Washington / Seattle

Patio Permit in Seattle, Washington

No permit needed

No permit is typically required

Patio and concrete slabs installed on grade do not require a permit in Seattle

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued bySeattle Department of Construction and Inspections

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Typical job value
$103,577
declared valuation

Quick answer

Patio slabs and concrete flatwork installed on grade do not require a building permit in Seattle per the SDCI do-you-need-a-permit guidance. Grading or retaining walls associated with a patio project may have separate permit requirements. Confirm with SDCI if your project includes structural elements or is near an environmentally critical area.

Usually no permit is needed here. Hiring the work out anyway?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Patio and concrete slabs installed on grade do not require a permit in Seattle

What your patio permit must meet in Washington

Washington's 2021 Residential Code (WAC 51-51, effective statewide March 15, 2024) carries no mandatory statewide construction standard for patio covers: the model code's patio-cover appendix applies only where a city or county specifically adopts it, so patio-cover build requirements are set locally.

  • Appendices to the Washington State Residential Code, including the model code's patio-cover appendix, are not part of the statewide default: an appendix applies only if a local jurisdiction's adopting ordinance specifically references it and the state building code council has approved that adoption (WAC 51-51-0102).
  • Where a patio cover adjoins a habitable room and is used to satisfy that room's natural-light requirement, state code requires an openable area between the room and the patio cover of not less than one-tenth of the interior room's floor area, with a 20 square foot minimum (WAC 51-51-0303, R303).

Based on 2021 Washington State Residential Code (WAC 51-51), based on the 2021 IRC. Read the code. Local amendments can be stricter; confirm the current requirement with your office before you build.

What a patio permit costs in Seattle

Line item
patio permitBy formulaNo standalone patio permit; a patio is regulated as pavement and needs a grading permit only when adding or replacing 750 square feet or more of hard surface, priced hourly at the $292 SDCI rate with a one-hour minimum due at intake, plus a 5% technology fee.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Seattle compares in Washington

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
BellevueNo permit neededNot specified
Clark CountyIt dependsPatio and concrete slabs on the ground grade are exempt from permit but may not be built on easements; adding a patio cover or enclosing a covered patio requires a building permit under the ADS permit type.
King CountyIt dependsat-grade patios and uncovered decks 30 inches or less above ground are exempt; covered patios and taller structures require a building permit
Pierce CountyIt dependsAt-grade patios, treated the same as exempt sidewalks and driveways, are exempt if not more than 30 inches above grade at any point and not over any story or basement below; an attached, roofed patio cover requires a building permit regardless of size.
Seattlethis pageNo permit neededNot specified
Snohomish CountyIt dependsopen at-grade patios are treated as exempt sidewalks and driveways under SCC 30.50.103(1)(e) with no size limit; freestanding patio covers (roofed, not attached to another structure) are exempt only if 200 sq ft or less inside the UGA or 400 sq ft or less outside the UGA; larger or attached patio covers require a permit
TacomaIt dependsat-grade flatwork such as sidewalks and driveways is exempt from a building permit, though separate site-development permits can apply; covered patios require a building permit

How to apply in Seattle

In Seattle, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement.

What most patio permit applications include:

  • Filing a permit application with the local building department, which only the property owner or an authorized agent may sign, since a patio cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size (IRC R105.1).
  • For Seattle, a scaled site plan showing the new patio cover's size and location relative to the house and other existing structures, with dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is approved (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents such as a framing plan and elevation, showing rafter or beam sizes and spacing, the distance between supporting posts, and the method of attachment to the house, drawn with enough clarity for the building official to confirm the work will conform to the code (IRC R106.1).
  • For the roof structure itself, plans showing compliance with the patio cover appendix's structural limits, such as adequate footing sizes for the applied post loads, since a shallow slab on grade may substitute for a deeper footing only in limited cases up to about 750 pounds of load per post (IRC Appendix AH, Section AH105.2).
  • By contrast, an at grade concrete or paver patio that is not attached to the dwelling and stays within the code's small flatwork thresholds, similar to a sidewalk, driveway, or low deck under 200 square feet and 30 inches high, commonly needs no building permit at all, so none of the plan review steps above apply (IRC R105.2).

General submittal guidance from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Sections R105 and R106, with Appendix AH Patio Covers (named Appendix H in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 editions). Source. Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Seattle.

Where to apply in Seattle:

Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections

  • 700 5th Ave Suite 2000, Seattle, WA 98104
  • Phone: (206) 684-8600

Patio Permit in Seattle compared with nearby Washington localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Washington schedule saysVerified
SeattleNo permit neededNot specifiedNo standalone patio permit
BellevueNo permit neededNot specifiedNo separate patio line item
Clark CountyIt dependsPatio and concrete slabs on the ground grade are exempt from permit but may not be built on easements; adding a patio cover or enclosing a covered patio requires a building permit under the ADS permit type.Fees are established by county ordinance and calculated automatically during the...
King CountyIt dependsat-grade patios and uncovered decks 30 inches or less above ground are exempt; covered patios and taller structures require a building permitNo separate patio line
Pierce CountyIt dependsAt-grade patios, treated the same as exempt sidewalks and driveways, are exempt if not more than 30 inches above grade at any point and not over any story or basement below; an attached, roofed patio cover requires a building permit regardless of size.Attached patio covers use the same valuation based building permit fee as other building...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Seattle, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.

  1. In Seattle: a footing inspection once the excavation, forms, and any reinforcing steel are in place but before concrete is poured, confirming the posts supporting a patio cover will bear on adequate footings (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. In Seattle: a frame inspection after the rafters, beams, posts, and any required rough in work are in place but before the roof sheathing or covering material conceals them, since a solid patio cover roof cannot be signed off once it is covered without this check (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Seattle: a final inspection once all permitted work, including roofing and post anchorage, is complete, which the code requires before the structure may be used (IRC R109.1.6).
  4. In Seattle: an at grade concrete or paver patio that qualifies as exempt flatwork under the permit rules is not subject to any of these inspection stages, since the inspection sequence only attaches to work that required a permit in the first place (IRC R105.2).
  5. In Seattle: each inspection has to be requested by the permit holder rather than happening automatically, and the approved plans and permit card need to be on site and available when the inspector arrives (IRC R109.3).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Seattle permit portal or by phone at (206) 684-8600.

Inspection sequence from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109 (Inspections). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Seattle

In 2024, Seattle authorized permits for 5,895 new residential housing units (405 single-family, 5,490 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.2B, up from 5,299 the year before. That works out to about 7.7 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 769,714.

About Seattle

Seattle has about 382,933 housing units. The median home is valued at $912,100, against a median household income of $121,984. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1974.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a patio permit in Seattle?
Patio slabs and concrete flatwork installed on grade do not require a building permit in Seattle per the SDCI do-you-need-a-permit guidance. Grading or retaining walls associated with a patio project may have separate permit requirements. Confirm with SDCI if your project includes structural elements or is near an environmentally critical area. Always confirm with the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections before starting.
How much does a patio permit cost in Seattle?
No standalone patio permit; a patio is regulated as pavement and needs a grading permit only when adding or replacing 750 square feet or more of hard surface, priced hourly at the $292 SDCI rate with a one-hour minimum due at intake, plus a 5% technology fee. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a patio permit in Seattle?
You can apply through the Seattle permit portal or contact the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a patio permit themselves in Seattle?
Under Washington law (RCW 18.27.090(11), (12); RCW 19.28.261(1); RCW 18.106.150(1)): Washington lets homeowners do their own construction work, including the licensed trades, on property they own. RCW 18.27.090(12) exempts any person working on his or her own property from contractor registration, but the exemption does not apply if you do contractor type work for the purpose of selling, demolishing, or leasing the property, and the separate owner exemption in RCW 18.27.090(11) is lost if you sell or lease improved property owned less than 12 months. For electrical work, RCW 19.28.261 lets you wire your own residence, farm, or place of business without an electrician license, unless the work is on construction of a new building intended for rent, sale, or lease, or on property offered for sale within 12 months after you obtained it. RCW 18.106.150(1) gives the same kind of exemption for plumbing work at your own residence, farm, or place of business. These exemptions waive the license, not the permit: an owner doing electrical work still buys an L&I electrical work permit and passes inspection (WAC 296-46B-901), and building and plumbing permits still come from your local building department. Confirm how Seattle applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Seattle

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdecks more than 18 inches above grade require a permit; decks 18 inches or less above grade and not over a basement do not require a permitPriced as a subject-to-field-inspection or addition/alteration construction permit by...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per Fee Subtitle Table D-15: minimum $105.12 for a standard online self-issued...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences under 8 feet with no masonry or concrete elements exceeding 6 feet do not require a permitFences 8 feet or less with no masonry or concrete elements over 6 feet need no permit...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedDucted HVAC systems are priced by project valuation with a $292 minimum
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo SDCI fee
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedAn unenclosed pool accessory to a single-family or duplex home is a flat fee of four...
Roof Replacement PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedOne and two family homes need no permit for a straight reroof that does not change the...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached storage sheds with a roof footprint of 120 square feet or less on a slab foundation and not in an environmentally critical area do not require a permitSheds of 120 square feet or less that are single story, unattached, and storage-only...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar PV is permitted through the electrical permit: systems below 12kW are a flat $438...

Patio Permit in other Washington localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Seattle documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this patio permit page for Seattle was verified. 1 official source: seattle.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Patio Permit requirements across Washington localities

Patio permit rules nationwide

No permit needed
Get quotes