Electrical Permit in Snohomish County, Washington
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For any residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Snohomish County
Issued byWashington State Department of Labor and Industries
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Snohomish County Planning and Development Services does not administer electrical permits in unincorporated Snohomish County. Residential electrical work, including wiring installation, modification, or design, requires a permit from the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I), purchased online through L&I's Electronic Permit/Inspection System or in person at L&I's Everett field office. This applies to unincorporated Snohomish County; cities within the county such as Everett, Marysville, Lynnwood, and Mountlake Terrace run their own electrical permit programs within their own city limits.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For any residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Snohomish County
What an electrical permit costs in Snohomish County
How Snohomish County compares in Washington
No Washington jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Bellevue | Permit required | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79... |
| Clark County | Permit required | No county fee |
| King County | Permit required | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026):... |
| Pierce County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Seattle | Permit required | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online... |
| Snohomish Countythis page | Permit required | No county fee |
| Tacoma | Permit required | No Planning and Development Services fee |
How to apply in Snohomish County
In Snohomish County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Snohomish County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Snohomish County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries sets the exact checklist for Snohomish County.
Where to apply in Snohomish County:
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
- 729 100th St. SE, Everett, WA 98208-3727
- Phone: 425-290-1309
Electrical Permit in Snohomish County compared with nearby Washington localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Washington schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Snohomish County | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee | |
| Bellevue | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee... | |
| Clark County | Permit required | Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county. | No county fee | |
| King County | Permit required | Not specified | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new... | |
| Pierce County | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Snohomish County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Snohomish County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Snohomish County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Snohomish County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Snohomish County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Snohomish County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Snohomish County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Snohomish County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Snohomish County permit portal or by phone at 425-290-1309.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Snohomish County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For any residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Snohomish County.
- Budget the fee. No county fee; electrical permitting and inspection in unincorporated Snohomish County is handled statewide by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, so fees follow the L&I schedule.
- Apply. In Snohomish County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Snohomish County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. Phone: 425-290-1309. Address: 729 100th St. SE, Everett, WA 98208-3727.
- Plan for inspections. In Snohomish County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Snohomish County?
- Snohomish County Planning and Development Services does not administer electrical permits in unincorporated Snohomish County. Residential electrical work, including wiring installation, modification, or design, requires a permit from the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I), purchased online through L&I's Electronic Permit/Inspection System or in person at L&I's Everett field office. This applies to unincorporated Snohomish County; cities within the county such as Everett, Marysville, Lynnwood, and Mountlake Terrace run their own electrical permit programs within their own city limits. Always confirm with the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Snohomish County?
- No county fee; electrical permitting and inspection in unincorporated Snohomish County is handled statewide by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, so fees follow the L&I schedule. Contact the office for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Snohomish County?
- You can apply through the Snohomish County permit portal or contact the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Snohomish County?
- Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Snohomish County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Snohomish County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks, deck steps, and uncovered porches for residential buildings exempt if 30 inches or less above adjacent grade at any point, not over a basement or story below, and not part of a required accessible route; covered or taller decks require a permit | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3% technology surcharge and $6.50... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences 8 feet or less in height exempt, provided they have no masonry or concrete elements above 6 feet (wire strands atop an 8-foot fence are excluded from the height measurement); taller fences, or fences with masonry/concrete above 6 feet, require a permit | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3% technology surcharge and $6.50... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Filed as a Mech/Plbg residential trade permit priced from the PDS valuation table... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | open at-grade patios are treated as exempt sidewalks and driveways under SCC 30.50.103(1)(e) with no size limit; freestanding patio covers (roofed, not attached to another structure) are exempt only if 200 sq ft or less inside the UGA or 400 sq ft or less outside the UGA; larger or attached patio covers require a permit | Priced from the PDS valuation table starting at a $45 permit fee plus $29.25 plan check... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Filed as a Mech/Plbg residential trade permit priced from the PDS valuation table... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated swimming pools regulated under the IRC (one- and two-family dwellings) exempt if less than 24 inches deep, with no gallon-volume cap; in-ground pools or pools 24 inches deep or more require a building permit | Priced from the PDS valuation table starting at a $45 permit fee plus $29.25 plan check... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roof overlay or tear-off-and-replace of a residential roof exempt if limited to 2 total layers of roofing material, uses the same type of roofing material as the existing roof, and the roof sheathing is not removed or replaced; adding a layer beyond 2, changing material type, or replacing sheathing requires a permit | A like-for-like reroof limited to 2 layers with no sheathing removal needs no permit |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structure not used for human habitation (tool/storage shed, playhouse) exempt if floor area is 200 sq ft or less and sidewalls 9 ft or less inside the Urban Growth Area (UGA), or 400 sq ft or less and sidewalls 11 ft or less outside the UGA; larger structures require a building permit | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3% technology surcharge and $6.50... |
| Solar Permit | It depends | ground-mounted residential solar PV systems never need a building or mechanical permit; roof-mounted residential PV on a detached single-family house is exempt from a building/mechanical permit only if total dead load is 3.5 lbs per sq ft or less (up to 4.5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 3:12 or steeper slope, or 5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 5:12 or steeper slope), panels are mounted 18 inches or less above the roof surface, and an electrical permit has already been issued; a separate electrical permit through WA L&I is always required regardless | Ground-mounted and qualifying roof-mounted residential solar PV need no county building... |
Electrical Permit in other Washington localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Snohomish County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Snohomish County was verified. 2 official sources: snohomishcountywa.gov, lni.wa.gov. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Washington localities
Washington rule changes