Electrical Permit in San Jose, California
Permit required
We could not confirm this
For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work
Issued byCity of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in San Jose for new circuits, panel upgrades, electrical service work, and EV charger installation. Many residential electrical permits can be obtained online through SJPermits.org. All electrical work must comply with the 2022 California Electrical Code as adopted by San Jose. A licensed electrician is required for permitted electrical work.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work
What an electrical permit costs in San Jose
How San Jose compares in California
No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | Permit required | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective... |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Land Development Fee Schedule S-002 C.6, "Electrical Permit (Other) $75.00... |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Section 2511 Electrical Code Fees, FY 2026-27: Issuing permits $42.77 each |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev... |
| Los Angeles County | Permit required | Electrical Code Fee Schedule (Title 27 of the County of Los Angeles Code, Ord... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Electrical Permit Application Flat Fee, 1 to 75 fixtures: $340 for FY 2024-25... |
| San Josethis page | Permit required | Greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized... |
How to apply in San Jose
In San Jose, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For San Jose, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For San Jose, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) sets the exact checklist for San Jose.
Where to apply in San Jose:
City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
- 200 E. Santa Clara St., Tower 2nd Floor, San Jose, CA 95113
- Phone: 408-535-3555
- Email: BuildingPermits@sanjoseca.gov
Electrical Permit in San Jose compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Jose | Permit required | Not specified | Greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized fixture-based... | |
| Alameda County | Permit required | Not specified | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1... | |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Not specified | Land Development Fee Schedule S-002 C.6, "Electrical Permit (Other) $75.00 minimum."... | |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Not specified | Section 2511 Electrical Code Fees, FY 2026-27: Issuing permits $42.77 each | |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016):... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In San Jose, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In San Jose: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In San Jose: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In San Jose: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In San Jose: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In San Jose: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In San Jose: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In San Jose: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Jose permit portal or by phone at 408-535-3555.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for San Jose
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all new wiring circuits panels and electrical service work.
- Budget the fee. Greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized fixture-based schedule, charged in addition to the base Permit Issuance Fee, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In San Jose, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the San Jose permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Phone: 408-535-3555. Address: 200 E. Santa Clara St., Tower 2nd Floor, San Jose, CA 95113.
- Plan for inspections. In San Jose, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in San Jose
In 2024, San Jose authorized permits for 1,998 new residential housing units (642 single-family, 1,356 in multi-family buildings), valued at $271M, down from 2,650 the year before. That works out to about 2 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,013,616.
About San Jose
San Jose has about 343,058 housing units. The median home is valued at $1,187,800, against a median household income of $141,565. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1975.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in San Jose?
- An electrical permit is required in San Jose for new circuits, panel upgrades, electrical service work, and EV charger installation. Many residential electrical permits can be obtained online through SJPermits.org. All electrical work must comply with the 2022 California Electrical Code as adopted by San Jose. A licensed electrician is required for permitted electrical work. Always confirm with the City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in San Jose?
- Greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized fixture-based schedule, charged in addition to the base Permit Issuance Fee, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in San Jose?
- You can apply through the San Jose permit portal or contact the City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in San Jose?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Jose applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in San Jose
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | deck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to dwelling or serving required exit requires a permit | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit | Not published |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Not separately itemized |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an itemized fixture-based... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential re-roof: permit issuance $113, inspections $236 for up to 2 visits plus $157... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367 for a... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or... |
Electrical Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Jose documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for San Jose was verified. 2 official sources: sanjoseca.gov, sanjoseca.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across California localities
Permit office
City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
408-535-3555Permit portal