Electrical Permit in Pierce County, Washington
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For any residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Pierce County
Issued byWashington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Pierce County Planning and Public Works does not issue electrical permits. A permit is always required for residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Pierce County, but the issuing agency depends on location. Tacoma Power issues electrical permits and performs inspections for properties it serves, including the cities of Tacoma, Fircrest, University Place, and Fife, parts of Steilacoom and Lakewood, and unincorporated Pierce County as far south as Roy. Everywhere else in unincorporated Pierce County, electrical permits are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, whose Tacoma field office covers the county. Property owners should contact L&I or Tacoma Power to confirm which agency serves a specific address.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For any residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Pierce County
What an electrical permit costs in Pierce County
How Pierce County compares in Washington
No Washington jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Bellevue | Permit required | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79... |
| Clark County | Permit required | No county fee |
| King County | Permit required | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026):... |
| Pierce Countythis page | Permit required | No county fee |
| Seattle | Permit required | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online... |
| Snohomish County | Permit required | No county fee |
| Tacoma | Permit required | No Planning and Development Services fee |
How to apply in Pierce County
In Pierce County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Pierce County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Pierce County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power sets the exact checklist for Pierce County.
Where to apply in Pierce County:
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power
- 950 Broadway, Suite 200, Tacoma, WA 98402-4453
- Phone: 253-596-3808
Electrical Permit in Pierce County compared with nearby Washington localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Washington schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pierce County | Permit required | Not specified | No county fee | |
| Bellevue | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permit fee by valuation per Table 6 of Ordinance 6879, $79 inspection fee... | |
| Clark County | Permit required | Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection, with a few exceptions listed in chapter 296-46B-901 WAC; in unincorporated Clark County electrical permits are issued by state Labor and Industries, not the county. | No county fee | |
| King County | Permit required | Not specified | Set by state L&I, not King County, under WAC 296-46B-906 (effective 7/1/2026): new... | |
| Seattle | Permit required | Not specified | Itemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Pierce County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Pierce County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Pierce County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Pierce County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Pierce County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Pierce County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Pierce County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Pierce County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Pierce County permit portal or by phone at 253-596-3808.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Pierce County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For any residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Pierce County.
- Budget the fee. No county fee; electrical permits in unincorporated Pierce County are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, or Tacoma Power in its service area, so fees follow the issuing agency's schedule.
- Apply. In Pierce County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Pierce County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power. Phone: 253-596-3808. Address: 950 Broadway, Suite 200, Tacoma, WA 98402-4453.
- Plan for inspections. In Pierce County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Pierce County?
- Pierce County Planning and Public Works does not issue electrical permits. A permit is always required for residential electrical wiring, panel, or fixture work in unincorporated Pierce County, but the issuing agency depends on location. Tacoma Power issues electrical permits and performs inspections for properties it serves, including the cities of Tacoma, Fircrest, University Place, and Fife, parts of Steilacoom and Lakewood, and unincorporated Pierce County as far south as Roy. Everywhere else in unincorporated Pierce County, electrical permits are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, whose Tacoma field office covers the county. Property owners should contact L&I or Tacoma Power to confirm which agency serves a specific address. Always confirm with the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Pierce County?
- No county fee; electrical permits in unincorporated Pierce County are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, or Tacoma Power in its service area, so fees follow the issuing agency's schedule. Contact the office for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Pierce County?
- You can apply through the Pierce County permit portal or contact the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Pierce County?
- Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Pierce County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Pierce County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | Decks not more than 30 inches above grade at any point, and not over any story or basement below, are exempt; Pierce County code sets no separate floor area cap for decks; taller decks, or decks over a story or basement, require a building permit. | Building permit fee follows PCC Table 17C.10-1-B (valuation based): $69.00 for... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | Fences 6 feet or less in height, measured from grade, are exempt; taller fences require a building permit. | Building permit fee follows PCC Table 17C.10-1-B (valuation based): $69.00 for... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Issue each mechanical permit fee $58.00, plus unit fees per equipment type (for example... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | At-grade patios, treated the same as exempt sidewalks and driveways, are exempt if not more than 30 inches above grade at any point and not over any story or basement below; an attached, roofed patio cover requires a building permit regardless of size. | Attached patio covers use the same valuation based building permit fee as other building... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Issue each plumbing permit fee $58.00, plus unit fees per fixture (for example $8.00 per... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | Prefabricated swimming pools accessory to a single family residence (Group R-3 occupancy) are exempt if less than 24 inches deep, with no separate gallon volume cap; in-ground pools and pools 24 inches deep or deeper require a building permit. Self-contained spas and hot tubs installed entirely above ground and not connected to the potable water system or a septic or sewer drain are separately exempt regardless of depth. | Where a permit is required: in-ground pool permit $230.00 |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | Re-roofing of a Group R, Division 3 one or two family dwelling, or a Group U private garage, carport, or accessory structure, with a roof slope greater than 2:12, is exempt if the total load of all roof coverings does not exceed 7.5 lbs per sq ft; the exemption does not apply to vegetated roofs or to replacement of roof sheathing. | Building permit fee follows PCC Table 17C.10-1-B (valuation based): $69.00 for... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | One-story detached accessory structure used as an unheated tool or storage shed, playhouse, or similar use is exempt if its floor area is 200 sq ft or less and it is at least 3 feet from a property line; larger or closer structures require a building permit. | Building permit fee follows PCC Table 17C.10-1-B (valuation based): $69.00 for... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential rooftop solar panel building permit base fee $173.00, plus $201.00 for... |
Electrical Permit in other Washington localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Pierce County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Pierce County was verified. 3 official sources: lni.wa.gov, piercecountywa.gov, lni.wa.gov. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Washington localities
Permit office
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries or Tacoma Power
253-596-3808Permit portalWashington rule changes