Colorado / Denver

Fence Permit in Denver, Colorado

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

For any fence 4 feet or taller

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity and County of Denver Community Planning and Development

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Denver requires a zoning permit for fences 4 feet and taller. Post-hole dug fences from 4 up to 8 feet may need only a zoning permit, while all other fence types over 4 feet also require a building permit. Masonry walls over 4 feet always require a building permit. Fences shorter than 4 feet require no permit unless the property has landmark or historic status.

Typical threshold: fences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permit.

Diagram of the 4 ft fence height threshold for a fence permit in Denver, Colorado
Threshold illustrated: 4 ft. Whether Denver requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-06-18.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare fence installer quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For any fence 4 feet or taller

What a fence permit costs in Denver

Line item
fence permitBy formulaZoning construction permit fee with a $10 minimum for fences valued at $500 or less; fences over 4 ft need the zoning permit and fences over 8 ft also need a Table 1 building permit, per the Development Fees schedule and Fences and Walls page.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Denver compares in Colorado

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
AuroraIt dependsfence height at which a building permit is required
Denverthis pageIt dependsfences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permit
Jefferson CountyNo permit neededNot specified

Closest fence permit thresholds outside Colorado

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Denver's 4 ft.

  • Chicago, Illinois, fence 5 ft or less in height on private residential property does not require a permit; fences over 5 ft require a permit
  • Phoenix, Arizona, fences and walls over 3 feet tall require a permit; fences under 3 feet tall are exempt
  • Scottsdale, Arizona, walls and fences 3 feet or shorter do not require a permit except retaining walls; fences over 3 feet require a building permit
  • Boston, Massachusetts, permit required for fences over 6 feet in height per Massachusetts 780 CMR

How to apply in Denver

In Denver, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.

What most fence permit applications include:

  • For Denver, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
  • For Denver, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
  • For Denver, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development sets the exact checklist for Denver.

Where to apply in Denver:

City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development

Fence Permit in Denver compared with nearby Colorado localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Colorado schedule saysVerified
DenverIt dependsfences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permitZoning construction permit fee with a $10 minimum for fences valued at $500 or less
AuroraIt dependsfence height at which a building permit is requiredThere is no fence line item on the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer...
Jefferson CountyNo permit neededNot specifiedNo permit for fences in unincorporated Jefferson County

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Denver, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.

  1. In Denver: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
  2. In Denver: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
  3. In Denver: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
  4. A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in Denver: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
  5. In Denver: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
  6. Gate hardware is inspected too in Denver: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Denver permit portal or by phone at 720-865-2720.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Denver

In 2024, Denver authorized permits for 3,994 new residential housing units (872 single-family, 3,122 in multi-family buildings), valued at $788M, down from 5,725 the year before. That works out to about 5.4 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 735,538.

About Denver

Denver has about 352,593 housing units. The median home is valued at $586,700, against a median household income of $91,681. About 49% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a fence permit in Denver?
Denver requires a zoning permit for fences 4 feet and taller. Post-hole dug fences from 4 up to 8 feet may need only a zoning permit, while all other fence types over 4 feet also require a building permit. Masonry walls over 4 feet always require a building permit. Fences shorter than 4 feet require no permit unless the property has landmark or historic status. Fences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a fence permit cost in Denver?
Zoning construction permit fee with a $10 minimum for fences valued at $500 or less; fences over 4 ft need the zoning permit and fences over 8 ft also need a Table 1 building permit, per the Development Fees schedule and Fences and Walls page. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a fence permit in Denver?
You can apply through the Denver permit portal or contact the City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in Denver?
Under Colorado law (C.R.S. 12-115-116(2); C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c); C.R.S. 12-155-118(2); C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c)): Colorado's state electrical law has a homeowner exception: under C.R.S. 12-115-116(2), you do not need an electrician's license to do electrical work on your own property or residence, as long as all the work, other than maintenance or repair of existing systems, is inspected under the state law. The exception does not apply if the property is intended for sale or resale by someone in the construction or remodeling business, is rental property, or is generally open to the public. A homeowner performing work on the homeowner's home is a qualified applicant who may pull the state electrical permit under C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c), and plumbing mirrors this: C.R.S. 12-155-118(2) allows unlicensed plumbing work on your own property or residence with the same carve-outs, and C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c) lets a homeowner pull the state plumbing permit. The State Electrical and Plumbing Boards at DORA require that the homeowner personally perform the work, that it be inspected before cover and again at completion, and that it meet the National Electrical Code or the adopted plumbing codes. Colorado has no statewide general contractor license: Title 12 licenses electricians and plumbers at the state level, and general building contractors are licensed, if at all, by the individual city or county. Confirm how Denver applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Denver

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsuncovered decks under 12 in off the ground require no permit; 12 in or more requires a zoning permit; 30 in or more also requires a building permitValuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum
Patio PermitIt dependscovered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permitValuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo pool-specific fee line
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedIssued as a no-plan-review quick permit
Shed PermitIt dependssheds up to 200 sq ft with 8 ft top plate and 14 ft max height do not require a building permit but may require a zoning permit in some zone districtsNo building permit for one-story detached sheds up to 200 sq ft, 8 ft top plate and 14...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specified$50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review...

Fence Permit in other Colorado localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Denver documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this fence permit page for Denver was verified. 2 official sources: denvergov.org, denvergov.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Fence Permit requirements across Colorado localities

Fence permit rules nationwide

It depends
Get quotes