Colorado

Do you need a solar permit in Colorado?

By Mario Bailey Last checked

Always required
3
of 3 jurisdictions
Conditional
0
depends on size or scope
Not required
0
exempt outright

Solar Permit rules nationwide, beyond Colorado.

Rooftop solar panels on a tile-roofed house in a hillside neighborhood

Requirements and size thresholds for solar permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Colorado county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.

Comparing states? See solar permit rules across every locality we cover.

What to know about solar permits in Colorado

Solar permits in Virginia usually cover the rooftop PV system and its electrical interconnection. Costs depend on system size and your locality, and many homeowners weigh financing options such as solar loans against paying up front. Some Virginia localities use SolarAPP+ for faster automated approvals. Always use a licensed electrical or solar contractor, since the work must pass inspection.

The application steps and inspection sequence for solar permits come from the model code rather than from Colorado law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a solar permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Colorado jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.

Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.

Locality Permit required? Typical threshold Confidence
Aurora Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Denver Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Jefferson County Yes Roof-mounted solar panels flush against the roof need no Planning and Zoning permit but always need an Electrical Permit. Panels raised up to 5 feet above the roof need a Miscellaneous Permit from Planning and Zoning in addition to the Electrical Permit. Ground-mount and commercial grid-sale systems have additional requirements. Confirmed on official page

What a solar permit costs in Colorado

3 Colorado jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.

Aurora by formula

On the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised 08/2026)") the line item "Residential Solar PV System" is listed at "$500", "Commercial Solar PV System" at "$1000" and "Energy Storage System" at "$191". So a house PV permit is a flat $500.00 and a battery adds $191.00. City use tax on materials is collected separately: "The flat fee process has no effect on the calculation and collection of city use taxes."

last checked

Denver $50

$50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review fee, per the Development Fees schedule

last checked

Jefferson County by formula

Solar permit fees are capped at $500 for residential systems, per the county Building Permit Fee Schedule.

last checked

Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.

Common questions about solar permits in Colorado

Do I need a solar permit in Colorado?
In most of Colorado, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Colorado city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 3 Colorado jurisdictions we have verified for solar work, 3 require a permit outright, 0 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.

Ready to move on your solar permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

Planning more than a solar permit? Check your whole project