Electrical Permit in King County, Washington
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all residential electrical work in unincorporated King County
Issued byWashington State Department of Labor and Industries
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Residential electrical permits in unincorporated King County are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I) not by King County. Homeowners must obtain a state electrical permit for wiring, panel upgrades, and other electrical work. Inspections are scheduled through L&I. These rules apply to unincorporated King County; contact King County Permits at 206-296-6600 for coordination questions.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all residential electrical work in unincorporated King County
What an electrical permit costs in King County
How King County compares in Washington
No Washington jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Bellevue | Permit required | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79... |
| Clark County | Permit required | No county fee |
| King Countythis page | Permit required | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026):... |
| Pierce County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Seattle | Permit required | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online... |
| Snohomish County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Tacoma | Permit required | No Planning and Development Services fee |
How to apply in King County
In King County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For King County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For King County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries sets the exact checklist for King County.
Where to apply in King County:
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
- 919 SW Grady Way Suite 300, Renton, WA 98057
- Phone: (206) 296-6600
- Email: PermitQuestions@kingcounty.gov
Electrical Permit in King County compared with nearby Washington localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Washington schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| King County | Permit required | Not specified | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new... | |
| Bellevue | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee... | |
| Clark County | Permit required | Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county. | No county fee | |
| Pierce County | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee | |
| Seattle | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In King County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In King County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In King County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In King County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In King County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In King County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In King County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In King County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the King County permit portal or by phone at (206) 296-6600.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for King County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all residential electrical work in unincorporated King County.
- Budget the fee. Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new single or two family home wiring starts at $119.90 for the first 1,300 sq ft plus $38.20 per additional 500 sq ft, or $78.80 for 1 to 4 circuits plus $8.20 per additional circuit for circuit-only work. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In King County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the King County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. Phone: (206) 296-6600. Address: 919 SW Grady Way Suite 300, Renton, WA 98057.
- Plan for inspections. In King County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in King County
In 2024, King County authorized permits for 10,564 new residential housing units (2,352 single-family, 8,212 in multi-family buildings), valued at $2.7B, down from 10,601 the year before. That works out to about 4.5 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,340,211.
About King County
King County has about 988,330 housing units. The median home is valued at $811,200, against a median household income of $122,148. About 56% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1983.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in King County?
- Residential electrical permits in unincorporated King County are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I) not by King County. Homeowners must obtain a state electrical permit for wiring, panel upgrades, and other electrical work. Inspections are scheduled through L&I. These rules apply to unincorporated King County; contact King County Permits at 206-296-6600 for coordination questions. Always confirm with the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in King County?
- Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new single or two family home wiring starts at $119.90 for the first 1,300 sq ft plus $38.20 per additional 500 sq ft, or $78.80 for 1 to 4 circuits plus $8.20 per additional circuit for circuit-only work. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in King County?
- You can apply through the King County permit portal or contact the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in King County?
- Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how King County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in King County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks 30 inches or less above ground do not require a building permit in unincorporated King County; decks over 30 inches above grade require a permit | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences 6 feet or less do not require a building permit in unincorporated King County; fences over 6 feet require a permit | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Mechanical installation-only permit is a flat $183 inspection fee covering up to six... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade patios and uncovered decks 30 inches or less above ground are exempt; covered patios and taller structures require a building permit | No separate patio line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Issued by Public Health Seattle and King County rather than the county Permitting Division |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated above-ground pools less than 24 inches deep and not exceeding 5000 gallons are exempt; all other pools require a building permit in unincorporated King County | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | storage sheds 200 sq ft or less as accessory to a residential house do not require a building permit in unincorporated King County; sheds over 200 sq ft require a permit | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application... |
| Solar Permit | It depends | roof-mounted solar PV panels weighing less than 4 pounds per square foot on residences do not require a building permit; heavier installations require a permit | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1 2026 plus a $126 application... |
Electrical Permit in other Washington localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not King County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for King County was verified. 2 official sources: kingcounty.gov, lni.wa.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Washington localities
Washington rule changes