Electrical Permit in Chicago, Illinois
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all electrical installations and service upgrades on residential properties
Issued byChicago Department of Buildings
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Median to issue
- 57 days
- 5,329 records
- Typical job value
- $118,600
- declared valuation
Quick answer
A building permit is required in Chicago for electrical work including new service installations and circuit additions. New electrical service up to 400 amps qualifies for the Chicago Express Permit Program for faster processing. A licensed electrical contractor is required for permitted electrical work in Chicago.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all electrical installations and service upgrades on residential properties
What an electrical permit costs in Chicago
How to apply in Chicago
In Chicago, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Chicago, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Chicago, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Chicago Department of Buildings sets the exact checklist for Chicago.
Where to apply in Chicago:
Chicago Department of Buildings
- 121 N. LaSalle St., 9th Floor, Chicago, IL 60602
- Email: dob-info@cityofchicago.org
Electrical Permit in Chicago compared with nearby Illinois localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Illinois schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago | Permit required | Not specified | Tiered stand-alone schedule: repair or alteration of devices on existing circuits is $75... | |
| Cook County | Permit required | Not specified | Cook County Code of Ordinances Sec. |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Chicago, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Chicago: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Chicago: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Chicago: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Chicago: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Chicago: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Chicago: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Chicago: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Chicago permit portal.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Chicago
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all electrical installations and service upgrades on residential properties.
- Budget the fee. Tiered stand-alone schedule: repair or alteration of devices on existing circuits is $75 per service, with higher flat fees by new-circuit count or service amperage, per Table 14A-12-1204.2 (2022, not CPI-adjusted). Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Chicago, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Chicago permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Chicago Department of Buildings. Address: 121 N. LaSalle St., 9th Floor, Chicago, IL 60602.
- Plan for inspections. In Chicago, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Chicago
In 2024, Chicago authorized permits for 4,371 new residential housing units (325 single-family, 4,046 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.1B, up from 3,616 the year before. That works out to about 1.6 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,677,643.
About Chicago
Chicago has about 1,268,199 housing units. The median home is valued at $315,200, against a median household income of $75,134. About 46% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1952.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Chicago?
- A building permit is required in Chicago for electrical work including new service installations and circuit additions. New electrical service up to 400 amps qualifies for the Chicago Express Permit Program for faster processing. A licensed electrical contractor is required for permitted electrical work in Chicago. Always confirm with the Chicago Department of Buildings before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Chicago?
- Tiered stand-alone schedule: repair or alteration of devices on existing circuits is $75 per service, with higher flat fees by new-circuit count or service amperage, per Table 14A-12-1204.2 (2022, not CPI-adjusted). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- How long does an electrical permit take in Chicago?
- Across 5,329 recent residential permit records in Chicago, the median time to issue was 57 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Chicago?
- You can apply through the Chicago permit portal or contact the Chicago Department of Buildings directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Chicago?
- Under Illinois law (225 ILCS 320/3): Whether an owner can pull a building permit is a municipal question in Illinois; there is no state building-permit statute. At the state level, the Plumbing License Law requires that 'all plumbing shall be performed only by plumbers licensed under the provisions of this Act,' but exempts owner-occupants (and lessee-occupants) of single-family residences doing their own plumbing, provided the work meets Illinois State Plumbing Code minimum standards, is submitted for inspection by the Department or local unit, uses no unlicensed helpers ('shall not employ other than a plumber licensed pursuant to this Act to assist'), and the occupant has 'a current intention to live in such premises as his or her bona fide sole and exclusive residence for a period of not less than 6 months after the completion of the plumbing work.' Confirm how Chicago applies this before you apply.
How the 57 days break down
Application filed
Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.
Review
A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.
Permit issued
Median across 5,329residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.
Inspections
The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Chicago
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Nonstructural interior remodel up to 500 sq ft with no occupancy or load-bearing change... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Installation or alteration of a deck is $250 per dwelling unit served under the 2026... |
| EV Charger Permit | It depends | Not specified | Not published |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permit | Flat $150 for a nonmasonry fence up to 6 ft high per Table 14A-12-1204.2 |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No permit to repair or in-kind replace a furnace, boiler or AC in a residential building... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade noncombustible (concrete or brick) patios not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade, not over a basement or story below, and not in the public way are exempt; taller, over-basement, public-way, or roofed/covered patios require a permit | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Repair or in-kind fixture replacement without altering in-wall plumbing is $75 per... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | pools with water depth greater than 48 inches on a lot with 1 to 3 residential units require a full building permit with licensed architect or engineer plans; shallower pools with volume under 5000 gallons may be exempt | Flat $400 to install a private in-ground or fixed pool or hot tub per Table... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No permit to repair, recover or replace a pitched roof of at least 2:12 slope on a... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | single-story detached tool or storage shed under 150 sq ft and not more than 15 ft tall with no plumbing does not require a permit | A single-story shed 150 sq ft or less, up to 15 ft tall with no plumbing needs no permit... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $225 for a rooftop solar PV system under 13.44 kW per Table 14A-12-1204.2, plus a... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | No permit to repair or in-kind replace a water heater in a residential building up to 4... |
Electrical Permit in other Illinois localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Chicago documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Chicago was verified. 2 official sources: chicago.gov, chicago.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Chicago Department of Buildings. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Illinois localities