Washington / Tacoma

Solar Permit in Tacoma, Washington

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing rooftop solar PV; building and electrical permits plus a Tacoma Power interconnection agreement are required

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity of Tacoma Planning and Development Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Residential rooftop solar in Tacoma requires a building permit from Planning and Development Services and an electrical permit issued by the city, plus a Tacoma Power interconnection agreement before the system is energized. Washington law requires electrical permits and inspection for all new PV installations.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing rooftop solar PV; building and electrical permits plus a Tacoma Power interconnection agreement are required

What a solar permit costs in Tacoma

Line item
solar permitBy formulaSolar panel installation bills as a remodel at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation with a $180 minimum fee, per the PDS Fee Schedule effective 1/1/2025.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Tacoma compares in Washington

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
BellevueIt dependselectrical permit required for all solar systems; building permit not required for rooftop single-family systems with dead load under 3.5 lbs per sq ft and panels no more than 18 inches above roof surface
Clark CountyPermit requiredSeparate SOL permits are required for ground mounted units or panels mounted on existing buildings; in new construction the solar panels are included in the NHC or ADS permit.
King CountyIt dependsroof-mounted solar PV panels weighing less than 4 pounds per square foot on residences do not require a building permit; heavier installations require a permit
Pierce CountyPermit requiredNot specified
SeattlePermit requiredNot specified
Snohomish CountyIt dependsground-mounted residential solar PV systems never need a building or mechanical permit; roof-mounted residential PV on a detached single-family house is exempt from a building/mechanical permit only if total dead load is 3.5 lbs per sq ft or less (up to 4.5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 3:12 or steeper slope, or 5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 5:12 or steeper slope), panels are mounted 18 inches or less above the roof surface, and an electrical permit has already been issued; a separate electrical permit through WA L&I is always required regardless
Tacomathis pagePermit requiredNot specified

How to apply in Tacoma

In Tacoma, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Tacoma, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Tacoma, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Tacoma, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services sets the exact checklist for Tacoma.

Where to apply in Tacoma:

City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services

  • 747 Market Street Third Floor, Tacoma, WA 98402
  • Phone: (253) 591-5030
  • Email: Permits@tacoma.gov

Solar Permit in Tacoma compared with nearby Washington localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Washington schedule saysVerified
TacomaPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar panel installation bills as a remodel at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation...
BellevueIt dependselectrical permit required for all solar systems; building permit not required for rooftop single-family systems with dead load under 3.5 lbs per sq ft and panels no more than 18 inches above roof surfaceSolar panel installations are electrical permits with fee by valuation per Table 6 of...
Clark CountyPermit requiredSeparate SOL permits are required for ground mounted units or panels mounted on existing buildings; in new construction the solar panels are included in the NHC or ADS permit.Fees for separate SOL permits are based on construction value
King CountyIt dependsroof-mounted solar PV panels weighing less than 4 pounds per square foot on residences do not require a building permit; heavier installations require a permitMost permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application...
Pierce CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential rooftop solar panel building permit base fee $173.00, plus $201.00 for...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Tacoma, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Tacoma: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Tacoma: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Tacoma: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Tacoma: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Tacoma: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Tacoma: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Tacoma permit portal or by phone at (253) 591-5030.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Tacoma

In 2024, Tacoma authorized permits for 402 new residential housing units (137 single-family, 265 in multi-family buildings), valued at $99M, down from 692 the year before. That works out to about 1.8 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 219,945.

About Tacoma

Tacoma has about 96,151 housing units. The median home is valued at $454,600, against a median household income of $83,857. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1967.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Tacoma?
Residential rooftop solar in Tacoma requires a building permit from Planning and Development Services and an electrical permit issued by the city, plus a Tacoma Power interconnection agreement before the system is energized. Washington law requires electrical permits and inspection for all new PV installations. Always confirm with the City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Tacoma?
Solar panel installation bills as a remodel at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation with a $180 minimum fee, per the PDS Fee Schedule effective 1/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Tacoma?
You can apply through the Tacoma permit portal or contact the City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Tacoma?
Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Tacoma applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Tacoma

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsfreestanding decks not exceeding 200 sq ft and not more than 30 inches above grade are exempt; decks over 200 sq ft, over 30 inches above grade, or attached to the dwelling require a permitDecks bill as an addition at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation, with uncovered wood...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo Planning and Development Services fee
Fence PermitIt dependsfences 7 feet or under in height do not require a building permit; fences over 7 feet require a permitOnly fences over 7 feet or masonry walls over 4 feet need a building permit, priced from...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedStandalone HVAC and mechanical permits run 2.81 percent of construction value with a...
Patio PermitIt dependsat-grade flatwork such as sidewalks and driveways is exempt from a building permit, though separate site-development permits can apply; covered patios require a building permitPatio covers bill as an addition at 2.81 percent of ICC building valuation, per the PDS...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedStandalone plumbing permits run 2.81 percent of construction value with a $180 minimum...
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated above-ground pools less than 24 inches deep and not greater than 5000 gallons are exempt; all other pools require a building permitPools 24 inches deep or more need a permit priced from $55 for the first $500 of...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsremoving and replacing existing roof coverings with the same type does not require a permit; adding a layer or changing roofing materials requires a permit and pre-roof inspectionReroofs outside the tear-off exemption bill as a remodel at 2.81 percent of ICC building...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures with a floor area of 200 square feet or less do not require a building permit; structures over 200 square feet require a permitSheds 200 square feet or larger need a permit priced from $55 for the first $500 of...

Solar Permit in other Washington localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Tacoma documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Tacoma was verified. 2 official sources: mytpu.org, tacoma.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Tacoma Planning and Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Washington localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Permit required
Get quotes