Washington / Seattle

Solar Permit in Seattle, Washington

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential solar photovoltaic system in Seattle

From an official source Verified

Issued bySeattle Department of Construction and Inspections

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Typical job value
$103,577
declared valuation

Quick answer

A permit is required for all residential solar photovoltaic installations in Seattle. SDCI issues both electrical and construction permits for solar systems. Systems below 12 kW AC output require supporting documents and a one-line diagram; larger systems require full plan sets. Roof structural requirements and fire setbacks also apply.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential solar photovoltaic system in Seattle

What a solar permit costs in Seattle

Line item
solar permitBy formulaSolar PV is permitted through the electrical permit: systems below 12kW are a flat $438 online fee plus the $55.48 administrative fee, systems from 12kW to 26kW take a plan-reviewed permit at three times the $292 base fee, $876, all plus a 5% technology fee, per the 2026 Fee Subtitle Tables D-15 and D-14.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Seattle compares in Washington

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
BellevueIt dependselectrical permit required for all solar systems; building permit not required for rooftop single-family systems with dead load under 3.5 lbs per sq ft and panels no more than 18 inches above roof surface
Clark CountyPermit requiredSeparate SOL permits are required for ground mounted units or panels mounted on existing buildings; in new construction the solar panels are included in the NHC or ADS permit.
King CountyIt dependsroof-mounted solar PV panels weighing less than 4 pounds per square foot on residences do not require a building permit; heavier installations require a permit
Pierce CountyPermit requiredNot specified
Seattlethis pagePermit requiredNot specified
Snohomish CountyIt dependsground-mounted residential solar PV systems never need a building or mechanical permit; roof-mounted residential PV on a detached single-family house is exempt from a building/mechanical permit only if total dead load is 3.5 lbs per sq ft or less (up to 4.5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 3:12 or steeper slope, or 5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 5:12 or steeper slope), panels are mounted 18 inches or less above the roof surface, and an electrical permit has already been issued; a separate electrical permit through WA L&I is always required regardless
TacomaPermit requiredNot specified

How to apply in Seattle

In Seattle, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Seattle, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Seattle, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Seattle, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Seattle.

Where to apply in Seattle:

Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections

  • 700 5th Ave Suite 2000, Seattle, WA 98104
  • Phone: (206) 684-8600

Solar Permit in Seattle compared with nearby Washington localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Washington schedule saysVerified
SeattlePermit requiredNot specifiedSolar PV is permitted through the electrical permit: systems below 12kW are a flat $438...
BellevueIt dependselectrical permit required for all solar systems; building permit not required for rooftop single-family systems with dead load under 3.5 lbs per sq ft and panels no more than 18 inches above roof surfaceSolar panel installations are electrical permits with fee by valuation per Table 6 of...
Clark CountyPermit requiredSeparate SOL permits are required for ground mounted units or panels mounted on existing buildings; in new construction the solar panels are included in the NHC or ADS permit.Fees for separate SOL permits are based on construction value
King CountyIt dependsroof-mounted solar PV panels weighing less than 4 pounds per square foot on residences do not require a building permit; heavier installations require a permitMost permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application...
Pierce CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential rooftop solar panel building permit base fee $173.00, plus $201.00 for...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Seattle, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Seattle: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Seattle: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Seattle: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Seattle: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Seattle: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Seattle: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Seattle permit portal or by phone at (206) 684-8600.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Seattle

In 2024, Seattle authorized permits for 5,895 new residential housing units (405 single-family, 5,490 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.2B, up from 5,299 the year before. That works out to about 7.7 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 769,714.

About Seattle

Seattle has about 382,933 housing units. The median home is valued at $912,100, against a median household income of $121,984. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Seattle?
A permit is required for all residential solar photovoltaic installations in Seattle. SDCI issues both electrical and construction permits for solar systems. Systems below 12 kW AC output require supporting documents and a one-line diagram; larger systems require full plan sets. Roof structural requirements and fire setbacks also apply. Always confirm with the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Seattle?
Solar PV is permitted through the electrical permit: systems below 12kW are a flat $438 online fee plus the $55.48 administrative fee, systems from 12kW to 26kW take a plan-reviewed permit at three times the $292 base fee, $876, all plus a 5% technology fee, per the 2026 Fee Subtitle Tables D-15 and D-14. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Seattle?
You can apply through the Seattle permit portal or contact the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Seattle?
Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Seattle applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Seattle

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdecks more than 18 inches above grade require a permit; decks 18 inches or less above grade and not over a basement do not require a permitPriced as a subject-to-field-inspection or addition/alteration construction permit by...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences under 8 feet with no masonry or concrete elements exceeding 6 feet do not require a permitFences 8 feet or less with no masonry or concrete elements over 6 feet need no permit...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedDucted HVAC systems are priced by project valuation with a $292 minimum
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNo standalone patio permit
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo SDCI fee
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedAn unenclosed pool accessory to a single-family or duplex home is a flat fee of four...
Roof Replacement PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedOne and two family homes need no permit for a straight reroof that does not change the...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached storage sheds with a roof footprint of 120 square feet or less on a slab foundation and not in an environmentally critical area do not require a permitSheds of 120 square feet or less that are single story, unattached, and storage-only...

Solar Permit in other Washington localities

Everything above, sourced

seattle.gov: permitsread
seattle.gov: cam420read

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Seattle documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Seattle was verified. 2 official sources: seattle.gov, seattle.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Washington localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Permit required
Get quotes