Electrical Permit in Denver, Colorado
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all electrical work including wiring panels service upgrades and EV chargers
Issued byCity and County of Denver Community Planning and Development
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Denver for all residential electrical work including service installations, panel and subpanel work, interior and exterior wiring, EV chargers, and solar systems. Service up to 400 amps and solar under 10 kW DC qualify for the quick permit process without plan review. Homeowners of single-family homes may apply directly.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all electrical work including wiring panels service upgrades and EV chargers
What an electrical permit costs in Denver
How Denver compares in Colorado
No Colorado jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Aurora | It depends | On the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised... |
| Denverthis page | Permit required | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500... |
| Jefferson County | Permit required | Electrical permits not tied to an active building permit bill on the... |
How to apply in Denver
In Denver, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Denver, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Denver, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development sets the exact checklist for Denver.
Where to apply in Denver:
City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development
- 201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 205, Denver, CO 80202
- Phone: 720-865-2720
- Email: planreview@denvergov.org
Electrical Permit in Denver compared with nearby Colorado localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Colorado schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less | |
| Aurora | It depends | Not specified | On the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised 08/2026)")... | |
| Jefferson County | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permits not tied to an active building permit bill on the countywide... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Denver, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Denver: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Denver: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Denver: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Denver: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Denver: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Denver: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Denver: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Denver permit portal or by phone at 720-865-2720.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Denver
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all electrical work including wiring panels service upgrades and EV chargers.
- Budget the fee. Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less; service work at 400 amps or less issues as a no-plan-review quick permit, per the Development Fees schedule and Quick Permits page. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Denver, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Denver permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development. Phone: 720-865-2720. Address: 201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 205, Denver, CO 80202.
- Plan for inspections. In Denver, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Denver
In 2024, Denver authorized permits for 3,994 new residential housing units (872 single-family, 3,122 in multi-family buildings), valued at $788M, down from 5,725 the year before. That works out to about 5.4 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 735,538.
About Denver
Denver has about 352,593 housing units. The median home is valued at $586,700, against a median household income of $91,681. About 49% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Denver?
- An electrical permit is required in Denver for all residential electrical work including service installations, panel and subpanel work, interior and exterior wiring, EV chargers, and solar systems. Service up to 400 amps and solar under 10 kW DC qualify for the quick permit process without plan review. Homeowners of single-family homes may apply directly. Always confirm with the City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Denver?
- Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less; service work at 400 amps or less issues as a no-plan-review quick permit, per the Development Fees schedule and Quick Permits page. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Denver?
- You can apply through the Denver permit portal or contact the City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Denver?
- Under Colorado law (C.R.S. 12-115-116(2); C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c); C.R.S. 12-155-118(2); C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c)): Colorado's state electrical law has a homeowner exception: under C.R.S. 12-115-116(2), you do not need an electrician's license to do electrical work on your own property or residence, as long as all the work, other than maintenance or repair of existing systems, is inspected under the state law. The exception does not apply if the property is intended for sale or resale by someone in the construction or remodeling business, is rental property, or is generally open to the public. A homeowner performing work on the homeowner's home is a qualified applicant who may pull the state electrical permit under C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c), and plumbing mirrors this: C.R.S. 12-155-118(2) allows unlicensed plumbing work on your own property or residence with the same carve-outs, and C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c) lets a homeowner pull the state plumbing permit. The State Electrical and Plumbing Boards at DORA require that the homeowner personally perform the work, that it be inspected before cover and again at completion, and that it meet the National Electrical Code or the adopted plumbing codes. Colorado has no statewide general contractor license: Title 12 licenses electricians and plumbers at the state level, and general building contractors are licensed, if at all, by the individual city or county. Confirm how Denver applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Denver
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks under 12 in off the ground require no permit; 12 in or more requires a zoning permit; 30 in or more also requires a building permit | Valuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permit | Zoning construction permit fee with a $10 minimum for fences valued at $500 or less |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum |
| Patio Permit | It depends | covered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permit | Valuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No pool-specific fee line |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Issued as a no-plan-review quick permit |
| Shed Permit | It depends | sheds up to 200 sq ft with 8 ft top plate and 14 ft max height do not require a building permit but may require a zoning permit in some zone districts | No building permit for one-story detached sheds up to 200 sq ft, 8 ft top plate and 14... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review... |
Electrical Permit in other Colorado localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Denver documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Denver was verified. 2 official sources: denvergov.org, denvergov.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Colorado localities