Shed Permit in San Jose, California
It depends
We could not confirm this
Before building a shed at or above 120 sq ft or adding utilities to any shed
Issued byCity of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Detached accessory structures under 120 square feet without electrical or plumbing are exempt from a building permit in San Jose. Sheds of 120 square feet or larger require a permit. Any shed with electrical or plumbing work also requires the appropriate trade permit regardless of size.
Typical threshold: shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds or places your shed, they usually handle any required permit. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before building a shed at or above 120 sq ft or adding utilities to any shed
What a shed permit costs in San Jose
How San Jose compares in California
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | It depends | Floor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shed accessory to a house, at which the building permit exemption stops |
| Contra Costa County | It depends | floor area of a one-story detached accessory structure |
| Fresno County | It depends | One-story detached accessory structures used as tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar uses are exempt from a building permit when the floor area is not greater than 120 square feet |
| Los Angeles | It depends | one-story shed under 120 sq ft and under 12 ft in height with no electrical or plumbing does not require a permit |
| Los Angeles County | It depends | gross floor area of a one-story detached accessory building; the exemption also requires the height not to exceed 12 feet and the maximum roof projection not to exceed 24 inches |
| Orange County | It depends | One-story detached accessory buildings used as tool and storage sheds, play houses and similar uses are exempt from a building permit only when the floor area does not exceed 120 square feet and the structure sits at least 3 feet from the property line and 6 feet from other buildings on the same property |
| San Josethis page | It depends | shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit |
Closest shed permit thresholds outside California
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest San Jose's 120 sq ft.
- Aurora, Colorado, shed floor area at which a building permit is required
- Baltimore County, Maryland, accessory structure floor area
- Boston, Massachusetts, one-story detached accessory sheds used for tools or storage are exempt if floor area does not exceed 120 sq ft
- Chandler, Arizona, One-story detached accessory structures (storage sheds, open-air ramadas) with floor area of 120 sq ft or less and height of 7 ft or less (up to 9 ft with 2 additional feet of setback per additional foot of height) are exempt if not connected to any electrical, gas, or water utility; exceeding either limit or connecting a utility requires a building permit.
How to apply in San Jose
In San Jose, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing.
What most shed permit applications include:
- For San Jose, a written permit application identifying the proposed work and describing the property by its address or legal description, filed with the building department before construction begins (IRC R105.3).
- For San Jose, a scaled site plan showing the shed's size and location and its dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is issued (IRC R106.2).
- Construction documents showing the shed's foundation: freestanding accessory structures at or under the code's small-structure size and eave-height limits (600 square feet and a 10 foot eave height in the model code) are exempt from continuous footings but must still be shown supported on undisturbed soil or engineered fill and anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1).
- Where the shed does sit on a continuous foundation with a wood sill plate, anchor bolt or approved strap details tying the sill plate to the foundation (IRC R403.1.6).
- Roof framing details showing the rafter-to-wall or truss-to-wall connections, since even a shed exempt from continuous footings must be anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1; R802.11).
General submittal guidance from IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC. Source. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) sets the exact checklist for San Jose.
Where to apply in San Jose:
City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
- 200 E. Santa Clara St., Tower 2nd Floor, San Jose, CA 95113
- Phone: 408-535-3555
- Email: BuildingPermits@sanjoseca.gov
Shed Permit in San Jose compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Jose | It depends | shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367 for a... | |
| Alameda County | It depends | Floor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shed accessory to a house, at which the building permit exemption stops | No shed line item appears in the Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule... | |
| Contra Costa County | It depends | floor area of a one-story detached accessory structure | No shed-specific flat fee is published. | |
| Fresno County | It depends | One-story detached accessory structures used as tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar uses are exempt from a building permit when the floor area is not greater than 120 square feet | For a shed between 120 and 240 square feet the county charges for the Item No. | |
| Los Angeles | It depends | one-story shed under 120 sq ft and under 12 ft in height with no electrical or plumbing does not require a permit | No shed-specific valuation multiplier printed |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In San Jose, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.
- Foundation or anchor inspection in San Jose: called after any required footings, piers, or ground anchors are set and any forms or reinforcing steel are in place, but before concrete is placed, so the foundation or anchoring system can be verified before it is covered (IRC R109.1.1).
- Frame inspection in San Jose: after the shed is framed, sheathed, and braced, the inspector checks the framing, bracing, fasteners, and the roof connections that resist wind uplift, before those elements are covered (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R403.1 anchorage).
- Final inspection in San Jose: made after the permitted work is complete and before the shed is used; work may not proceed past any inspection stage without the building official's approval (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R109.4 approval required).
- In San Jose: for a pre-fabricated or kit shed, the manufacturer's installation instructions must be on site at the time of inspection so the inspector can confirm the anchoring and assembly match the design (IRC R106.1.2).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Jose permit portal or by phone at 408-535-3555.
Inspection sequence from IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Shed Permit checklist for San Jose
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit. Usually needed: Before building a shed at or above 120 sq ft or adding utilities to any shed.
- Budget the fee. Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367 for a shed needing a permit; sheds 120 sq ft or less without wiring need no permit, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In San Jose, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing. Start at the San Jose permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Phone: 408-535-3555. Address: 200 E. Santa Clara St., Tower 2nd Floor, San Jose, CA 95113.
- Plan for inspections. In San Jose, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in San Jose
In 2024, San Jose authorized permits for 1,998 new residential housing units (642 single-family, 1,356 in multi-family buildings), valued at $271M, down from 2,650 the year before. That works out to about 2 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,013,616.
About San Jose
San Jose has about 343,058 housing units. The median home is valued at $1,187,800, against a median household income of $141,565. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1975.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a shed permit in San Jose?
- Detached accessory structures under 120 square feet without electrical or plumbing are exempt from a building permit in San Jose. Sheds of 120 square feet or larger require a permit. Any shed with electrical or plumbing work also requires the appropriate trade permit regardless of size. Shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a shed permit cost in San Jose?
- Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367 for a shed needing a permit; sheds 120 sq ft or less without wiring need no permit, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a shed permit in San Jose?
- You can apply through the San Jose permit portal or contact the City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement) directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a shed permit themselves in San Jose?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Jose applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in San Jose
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | deck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to dwelling or serving required exit requires a permit | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or an itemized fixture-based... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit | Not published |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Not separately itemized |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Greater of $315 per hour of actual inspection time or an itemized fixture-based... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Base permit issuance $227 plus base plan review $325 plus base inspection $367, rising... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential re-roof: permit issuance $113, inspections $236 for up to 2 visits plus $157... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an Electrical Permit: greater of $315 per hour of required inspection time or... |
Shed Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Jose documents; the office above sets the local rules.
- IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC
- IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC
How this shed permit page for San Jose was verified. 2 official sources: sanjoseca.gov, sanjoseca.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Shed Permit requirements across California localities
Permit office
City of San Jose Building Division (Planning Building and Code Enforcement)
408-535-3555Permit portal