Electrical Permit in Seattle, Washington
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all residential electrical work including new circuits and panel upgrades in Seattle
Issued bySeattle Department of Construction and Inspections
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Typical job value
- $103,577
- declared valuation
Quick answer
Residential electrical permits in Seattle are issued by SDCI not by Washington State L&I. A permit is required for adding or moving circuits and for service panel changes. Many electrical permits are issued the same day through the Seattle Services Portal. Three inspections are typically required: cover, service, and final.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all residential electrical work including new circuits and panel upgrades in Seattle
What an electrical permit costs in Seattle
How Seattle compares in Washington
No Washington jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Bellevue | Permit required | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79... |
| Clark County | Permit required | No county fee |
| King County | Permit required | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026):... |
| Pierce County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Seattlethis page | Permit required | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online... |
| Snohomish County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Tacoma | Permit required | No Planning and Development Services fee |
How to apply in Seattle
In Seattle, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Seattle, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Seattle, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Seattle.
Where to apply in Seattle:
Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections
- 700 5th Ave Suite 2000, Seattle, WA 98104
- Phone: (206) 684-8600
Electrical Permit in Seattle compared with nearby Washington localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Washington schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued... | |
| Bellevue | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee... | |
| Clark County | Permit required | Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county. | No county fee | |
| King County | Permit required | Not specified | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new... | |
| Pierce County | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Seattle, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Seattle: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Seattle: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Seattle: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Seattle: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Seattle: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Seattle: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Seattle: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Seattle permit portal or by phone at (206) 684-8600.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Seattle
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all residential electrical work including new circuits and panel upgrades in Seattle.
- Budget the fee. Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued permit plus a $55.48 administrative fee per permit, new or altered service up to 125 amps $146, 150 to 200 amps $292, branch circuit or feeder up to 200 amps $146, all plus a 5% technology fee, per the 2026 Fee Subtitle. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Seattle, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Seattle permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections. Phone: (206) 684-8600. Address: 700 5th Ave Suite 2000, Seattle, WA 98104.
- Plan for inspections. In Seattle, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Seattle
In 2024, Seattle authorized permits for 5,895 new residential housing units (405 single-family, 5,490 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.2B, up from 5,299 the year before. That works out to about 7.7 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 769,714.
About Seattle
Seattle has about 382,933 housing units. The median home is valued at $912,100, against a median household income of $121,984. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Seattle?
- Residential electrical permits in Seattle are issued by SDCI not by Washington State L&I. A permit is required for adding or moving circuits and for service panel changes. Many electrical permits are issued the same day through the Seattle Services Portal. Three inspections are typically required: cover, service, and final. Always confirm with the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Seattle?
- Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued permit plus a $55.48 administrative fee per permit, new or altered service up to 125 amps $146, 150 to 200 amps $292, branch circuit or feeder up to 200 amps $146, all plus a 5% technology fee, per the 2026 Fee Subtitle. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Seattle?
- You can apply through the Seattle permit portal or contact the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Seattle?
- Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Seattle applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Seattle
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | decks more than 18 inches above grade require a permit; decks 18 inches or less above grade and not over a basement do not require a permit | Priced as a subject-to-field-inspection or addition/alteration construction permit by... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences under 8 feet with no masonry or concrete elements exceeding 6 feet do not require a permit | Fences 8 feet or less with no masonry or concrete elements over 6 feet need no permit... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Ducted HVAC systems are priced by project valuation with a $292 minimum |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No standalone patio permit |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No SDCI fee |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | An unenclosed pool accessory to a single-family or duplex home is a flat fee of four... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | One and two family homes need no permit for a straight reroof that does not change the... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached storage sheds with a roof footprint of 120 square feet or less on a slab foundation and not in an environmentally critical area do not require a permit | Sheds of 120 square feet or less that are single story, unattached, and storage-only... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Solar PV is permitted through the electrical permit: systems below 12kW are a flat $438... |
Electrical Permit in other Washington localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Seattle documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Seattle was verified. 2 official sources: seattle.gov, seattle.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Washington localities
Washington rule changes