Solar Permit in Denver, Colorado
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
Before installing any residential solar PV or solar hot water system
Issued byCity and County of Denver Community Planning and Development
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Permit fee
- $50
- from the published schedule
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required for all residential rooftop solar PV installations in Denver. Systems under 10 kW DC on homes with service up to 400 amps may use the SolarAPP+ quick permit process. Systems of 10 kW and above require stamped engineered plans. Solar hot water systems also require a plumbing permit. Zoning permits are required if panels are not flush-mounted or if battery systems are external.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing any residential solar PV or solar hot water system
What a solar permit costs in Denver
How Denver compares in Colorado
No Colorado jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Aurora | Permit required | On the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised... |
| Denverthis page | Permit required | $50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no... |
| Jefferson County | Permit required | Solar permit fees are capped at $500 for residential systems, per the county... |
How to apply in Denver
In Denver, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.
What most solar permit applications include:
- Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
- For Denver, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
- Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
- For Denver, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
- For Denver, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
- Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).
General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development sets the exact checklist for Denver.
Where to apply in Denver:
City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development
- 201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 205, Denver, CO 80202
- Phone: 720-865-2720
- Email: planreview@denvergov.org
Solar Permit in Denver compared with nearby Colorado localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Colorado schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver | Permit required | Not specified | $50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review... | |
| Aurora | Permit required | Not specified | On the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised 08/2026)")... | |
| Jefferson County | Permit required | Roof-mounted solar panels flush against the roof need no Planning and Zoning permit but always need an Electrical Permit. Panels raised up to 5 feet above the roof need a Miscellaneous Permit from Planning and Zoning in addition to the Electrical Permit. Ground-mount and commercial grid-sale systems have additional requirements. | Solar permit fees are capped at $500 for residential systems, per the county Building... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Denver, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
- In Denver: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
- In Denver: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Denver: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
- In Denver: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
- In Denver: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Denver: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Denver permit portal or by phone at 720-865-2720.
Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Solar Permit checklist for Denver
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before installing any residential solar PV or solar hot water system.
- Budget the fee. $50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review fee, per the Development Fees schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Denver, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit. Start at the Denver permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development. Phone: 720-865-2720. Address: 201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 205, Denver, CO 80202.
- Plan for inspections. In Denver, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Denver
In 2024, Denver authorized permits for 3,994 new residential housing units (872 single-family, 3,122 in multi-family buildings), valued at $788M, down from 5,725 the year before. That works out to about 5.4 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 735,538.
About Denver
Denver has about 352,593 housing units. The median home is valued at $586,700, against a median household income of $91,681. About 49% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a solar permit in Denver?
- An electrical permit is required for all residential rooftop solar PV installations in Denver. Systems under 10 kW DC on homes with service up to 400 amps may use the SolarAPP+ quick permit process. Systems of 10 kW and above require stamped engineered plans. Solar hot water systems also require a plumbing permit. Zoning permits are required if panels are not flush-mounted or if battery systems are external. Always confirm with the City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development before starting.
- How much does a solar permit cost in Denver?
- $50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review fee, per the Development Fees schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a solar permit in Denver?
- You can apply through the Denver permit portal or contact the City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Denver?
- Under Colorado law (C.R.S. 12-115-116(2); C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c); C.R.S. 12-155-118(2); C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c)): Colorado's state electrical law has a homeowner exception: under C.R.S. 12-115-116(2), you do not need an electrician's license to do electrical work on your own property or residence, as long as all the work, other than maintenance or repair of existing systems, is inspected under the state law. The exception does not apply if the property is intended for sale or resale by someone in the construction or remodeling business, is rental property, or is generally open to the public. A homeowner performing work on the homeowner's home is a qualified applicant who may pull the state electrical permit under C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c), and plumbing mirrors this: C.R.S. 12-155-118(2) allows unlicensed plumbing work on your own property or residence with the same carve-outs, and C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c) lets a homeowner pull the state plumbing permit. The State Electrical and Plumbing Boards at DORA require that the homeowner personally perform the work, that it be inspected before cover and again at completion, and that it meet the National Electrical Code or the adopted plumbing codes. Colorado has no statewide general contractor license: Title 12 licenses electricians and plumbers at the state level, and general building contractors are licensed, if at all, by the individual city or county. Confirm how Denver applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Denver
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks under 12 in off the ground require no permit; 12 in or more requires a zoning permit; 30 in or more also requires a building permit | Valuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permit | Zoning construction permit fee with a $10 minimum for fences valued at $500 or less |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum |
| Patio Permit | It depends | covered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permit | Valuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No pool-specific fee line |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Issued as a no-plan-review quick permit |
| Shed Permit | It depends | sheds up to 200 sq ft with 8 ft top plate and 14 ft max height do not require a building permit but may require a zoning permit in some zone districts | No building permit for one-story detached sheds up to 200 sq ft, 8 ft top plate and 14... |
Solar Permit in other Colorado localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Denver documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this solar permit page for Denver was verified. 2 official sources: denvergov.org, denvergov.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Solar Permit requirements across Colorado localities