Fence Permit in San Jose, California
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
Before building a fence taller than the exempt height limits
Issued byCity of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Fences on single-family or duplex properties do not require a building permit if they are no taller than 7 feet along rear and side yards and no taller than 3 feet along the front yard. Fences exceeding these heights require a building permit. Retaining walls over 4 feet in height also require a permit.
Typical threshold: fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare fence installer quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before building a fence taller than the exempt height limits
What a fence permit costs in San Jose
How San Jose compares in California
Across the California jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 6 to 7, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | It depends | Permit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materials |
| Contra Costa County | It depends | height of a fence, with concrete and masonry walls treated as walls rather than fences |
| Fresno County | It depends | Fences not over 7 feet high are on the county's published list of work exempt from a building permit |
| Los Angeles | It depends | masonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page |
| Sacramento | It depends | fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit |
| San Diego | It depends | fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit |
| San Josethis page | It depends | fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit |
Closest fence permit thresholds outside California
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest San Jose's 7 ft.
- Austin, Texas, fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit
- Chandler, Arizona, Fences not over 7 feet high are exempt from a building permit; a fence taller than 7 feet requires Planning approval and a building permit. A separate zoning limit caps front-yard fence height at 3 feet regardless of the building-permit threshold.
- Henrico County, Virginia, fences 7 feet or less in height that do not serve as a swimming pool barrier are exempt; taller fences and any fence serving as a pool barrier require a building permit
- Howard County, Maryland, fences 7 ft or under, not enclosing a pool, are exempt from a building permit; over 7 ft or enclosing a pool requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit
How to apply in San Jose
In San Jose, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.
What most fence permit applications include:
- For San Jose, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
- For San Jose, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
- For San Jose, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) sets the exact checklist for San Jose.
Where to apply in San Jose:
City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
- 200 E. Santa Clara St., Tower 2nd Floor, San Jose, CA 95113
- Phone: 408-535-3555
- Email: BuildingPermits@sanjoseca.gov
Fence Permit in San Jose compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Jose | It depends | fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit | Not published | |
| Alameda County | It depends | Permit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materials | No fence line item appears in the Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule... | |
| Contra Costa County | It depends | height of a fence, with concrete and masonry walls treated as walls rather than fences | Land Development Fee Schedule item 13, "Fences Greater than 7ft": Building Permit /... | |
| Fresno County | It depends | Fences not over 7 feet high are on the county's published list of work exempt from a building permit | The Master Schedule of Fees publishes no flat fence permit fee. | |
| Los Angeles | It depends | masonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page | Valuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In San Jose, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
- In San Jose: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
- In San Jose: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
- In San Jose: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
- A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in San Jose: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
- In San Jose: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
- Gate hardware is inspected too in San Jose: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Jose permit portal or by phone at 408-535-3555.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Fence Permit checklist for San Jose
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit. Usually needed: Before building a fence taller than the exempt height limits.
- Budget the fee. Check the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Apply. In San Jose, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own. Start at the San Jose permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Phone: 408-535-3555. Address: 200 E. Santa Clara St., Tower 2nd Floor, San Jose, CA 95113.
- Plan for inspections. In San Jose, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in San Jose
In 2024, San Jose authorized permits for 1,998 new residential housing units (642 single-family, 1,356 in multi-family buildings), valued at $271M, down from 2,650 the year before. That works out to about 2 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,013,616.
About San Jose
San Jose has about 343,058 housing units. The median home is valued at $1,187,800, against a median household income of $141,565. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1975.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a fence permit in San Jose?
- Fences on single-family or duplex properties do not require a building permit if they are no taller than 7 feet along rear and side yards and no taller than 3 feet along the front yard. Fences exceeding these heights require a building permit. Retaining walls over 4 feet in height also require a permit. Fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a fence permit cost in San Jose?
- Fees are set by San Jose and are not published here. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a fence permit in San Jose?
- You can apply through the San Jose permit portal or contact the City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in San Jose?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Jose applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in San Jose
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | deck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to dwelling or serving required exit requires a permit | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized fixture-based... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Not separately itemized |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an itemized fixture-based... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential re-roof: permit issuance $113, inspections $236 for up to 2 visits plus $157... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367 for a... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or... |
Fence Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Jose documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this fence permit page for San Jose was verified. 2 official sources: sanjoseca.gov, sanjoseca.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Fence Permit requirements across California localities
Permit office
City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
408-535-3555Permit portal