FY 2024-25... |
| Riverside County | Permit required | Residential Electrical (BEL-RELE): $448.20 fixed fee |
How to apply in Los Angeles
In Los Angeles, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Los Angeles, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Los Angeles, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety sets the exact checklist for Los Angeles.
Where to apply in Los Angeles:
Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety
- 201 N. Figueroa St., Los Angeles, CA 90012
- Phone: (213) 473-3231
Electrical Permit in Los Angeles compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016):... | |
| Alameda County | Permit required | Not specified | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1... | |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Not specified | Land Development Fee Schedule S-002 C.6, "Electrical Permit (Other) $75.00 minimum."... | |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Not specified | Section 2511 Electrical Code Fees, FY 2026-27: Issuing permits $42.77 each | |
| Los Angeles County | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical Code Fee Schedule (Title 27 of the County of Los Angeles Code, Ord No. |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Los Angeles, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Los Angeles: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Los Angeles: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Los Angeles: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Los Angeles: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Los Angeles: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Los Angeles: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Los Angeles: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Los Angeles permit portal or by phone at (213) 473-3231.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Los Angeles
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work.
- Budget the fee. Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016): minimum $55 for one item under $55 or $90 for two or more items, plus a 3% D.S.C.S. surcharge and a 6% Systems Surcharge each with a $1 minimum. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Los Angeles, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Los Angeles permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety. Phone: (213) 473-3231. Address: 201 N. Figueroa St., Los Angeles, CA 90012.
- Plan for inspections. In Los Angeles, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
First-time inspection pass rates in Los Angeles
Measured from Los Angeles's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.
- Final: 62% pass first time (n=80,069)
- Smoke Detectors: 90% pass first time (n=38,441)
- Floor/Roof Diaphrgm/Shear Wall: 61% pass first time (n=33,475)
- Interior/Exterior Lathing: 50% pass first time (n=23,574)
- Footing/Foundation/Slab: 58% pass first time (n=21,651)
to . Source: City of Los Angeles building and safety inspections (open data). Full study.
Permitting activity in Los Angeles
In 2024, Los Angeles authorized permits for 10,488 new residential housing units (3,041 single-family, 7,447 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.6B, down from 13,154 the year before. That works out to about 2.6 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 3,970,219.
About Los Angeles
Los Angeles has about 1,537,034 housing units. The median home is valued at $879,500, against a median household income of $80,366. About 36% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1964.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Los Angeles?
- An electrical permit is required in Los Angeles for new wiring, panel upgrades, and service work. Electrical installations under 600 volts up to 400 amps qualify for an Express Permit. EV charging (up to 400 amp service) and smoke/CO detector installation are also express-eligible. A licensed electrician is typically required for permitted work. Always confirm with the Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Los Angeles?
- Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016): minimum $55 for one item under $55 or $90 for two or more items, plus a 3% D.S.C.S. surcharge and a 6% Systems Surcharge each with a $1 minimum. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Los Angeles?
- You can apply through the Los Angeles permit portal or contact the Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Los Angeles?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how Los Angeles applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Los Angeles
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Building permit fee is graduated by declared project valuation per LAMC 91.113 Table... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | masonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page | Valuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per piece of equipment per LADBS Fee Sch.3 (7/2017), for example a gas furnace... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per fixture per LADBS Fee Sch.5 (7/2017), for example a toilet at $23 and a... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | The pool shell takes a valuation-based building permit with the LADBS Valuation Table... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story shed under 120 sq ft and under 12 ft in height with no electrical or plumbing does not require a permit | No shed-specific valuation multiplier printed |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the... |
Electrical Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Los Angeles documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Los Angeles was verified. 2 official sources: dbs.lacity.gov, dbs.lacity.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across California localities