Electrical Permit in Bellevue, Washington
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For adding or moving circuits and for service panel changes in Bellevue
Issued byCity of Bellevue Development Services
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Electrical permits in Bellevue are issued by the City of Bellevue Development Services not by Washington State L&I. A permit is required for adding or moving electrical circuits and for changes to the service panel. Permits not requiring plan review can be issued the same day. Inspections are still required after permit issuance. Submit applications through MyBuildingPermit.com.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For adding or moving circuits and for service panel changes in Bellevue
What an electrical permit costs in Bellevue
How Bellevue compares in Washington
No Washington jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Bellevuethis page | Permit required | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79... |
| Clark County | Permit required | No county fee |
| King County | Permit required | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026):... |
| Pierce County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Seattle | Permit required | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online... |
| Snohomish County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Tacoma | Permit required | No Planning and Development Services fee |
How to apply in Bellevue
In Bellevue, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Bellevue, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Bellevue, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of Bellevue Development Services sets the exact checklist for Bellevue.
Where to apply in Bellevue:
City of Bellevue Development Services
- 450 110th Ave NE, Bellevue, WA 98004
- Phone: (425) 452-6873
- Email: MEPreview@bellevuewa.gov
Electrical Permit in Bellevue compared with nearby Washington localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Washington schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bellevue | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee... | |
| Clark County | Permit required | Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county. | No county fee | |
| King County | Permit required | Not specified | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new... | |
| Pierce County | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee | |
| Seattle | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Bellevue, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Bellevue: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Bellevue: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Bellevue: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Bellevue: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Bellevue: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Bellevue: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Bellevue: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Bellevue permit portal or by phone at (425) 452-6873.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Bellevue
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For adding or moving circuits and for service panel changes in Bellevue.
- Budget the fee. Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee minimum for valuation up to $500 plus a plan review fee of 10% of the inspection fee with a $35 minimum, effective 2026-01-01. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Bellevue, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Bellevue permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Bellevue Development Services. Phone: (425) 452-6873. Address: 450 110th Ave NE, Bellevue, WA 98004.
- Plan for inspections. In Bellevue, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Bellevue
In 2024, Bellevue authorized permits for 589 new residential housing units (254 single-family, 335 in multi-family buildings), valued at $274M, down from 802 the year before. That works out to about 4 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 148,073.
About Bellevue
Bellevue has about 65,536 housing units. The median home is valued at $1,203,100, against a median household income of $161,300. About 52% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1981.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Bellevue?
- Electrical permits in Bellevue are issued by the City of Bellevue Development Services not by Washington State L&I. A permit is required for adding or moving electrical circuits and for changes to the service panel. Permits not requiring plan review can be issued the same day. Inspections are still required after permit issuance. Submit applications through MyBuildingPermit.com. Always confirm with the City of Bellevue Development Services before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Bellevue?
- Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee minimum for valuation up to $500 plus a plan review fee of 10% of the inspection fee with a $35 minimum, effective 2026-01-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Bellevue?
- You can apply through the Bellevue permit portal or contact the City of Bellevue Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Bellevue?
- Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Bellevue applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Bellevue
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | decks where the highest walking surface is 30 inches or less above grade do not require a permit; decks over 30 inches above grade require a permit with plan review | Building permit fee by valuation per Table 4 of Ordinance 6879, $44 inspection fee... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences over 8 feet in height require a building permit; fences 8 feet or under do not require a permit | No separate fence line item |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat single-family mechanical inspection fees per Table 8 of Ordinance 6879: furnace up... |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No separate patio line item |
| Plumbing Permit | It depends | permit required for new plumbing, concealed piping, and fixture additions; replacing a sink toilet or faucet not concealed in a wall does not require a permit | Plumbing permit fee per Table 11 of Ordinance 6879, $50 for the first fixture plus... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | swimming pools over 24 inches deep require a permit with plan review; above-ground pools 24 inches or less may be exempt | Pool equipment electrical inspection fee of $94 without plan review per Table 7 of... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | permit required when modifying or replacing the roof sheathing or making structural changes; simple shingle replacement may not require a permit | Flat Re-roof Permit inspection fee of $290 due at issuance per Table 5 of Ordinance... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | detached storage sheds playhouses or gazebos with a floor area of 200 square feet or less do not require a building permit; structures over 200 square feet require a permit | No separate shed line item |
| Solar Permit | It depends | electrical permit required for all solar systems; building permit not required for rooftop single-family systems with dead load under 3.5 lbs per sq ft and panels no more than 18 inches above roof surface | Solar panel installations are electrical permits with fee by valuation per Table 6 of... |
Electrical Permit in other Washington localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Bellevue documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Bellevue was verified. 2 official sources: bellevuewa.gov, bellevuewa.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Bellevue Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Washington localities
Washington rule changes