Colorado / Denver

Patio Permit in Denver, Colorado

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

For all covered patios and patio structures; confirm with CPD for uncovered at-grade patios

From an official source Verified

Issued byCity and County of Denver Community Planning and Development

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

All covered patios in Denver require both a zoning and a building permit. Uncovered ground-level concrete or paver patios may not require a building permit but Denver's permit requirements are stricter than most Colorado cities. Contact Community Planning and Development to confirm requirements for your specific project before starting work.

Typical threshold: covered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For all covered patios and patio structures; confirm with CPD for uncovered at-grade patios

What a patio permit costs in Denver

Line item
patio permitBy formulaValuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum; covered patios need both a zoning permit and a building permit per the Residential Decks, Porches and Patios page.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Denver compares in Colorado

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
AuroraIt dependsheight above grade of an uncovered concrete patio at which a permit is required
Denverthis pageIt dependscovered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permit
Jefferson CountyIt dependsGround-level concrete or paver patios are treated like the exempt concrete pads on the Decks page and do not need a Building Permit; patio covers, roofed patio structures, and patio enclosures (anything that adds a roof or walls) need a Building Permit.

How to apply in Denver

In Denver, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement.

What most patio permit applications include:

  • Filing a permit application with the local building department, which only the property owner or an authorized agent may sign, since a patio cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size (IRC R105.1).
  • For Denver, a scaled site plan showing the new patio cover's size and location relative to the house and other existing structures, with dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is approved (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents such as a framing plan and elevation, showing rafter or beam sizes and spacing, the distance between supporting posts, and the method of attachment to the house, drawn with enough clarity for the building official to confirm the work will conform to the code (IRC R106.1).
  • For the roof structure itself, plans showing compliance with the patio cover appendix's structural limits, such as adequate footing sizes for the applied post loads, since a shallow slab on grade may substitute for a deeper footing only in limited cases up to about 750 pounds of load per post (IRC Appendix AH, Section AH105.2).
  • By contrast, an at grade concrete or paver patio that is not attached to the dwelling and stays within the code's small flatwork thresholds, similar to a sidewalk, driveway, or low deck under 200 square feet and 30 inches high, commonly needs no building permit at all, so none of the plan review steps above apply (IRC R105.2).

General submittal guidance from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Sections R105 and R106, with Appendix AH Patio Covers (named Appendix H in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 editions). Source. City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development sets the exact checklist for Denver.

Where to apply in Denver:

City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development

Patio Permit in Denver compared with nearby Colorado localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Colorado schedule saysVerified
DenverIt dependscovered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permitValuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum
AuroraIt dependsheight above grade of an uncovered concrete patio at which a permit is requiredOn the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised 08/2026)")...
Jefferson CountyIt dependsGround-level concrete or paver patios are treated like the exempt concrete pads on the Decks page and do not need a Building Permit; patio covers, roofed patio structures, and patio enclosures (anything that adds a roof or walls) need a Building Permit.Not published

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Denver, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.

  1. In Denver: a footing inspection once the excavation, forms, and any reinforcing steel are in place but before concrete is poured, confirming the posts supporting a patio cover will bear on adequate footings (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. In Denver: a frame inspection after the rafters, beams, posts, and any required rough in work are in place but before the roof sheathing or covering material conceals them, since a solid patio cover roof cannot be signed off once it is covered without this check (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Denver: a final inspection once all permitted work, including roofing and post anchorage, is complete, which the code requires before the structure may be used (IRC R109.1.6).
  4. In Denver: an at grade concrete or paver patio that qualifies as exempt flatwork under the permit rules is not subject to any of these inspection stages, since the inspection sequence only attaches to work that required a permit in the first place (IRC R105.2).
  5. In Denver: each inspection has to be requested by the permit holder rather than happening automatically, and the approved plans and permit card need to be on site and available when the inspector arrives (IRC R109.3).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Denver permit portal or by phone at 720-865-2720.

Inspection sequence from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109 (Inspections). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Denver

In 2024, Denver authorized permits for 3,994 new residential housing units (872 single-family, 3,122 in multi-family buildings), valued at $788M, down from 5,725 the year before. That works out to about 5.4 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 735,538.

About Denver

Denver has about 352,593 housing units. The median home is valued at $586,700, against a median household income of $91,681. About 49% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a patio permit in Denver?
All covered patios in Denver require both a zoning and a building permit. Uncovered ground-level concrete or paver patios may not require a building permit but Denver's permit requirements are stricter than most Colorado cities. Contact Community Planning and Development to confirm requirements for your specific project before starting work. Covered patios always require a zoning and building permit; uncovered ground-level patios may not require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a patio permit cost in Denver?
Valuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum; covered patios need both a zoning permit and a building permit per the Residential Decks, Porches and Patios page. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a patio permit in Denver?
You can apply through the Denver permit portal or contact the City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a patio permit themselves in Denver?
Under Colorado law (C.R.S. 12-115-116(2); C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c); C.R.S. 12-155-118(2); C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c)): Colorado's state electrical law has a homeowner exception: under C.R.S. 12-115-116(2), you do not need an electrician's license to do electrical work on your own property or residence, as long as all the work, other than maintenance or repair of existing systems, is inspected under the state law. The exception does not apply if the property is intended for sale or resale by someone in the construction or remodeling business, is rental property, or is generally open to the public. A homeowner performing work on the homeowner's home is a qualified applicant who may pull the state electrical permit under C.R.S. 12-115-120(11)(c), and plumbing mirrors this: C.R.S. 12-155-118(2) allows unlicensed plumbing work on your own property or residence with the same carve-outs, and C.R.S. 12-155-120(11)(c) lets a homeowner pull the state plumbing permit. The State Electrical and Plumbing Boards at DORA require that the homeowner personally perform the work, that it be inspected before cover and again at completion, and that it meet the National Electrical Code or the adopted plumbing codes. Colorado has no statewide general contractor license: Title 12 licenses electricians and plumbers at the state level, and general building contractors are licensed, if at all, by the individual city or county. Confirm how Denver applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Denver

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsuncovered decks under 12 in off the ground require no permit; 12 in or more requires a zoning permit; 30 in or more also requires a building permitValuation-based building permit fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less
Fence PermitIt dependsfences shorter than 4 ft require no permit; fences 4 ft or taller require at minimum a zoning permit; most fence types over 4 ft also require a building permitZoning construction permit fee with a $10 minimum for fences valued at $500 or less
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo pool-specific fee line
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedIssued as a no-plan-review quick permit
Shed PermitIt dependssheds up to 200 sq ft with 8 ft top plate and 14 ft max height do not require a building permit but may require a zoning permit in some zone districtsNo building permit for one-story detached sheds up to 200 sq ft, 8 ft top plate and 14...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specified$50 flat permit fee for the solar photovoltaic portion of a project with no plan review...

Patio Permit in other Colorado localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Denver documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this patio permit page for Denver was verified. 2 official sources: denvergov.org, denvergov.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City and County of Denver Community Planning and Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Patio Permit requirements across Colorado localities

Patio permit rules nationwide

It depends
Get quotes