Washington / Tacoma

Fence Permit in Tacoma, Washington

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

Before building a fence over 7 feet in height in Tacoma

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity of Tacoma Planning and Development Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

In Tacoma a fence that is 7 feet tall or less does not require a building permit. Fences over 7 feet in height require a building permit from Planning and Development Services. Apply online through the Tacoma Accela permit portal or in person at 747 Market Street during service hours.

Typical threshold: fences 7 feet or under in height do not require a building permit; fences over 7 feet require a permit.

Diagram of the 7 ft fence height threshold for a fence permit in Tacoma, Washington
Threshold illustrated: 7 ft. Whether Tacoma requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-06-18.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare fence installer quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before building a fence over 7 feet in height in Tacoma

What a fence permit costs in Tacoma

Line item
fence permitBy formulaOnly fences over 7 feet or masonry walls over 4 feet need a building permit, priced from $55 for the first $500 of valuation plus $32 per $100 over $500, per the PDS Fee Schedule effective 1/1/2025.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Tacoma compares in Washington

Across the Washington jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 6 to 8, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
BellevueIt dependsfences over 8 feet in height require a building permit; fences 8 feet or under do not require a permit
Clark CountyIt dependsFences seven feet or less in height do not require a permit; fences over 7 feet in height require a Fence/Retaining Wall (FRT) permit.
King CountyIt dependsfences 6 feet or less do not require a building permit in unincorporated King County; fences over 6 feet require a permit
Pierce CountyIt dependsFences 6 feet or less in height, measured from grade, are exempt; taller fences require a building permit.
SeattleIt dependsfences under 8 feet with no masonry or concrete elements exceeding 6 feet do not require a permit
Snohomish CountyIt dependsfences 8 feet or less in height exempt, provided they have no masonry or concrete elements above 6 feet (wire strands atop an 8-foot fence are excluded from the height measurement); taller fences, or fences with masonry/concrete above 6 feet, require a permit
Tacomathis pageIt dependsfences 7 feet or under in height do not require a building permit; fences over 7 feet require a permit

Closest fence permit thresholds outside Washington

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Tacoma's 7 feet.

  • Alameda County, California, Permit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materials
  • Riverside County, California, Fences 7 feet or less in height are exempt from a building permit, except block walls, which are exempt only up to 4 feet in height
  • Clark County, Nevada, fences over 6 feet in height require a building permit; all fences require a Fence/Wall Permit (Form BPA-005) regardless of height
  • Lake County, Florida, Masonry or concrete fences 4 feet or less in height, and fences of any other material 6 feet or less in height, are exempt from a building permit under the county's Chapter 6 building-code amendment

How to apply in Tacoma

In Tacoma, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.

What most fence permit applications include:

  • For Tacoma, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
  • For Tacoma, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
  • For Tacoma, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services sets the exact checklist for Tacoma.

Where to apply in Tacoma:

City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services

  • 747 Market Street Third Floor, Tacoma, WA 98402
  • Phone: (253) 591-5030
  • Email: Permits@tacoma.gov

Fence Permit in Tacoma compared with nearby Washington localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Washington schedule saysVerified
TacomaIt dependsfences 7 feet or under in height do not require a building permit; fences over 7 feet require a permitOnly fences over 7 feet or masonry walls over 4 feet need a building permit, priced from...
BellevueIt dependsfences over 8 feet in height require a building permit; fences 8 feet or under do not require a permitNo separate fence line item
Clark CountyIt dependsFences seven feet or less in height do not require a permit; fences over 7 feet in height require a Fence/Retaining Wall (FRT) permit.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
King CountyIt dependsfences 6 feet or less do not require a building permit in unincorporated King County; fences over 6 feet require a permitMost permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application...
Pierce CountyIt dependsFences 6 feet or less in height, measured from grade, are exempt; taller fences require a building permit.Building permit fee follows PCC Table 17C.10-1-B (valuation based): $69.00 for...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Tacoma, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.

  1. In Tacoma: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
  2. In Tacoma: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
  3. In Tacoma: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
  4. A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in Tacoma: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
  5. In Tacoma: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
  6. Gate hardware is inspected too in Tacoma: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Tacoma permit portal or by phone at (253) 591-5030.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Tacoma

In 2024, Tacoma authorized permits for 402 new residential housing units (137 single-family, 265 in multi-family buildings), valued at $99M, down from 692 the year before. That works out to about 1.8 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 219,945.

About Tacoma

Tacoma has about 96,151 housing units. The median home is valued at $454,600, against a median household income of $83,857. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1967.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a fence permit in Tacoma?
In Tacoma a fence that is 7 feet tall or less does not require a building permit. Fences over 7 feet in height require a building permit from Planning and Development Services. Apply online through the Tacoma Accela permit portal or in person at 747 Market Street during service hours. Fences 7 feet or under in height do not require a building permit; fences over 7 feet require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a fence permit cost in Tacoma?
Only fences over 7 feet or masonry walls over 4 feet need a building permit, priced from $55 for the first $500 of valuation plus $32 per $100 over $500, per the PDS Fee Schedule effective 1/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a fence permit in Tacoma?
You can apply through the Tacoma permit portal or contact the City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in Tacoma?
Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Tacoma applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Tacoma

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsfreestanding decks not exceeding 200 sq ft and not more than 30 inches above grade are exempt; decks over 200 sq ft, over 30 inches above grade, or attached to the dwelling require a permitDecks bill as an addition at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation, with uncovered wood...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo Planning and Development Services fee
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedStandalone HVAC and mechanical permits run 2.81 percent of construction value with a...
Patio PermitIt dependsat-grade flatwork such as sidewalks and driveways is exempt from a building permit, though separate site-development permits can apply; covered patios require a building permitPatio covers bill as an addition at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation, per the PDS...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedStandalone plumbing permits run 2.81 percent of construction value with a $180 minimum...
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated above-ground pools less than 24 inches deep and not greater than 5000 gallons are exempt; all other pools require a building permitPools 24 inches deep or more need a permit priced from $55 for the first $500 of...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsremoving and replacing existing roof coverings with the same type does not require a permit; adding a layer or changing roofing materials requires a permit and pre-roof inspectionReroofs outside the tear-off exemption bill as a remodel at 2.81 percent of ICC building...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures with a floor area of 200 square feet or less do not require a building permit; structures over 200 square feet require a permitSheds 200 square feet or larger need a permit priced from $55 for the first $500 of...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar panel installation bills as a remodel at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation...

Fence Permit in other Washington localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Tacoma documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this fence permit page for Tacoma was verified. 2 official sources: tacomapermits.org, tacomapermits.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Fence Permit requirements across Washington localities

Fence permit rules nationwide

It depends
Get quotes