Illinois / Chicago

Solar Permit in Chicago, Illinois

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential solar PV system

From an official source Verified

Issued byChicago Department of Buildings

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Median to issue
57 days
5,329 records
Typical job value
$118,600
declared valuation

Quick answer

A building permit is required for all residential solar PV system installations in Chicago. Small-scale rooftop systems up to 13.44 kW qualify for the Express Permit Program which provides same-day approval online. Larger systems require a standard permit with full plan review.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Chicago

Line item
solar permitBy formulaFlat $225 for a rooftop solar PV system under 13.44 kW per Table 14A-12-1204.2, plus a separate zoning fee.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How to apply in Chicago

In Chicago, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Chicago, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Chicago, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Chicago, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Chicago Department of Buildings sets the exact checklist for Chicago.

Where to apply in Chicago:

Chicago Department of Buildings

Solar Permit in Chicago compared with nearby Illinois localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Illinois schedule saysVerified
ChicagoPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $225 for a rooftop solar PV system under 13.44 kW per Table 14A-12-1204.2, plus a...
Cook CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedFrom the county's Solar Photovoltaic and Thermal System Permit Requirements for...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Chicago, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Chicago: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Chicago: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Chicago: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Chicago: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Chicago: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Chicago: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Chicago permit portal.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Chicago

In 2024, Chicago authorized permits for 4,371 new residential housing units (325 single-family, 4,046 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.1B, up from 3,616 the year before. That works out to about 1.6 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,677,643.

About Chicago

Chicago has about 1,268,199 housing units. The median home is valued at $315,200, against a median household income of $75,134. About 46% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1952.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Chicago?
A building permit is required for all residential solar PV system installations in Chicago. Small-scale rooftop systems up to 13.44 kW qualify for the Express Permit Program which provides same-day approval online. Larger systems require a standard permit with full plan review. Always confirm with the Chicago Department of Buildings before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Chicago?
Flat $225 for a rooftop solar PV system under 13.44 kW per Table 14A-12-1204.2, plus a separate zoning fee. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
How long does a solar permit take in Chicago?
Across 5,329 recent residential permit records in Chicago, the median time to issue was 57 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Chicago?
You can apply through the Chicago permit portal or contact the Chicago Department of Buildings directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Chicago?
Under Illinois law (225 ILCS 320/3): Whether an owner can pull a building permit is a municipal question in Illinois; there is no state building-permit statute. At the state level, the Plumbing License Law requires that 'all plumbing shall be performed only by plumbers licensed under the provisions of this Act,' but exempts owner-occupants (and lessee-occupants) of single-family residences doing their own plumbing, provided the work meets Illinois State Plumbing Code minimum standards, is submitted for inspection by the Department or local unit, uses no unlicensed helpers ('shall not employ other than a plumber licensed pursuant to this Act to assist'), and the occupant has 'a current intention to live in such premises as his or her bona fide sole and exclusive residence for a period of not less than 6 months after the completion of the plumbing work.' Confirm how Chicago applies this before you apply.

How the 57 days break down

Day 0

Application filed

Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.

Day 1–56

Review

A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.

Day 57

Permit issued

Median across 5,329residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.

After

Inspections

The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Chicago

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNonstructural interior remodel up to 500 sq ft with no occupancy or load-bearing change...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedInstallation or alteration of a deck is $250 per dwelling unit served under the 2026...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedTiered stand-alone schedule: repair or alteration of devices on existing circuits is $75...
EV Charger PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNot published
Fence PermitIt dependsfence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permitFlat $150 for a nonmasonry fence up to 6 ft high per Table 14A-12-1204.2
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo permit to repair or in-kind replace a furnace, boiler or AC in a residential building...
Patio PermitIt dependsat-grade noncombustible (concrete or brick) patios not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade, not over a basement or story below, and not in the public way are exempt; taller, over-basement, public-way, or roofed/covered patios require a permitNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedRepair or in-kind fixture replacement without altering in-wall plumbing is $75 per...
Pool PermitIt dependspools with water depth greater than 48 inches on a lot with 1 to 3 residential units require a full building permit with licensed architect or engineer plans; shallower pools with volume under 5000 gallons may be exemptFlat $400 to install a private in-ground or fixed pool or hot tub per Table...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo permit to repair, recover or replace a pitched roof of at least 2:12 slope on a...
Shed PermitIt dependssingle-story detached tool or storage shed under 150 sq ft and not more than 15 ft tall with no plumbing does not require a permitA single-story shed 150 sq ft or less, up to 15 ft tall with no plumbing needs no permit...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo permit to repair or in-kind replace a water heater in a residential building up to 4...

Solar Permit in other Illinois localities

Everything above, sourced

chicago.gov: SOLARread

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Chicago documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Chicago was verified. 2 official sources: chicago.gov, chicago.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Chicago Department of Buildings. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Illinois localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Chicago permit record

Permit required
Get quotes