Colorado

Do you need an electrical permit in Colorado?

By Mario Bailey Last checked

Always required
2
of 3 jurisdictions
Conditional
1
depends on size or scope
Not required
0
exempt outright

Electrical Permit rules nationwide, beyond Colorado.

An inspector checks a residential electrical panel with a flashlight

Requirements and size thresholds for electrical permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Colorado county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.

Comparing states? See electrical permit rules across every locality we cover.

What to know about electrical permits in Colorado

Electrical permits in Virginia cover new wiring, service upgrades, and added circuits, while simple device swaps are often exempt. Costs vary by locality and scope. A licensed electrician is strongly recommended, because electrical work is a common cause of inspection failures and safety issues.

The application steps and inspection sequence for electrical permits come from the model code rather than from Colorado law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how an electrical permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Colorado jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.

Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.

Locality Permit required? Typical threshold Confidence
Aurora Conditional Not specified Confirmed on official page
Denver Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Jefferson County Yes Not specified From an official source

What an electrical permit costs in Colorado

3 Colorado jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.

Aurora

On the 2026 flat-rate schedule (Form #A175, footer "Flat-Rate Fee (Revised 08/2026)") the line item "Residential Electrical Service Upgrade" is listed at "$190" and "Energy Storage System" at "$191", while "Residential EV Charger" sits under the price heading "$99 EACH". Other electrical work is priced by the Permit Center. City use tax on materials is collected separately: "The flat fee process has no effect on the calculation and collection of city use taxes."

last checked

Denver

Valuation-based fee per CPD Table 1 with a $20 minimum for work valued at $500 or less; service work at 400 amps or less issues as a no-plan-review quick permit, per the Development Fees schedule and Quick Permits page

last checked

Jefferson County

Electrical permits not tied to an active building permit bill on the countywide valuation fee table with a $55 minimum for the first $1,000 of value, per the 2024 Building Code Supplements fee schedule effective 7/1/2026

last checked

Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.

Common questions about electrical permits in Colorado

Do I need an electrical permit in Colorado?
In most of Colorado, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Colorado city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 3 Colorado jurisdictions we have verified for electrical work, 2 require a permit outright, 1 depends on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
Is there an electrical permit exemption in Colorado?
1 of the 3 Colorado jurisdictions we cover sets a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Colorado county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Colorado jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.

Ready to move on your electrical permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

Planning more than an electrical permit? Check your whole project