Washington / Clark County

Electrical Permit in Clark County, Washington

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Any electrical work; permit issued by Washington State L&I not the county

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byWashington State Department of Labor and Industries (Clark County does not issue electrical permits)

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Clark County does not issue electrical permits. Electrical permits, plan review and inspections in unincorporated Clark County are handled by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries; the county directs applicants to lni.wa.gov or 360.896.2300. L&I states that electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC.

Typical threshold: Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Any electrical work; permit issued by Washington State L&I not the county

What an electrical permit costs in Clark County

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaNo county fee; electrical permits in unincorporated Clark County are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, so fees follow the state L&I electrical permit fee schedule.

How Clark County compares in Washington

No Washington jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
BellevuePermit requiredElectrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79...
Clark Countythis pagePermit requiredNo county fee
King CountyPermit requiredSet by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026):...
Pierce CountyPermit requiredNo county fee
SeattlePermit requiredItemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online...
Snohomish CountyPermit requiredNo county fee
TacomaPermit requiredNo Planning and Development Services fee

How to apply in Clark County

In Clark County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Clark County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Clark County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (Clark County does not issue electrical permits) sets the exact checklist for Clark County.

Where to apply in Clark County:

Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (Clark County does not issue electrical permits)

  • Phone: 360.896.2300

Electrical Permit in Clark County compared with nearby Washington localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Washington schedule saysVerified
Clark CountyPermit requiredElectrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county.No county fee
BellevuePermit requiredNot specifiedElectrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee...
King CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedSet by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new...
Pierce CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo county fee
SeattlePermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Clark County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Clark County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Clark County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Clark County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Clark County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Clark County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Clark County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Clark County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Call Clark County at 360.896.2300 to schedule.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Clark County?
Clark County does not issue electrical permits. Electrical permits, plan review and inspections in unincorporated Clark County are handled by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries; the county directs applicants to lni.wa.gov or 360.896.2300. L&I states that electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC. Always confirm with the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (Clark County does not issue electrical permits) before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Clark County?
No county fee; electrical permits in unincorporated Clark County are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, so fees follow the state L&I electrical permit fee schedule. Contact the office for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Clark County?
Apply through the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (Clark County does not issue electrical permits). The official permit page and contact details are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Clark County?
Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Clark County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Clark County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsExempt only if the deck does not exceed 200 square feet, is not more than 30 inches above grade at any point, is not attached to a dwelling, does not serve a required exit door, and is not used for a hot tub or pool; all other decks require a permit.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
Fence PermitIt dependsFences seven feet or less in height do not require a permit; fences over 7 feet in height require a Fence/Retaining Wall (FRT) permit.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredMechanical permits cover installation of heating and cooling equipment such as furnaces, heat pumps, A/C units, ductless mini splits and gas piping; for additions and new construction this work is included in the ADS or NHC permit.Application rev 1.30.23: $94 issuance plus per-appliance fees including furnace or heat...
Patio PermitIt dependsPatio and concrete slabs on the ground grade are exempt from permit but may not be built on easements; adding a patio cover or enclosing a covered patio requires a building permit under the ADS permit type.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredA plumbing permit is required for installation of any plumbing fixtures, including water heaters, toilets and sinks.Application rev 9.2.25: $94 issuance plus per-item fees including plumbing fixture/trap...
Pool PermitIt dependsA permit is required for any structure intended for swimming or recreational bathing that contains water over 24 inches deep, including in-ground, aboveground and on-ground pools, hot tubs and spas.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredRe-roofing permits are required for all buildings in Clark County; a separate permit may be required if structural work such as replacing roof sheathing is necessary.County handout rev 7.16.18: residential re-roofing permit $220 plus $94 issuance and...
Shed PermitIt dependsSheds over 200 square feet require a building permit; sheds of 200 square feet or less are exempt if they meet setbacks and easements, but any size shed in a mobile home park or multi-family zone requires a permit.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
Solar PermitPermit requiredSeparate SOL permits are required for ground mounted units or panels mounted on existing buildings; in new construction the solar panels are included in the NHC or ADS permit.Fees for separate SOL permits are based on construction value

Electrical Permit in other Washington localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Clark County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Clark County was verified. 3 official sources: clark.wa.gov, lni.wa.gov, clark.wa.gov. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (Clark County does not issue electrical permits). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Washington localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Permit required
Get quotes