California / San Jose

Solar Permit in San Jose, California

Permit required

We could not confirm this

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

Based on building code Verified

Issued byCity of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A building and electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in San Jose. Systems on single-family homes may be eligible for online permit processing through SJPermits.org. Plans reviewed in the field during inspection may be available for qualifying installations. Separate permits are also required if structural modifications to the roof are needed.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in San Jose

Line item
solar permitBy formulaBilled as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized schedule, charged in addition to the base Permit Issuance Fee, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How San Jose compares in California

No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Alameda CountyPermit requiredBuilding Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective...
Contra Costa CountyPermit requiredLand Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof...
Fresno CountyPermit requiredThe Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in...
Los AngelesPermit requiredResidential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component...
Los Angeles CountyPermit requiredChapter 68, Section 6805 of the County of Los Angeles Building Code: 'The...
Orange CountyPermit requiredSolar Permits, Roof-Mounted (includes County Standard Plan): $428 for FY...
San Josethis pagePermit requiredBilled as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required...

How to apply in San Jose

In San Jose, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For San Jose, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For San Jose, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For San Jose, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) sets the exact checklist for San Jose.

Where to apply in San Jose:

City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)

Solar Permit in San Jose compared with nearby California localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each California schedule saysVerified
San JosePermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or...
Alameda CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBuilding Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1...
Contra Costa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedLand Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof mount and...
Fresno CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedThe Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in Section...
Los AngelesPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In San Jose, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In San Jose: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In San Jose: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In San Jose: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In San Jose: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In San Jose: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In San Jose: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Jose permit portal or by phone at 408-535-3555.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in San Jose

In 2024, San Jose authorized permits for 1,998 new residential housing units (642 single-family, 1,356 in multi-family buildings), valued at $271M, down from 2,650 the year before. That works out to about 2 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,013,616.

About San Jose

San Jose has about 343,058 housing units. The median home is valued at $1,187,800, against a median household income of $141,565. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1975.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in San Jose?
A building and electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in San Jose. Systems on single-family homes may be eligible for online permit processing through SJPermits.org. Plans reviewed in the field during inspection may be available for qualifying installations. Separate permits are also required if structural modifications to the roof are needed. Always confirm with the City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in San Jose?
Billed as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized schedule, charged in addition to the base Permit Issuance Fee, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in San Jose?
You can apply through the San Jose permit portal or contact the City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in San Jose?
Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Jose applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in San Jose

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdeck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to dwelling or serving required exit requires a permitBase permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedGreater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized fixture-based...
Fence PermitIt dependsfence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permitNot published
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a Mechanical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot separately itemized
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedGreater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an itemized fixture-based...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBase permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential re-roof: permit issuance $113, inspections $236 for up to 2 visits plus $157...
Shed PermitIt dependsshed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permitBase permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367 for a...

Solar Permit in other California localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Jose documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for San Jose was verified. 2 official sources: sanjoseca.gov, sanjoseca.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across California localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing San Jose permit record

Permit required
Get quotes