Fence Permit in Chicago, Illinois
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
Before installing a fence that exceeds 5 ft in height
Issued byChicago Department of Buildings
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Median to issue
- 57 days
- 5,329 records
- Typical job value
- $118,600
- declared valuation
Quick answer
Chicago does not require a building permit for residential fences that are 5 feet or less in height measured from the lowest ground level within 12 inches horizontally. A permit is required for any fence exceeding 5 feet. Fences must also comply with the Chicago Zoning Ordinance which limits solid fences to 6 feet in rear and side yards and 54 inches in the front setback.
Typical threshold: fence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare fence installer quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing a fence that exceeds 5 ft in height
What a fence permit costs in Chicago
How Chicago compares in Illinois
Closest fence permit thresholds outside Illinois
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Chicago's 5 ft.
- Boston, Massachusetts, permit required for fences over 6 feet in height per Massachusetts 780 CMR
- Columbus, Ohio, fence over 6 ft in height requires a permit; fence 6 ft or under does not
- Dallas, Texas, fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit
- Denver, Colorado, fences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permit
How to apply in Chicago
In Chicago, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.
What most fence permit applications include:
- For Chicago, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
- For Chicago, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
- For Chicago, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. Chicago Department of Buildings sets the exact checklist for Chicago.
Where to apply in Chicago:
Chicago Department of Buildings
- 121 N. LaSalle St., 9th Floor, Chicago, IL 60602
- Email: dob-info@cityofchicago.org
Fence Permit in Chicago compared with nearby Illinois localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Illinois schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago | It depends | fence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permit | Flat $150 for a nonmasonry fence up to 6 ft high per Table 14A-12-1204.2 | |
| Cook County | Permit required | Not specified | Cook County Code of Ordinances Sec. |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Chicago, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
- In Chicago: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
- In Chicago: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
- In Chicago: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
- A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in Chicago: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
- In Chicago: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
- Gate hardware is inspected too in Chicago: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Chicago permit portal.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Fence Permit checklist for Chicago
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: fence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permit. Usually needed: Before installing a fence that exceeds 5 ft in height.
- Budget the fee. Flat $150 for a nonmasonry fence up to 6 ft high per Table 14A-12-1204.2; fences 5 ft or under need no permit, and the city's Changes for 2026 alert says many fence fees decrease mid-March 2026 with the new figure not yet published. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Chicago, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own. Start at the Chicago permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Chicago Department of Buildings. Address: 121 N. LaSalle St., 9th Floor, Chicago, IL 60602.
- Plan for inspections. In Chicago, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Chicago
In 2024, Chicago authorized permits for 4,371 new residential housing units (325 single-family, 4,046 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.1B, up from 3,616 the year before. That works out to about 1.6 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,677,643.
About Chicago
Chicago has about 1,268,199 housing units. The median home is valued at $315,200, against a median household income of $75,134. About 46% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1952.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a fence permit in Chicago?
- Chicago does not require a building permit for residential fences that are 5 feet or less in height measured from the lowest ground level within 12 inches horizontally. A permit is required for any fence exceeding 5 feet. Fences must also comply with the Chicago Zoning Ordinance which limits solid fences to 6 feet in rear and side yards and 54 inches in the front setback. Fence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a fence permit cost in Chicago?
- Flat $150 for a nonmasonry fence up to 6 ft high per Table 14A-12-1204.2; fences 5 ft or under need no permit, and the city's Changes for 2026 alert says many fence fees decrease mid-March 2026 with the new figure not yet published. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- How long does a fence permit take in Chicago?
- Across 5,329 recent residential permit records in Chicago, the median time to issue was 57 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
- Where do you apply for a fence permit in Chicago?
- You can apply through the Chicago permit portal or contact the Chicago Department of Buildings directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in Chicago?
- Under Illinois law (225 ILCS 320/3): Whether an owner can pull a building permit is a municipal question in Illinois; there is no state building-permit statute. At the state level, the Plumbing License Law requires that 'all plumbing shall be performed only by plumbers licensed under the provisions of this Act,' but exempts owner-occupants (and lessee-occupants) of single-family residences doing their own plumbing, provided the work meets Illinois State Plumbing Code minimum standards, is submitted for inspection by the Department or local unit, uses no unlicensed helpers ('shall not employ other than a plumber licensed pursuant to this Act to assist'), and the occupant has 'a current intention to live in such premises as his or her bona fide sole and exclusive residence for a period of not less than 6 months after the completion of the plumbing work.' Confirm how Chicago applies this before you apply.
How the 57 days break down
Application filed
Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.
Review
A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.
Permit issued
Median across 5,329residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.
Inspections
The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Chicago
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Nonstructural interior remodel up to 500 sq ft with no occupancy or load-bearing change... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Installation or alteration of a deck is $250 per dwelling unit served under the 2026... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Tiered stand-alone schedule: repair or alteration of devices on existing circuits is $75... |
| EV Charger Permit | It depends | Not specified | Not published |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No permit to repair or in-kind replace a furnace, boiler or AC in a residential building... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade noncombustible (concrete or brick) patios not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade, not over a basement or story below, and not in the public way are exempt; taller, over-basement, public-way, or roofed/covered patios require a permit | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Repair or in-kind fixture replacement without altering in-wall plumbing is $75 per... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | pools with water depth greater than 48 inches on a lot with 1 to 3 residential units require a full building permit with licensed architect or engineer plans; shallower pools with volume under 5000 gallons may be exempt | Flat $400 to install a private in-ground or fixed pool or hot tub per Table... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No permit to repair, recover or replace a pitched roof of at least 2:12 slope on a... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | single-story detached tool or storage shed under 150 sq ft and not more than 15 ft tall with no plumbing does not require a permit | A single-story shed 150 sq ft or less, up to 15 ft tall with no plumbing needs no permit... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $225 for a rooftop solar PV system under 13.44 kW per Table 14A-12-1204.2, plus a... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | No permit to repair or in-kind replace a water heater in a residential building up to 4... |
Fence Permit in other Illinois localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Chicago documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this fence permit page for Chicago was verified. 2 official sources: chicago.gov, chicago.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Chicago Department of Buildings. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Fence Permit requirements across Illinois localities