Building permits in Snohomish County, Washington
Of the 10 common home projects we have verified in Snohomish County, 3 need a permit outright and 7 depend on size or scope. Click any project for the full rule, fee, and how to apply.
By Mario Bailey Last checked · 2 official sources
Verified against official sources- Project types verified
- 10
- in Snohomish County
Snohomish County Planning and Development Services
- 3000 Rockefeller Avenue, M/S 604, Everett, WA 98201
- Phone: 425-388-3311
- Email: epermittech@snoco.org
- Official permit page
- Permit portal
- Official fee schedule
Look up a permit in Snohomish County
Snohomish County runs an online permit portal. Many local portals let you check application status, search permit records, and view inspection results without calling the office.
Search the Snohomish County permit portal
What needs a permit in Snohomish County
Of the 10 common home projects we have verified in Snohomish County, 3 need a permit outright and 7 depend on size or scope. Click any project for the full rule, fee, and how to apply.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks, deck steps, and uncovered porches for residential buildings exempt if 30 inches or less above adjacent grade at any point, not over a basement or story below, and not part of a required accessible route; covered or taller decks require a permit | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3% technology surcharge and $6.50... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences 8 feet or less in height exempt, provided they have no masonry or concrete elements above 6 feet (wire strands atop an 8-foot fence are excluded from the height measurement); taller fences, or fences with masonry/concrete above 6 feet, require a permit | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3% technology surcharge and $6.50... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Filed as a Mech/Plbg residential trade permit priced from the PDS valuation table... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | open at-grade patios are treated as exempt sidewalks and driveways under SCC 30.50.103(1)(e) with no size limit; freestanding patio covers (roofed, not attached to another structure) are exempt only if 200 sq ft or less inside the UGA or 400 sq ft or less outside the UGA; larger or attached patio covers require a permit | Priced from the PDS valuation table starting at a $45 permit fee plus $29.25 plan check... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Filed as a Mech/Plbg residential trade permit priced from the PDS valuation table... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated swimming pools regulated under the IRC (one- and two-family dwellings) exempt if less than 24 inches deep, with no gallon-volume cap; in-ground pools or pools 24 inches deep or more require a building permit | Priced from the PDS valuation table starting at a $45 permit fee plus $29.25 plan check... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roof overlay or tear-off-and-replace of a residential roof exempt if limited to 2 total layers of roofing material, uses the same type of roofing material as the existing roof, and the roof sheathing is not removed or replaced; adding a layer beyond 2, changing material type, or replacing sheathing requires a permit | A like-for-like reroof limited to 2 layers with no sheathing removal needs no permit |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structure not used for human habitation (tool/storage shed, playhouse) exempt if floor area is 200 sq ft or less and sidewalls 9 ft or less inside the Urban Growth Area (UGA), or 400 sq ft or less and sidewalls 11 ft or less outside the UGA; larger structures require a building permit | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3% technology surcharge and $6.50... |
| Solar Permit | It depends | ground-mounted residential solar PV systems never need a building or mechanical permit; roof-mounted residential PV on a detached single-family house is exempt from a building/mechanical permit only if total dead load is 3.5 lbs per sq ft or less (up to 4.5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 3:12 or steeper slope, or 5 lbs per sq ft for frameless panels on a 5:12 or steeper slope), panels are mounted 18 inches or less above the roof surface, and an electrical permit has already been issued; a separate electrical permit through WA L&I is always required regardless | Ground-mounted and qualifying roof-mounted residential solar PV need no county building... |
Planning a project in Snohomish County?
Hire it out
Sponsored
Licensed contractors usually pull the permit as part of the job. Comparing a few local quotes before you commit is the useful next step.
Compare local contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
Planning several things at once? Check your whole project
Snohomish County permit fees compared with nearby Washington localities
| Washington locality | Deck Permit | HVAC Permit | Electrical Permit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Snohomish County | Base application fee $150 per application plus 3%... | Filed as a Mech/Plbg residential trade permit priced from... | No county fee |
| Bellevue | Building permit fee by valuation per Table 4 of Ordinance... | Flat single-family mechanical inspection fees per Table 8... | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of... |
| Clark County | Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated... | Application rev 1.30.23: $94 issuance plus per-appliance... | No county fee |
| King County | Most permit fees increased approximately 14% on January 1... | Mechanical installation-only permit is a flat $183... | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906... |
Each cell is the opening clause of that Washington jurisdiction's own fee schedule; the full wording and source sit on each permit page.
Snohomish County permit questions, answered from the data
- Do you need a permit in Snohomish County?
- For most projects, yes. Of the 10 permit types we have verified for Snohomish County, 3 always require a permit (for example an electrical permit), 7 depend on size or scope (a deck permit, for instance). Each Snohomish County permit type's page states the exact rule and its source.
- How much does a permit cost in Snohomish County?
- Snohomish County publishes a fee for 10 of the 10 permit types we cover, each quoted on its page from the jurisdiction's own schedule (linked on every page that carries one). Fees are set by Snohomish County Planning and Development Services; we do not estimate or mark them up.
- Where do you apply for a permit in Snohomish County?
- Snohomish County Planning and Development Services issues permits in Snohomish County, with an online portal for applications, plan uploads and status checks, and takes questions at 425-388-3311. The Snohomish County official page and portal are linked in the office section above.
How the Snohomish County pages were verified. 10 permit types, 7 distinct official sources, most recently checked . Every rule is read from Snohomish County Planning and Development Services or the applicable code and cited on its page; anything we could not confirm for Snohomish County is marked rather than estimated. How we verify.