Washington

Do you need a patio permit in Washington?

By Mario Bailey Last checked

Always required
0
of 8 jurisdictions
Conditional
6
depends on size or scope
Not required
2
exempt outright

Patio Permit rules nationwide, beyond Washington.

A worker sets brick pavers into a sand bed for a new patio

Requirements and size thresholds for patio permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Washington county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.

Comparing states? See patio permit rules across every locality we cover.

The application steps and inspection sequence for patio permits come from the model code rather than from Washington law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a patio permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Washington jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.

Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.

Locality Permit required? Typical threshold Confidence
Bellevue No Not specified Confirmed on official page
Clark County Conditional Patio and concrete slabs on the ground grade are exempt from permit but may not be built on easements; adding a patio cover or enclosing a covered patio requires a building permit under the ADS permit type. Confirmed on official page
King County Conditional at-grade patios and uncovered decks 30 inches or less above ground are exempt; covered patios and taller structures require a building permit From an official source
Pierce County Conditional At-grade patios, treated the same as exempt sidewalks and driveways, are exempt if not more than 30 inches above grade at any point and not over any story or basement below; an attached, roofed patio cover requires a building permit regardless of size. Confirmed on official page
Seattle No Not specified Confirmed on official page
Snohomish County Conditional open at-grade patios are treated as exempt sidewalks and driveways under SCC 30.50.103(1)(e) with no size limit; freestanding patio covers (roofed, not attached to another structure) are exempt only if 200 sq ft or less inside the UGA or 400 sq ft or less outside the UGA; larger or attached patio covers require a permit Confirmed on official page
Tacoma Conditional at-grade flatwork such as sidewalks and driveways is exempt from a building permit, though separate site-development permits can apply; covered patios require a building permit From an official source
Thurston County Conditional Patios and porches are exempt if 30 inches or less from the ground to the top of the surface. Confirmed on official page

What a patio permit costs in Washington

5 Washington jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.

Bellevue

No separate patio line item; a patio needing a permit is a building permit by valuation per Table 4 of Ordinance 6879, $44 inspection fee minimum plus plan review at 65% plus a $25 state building code fee, effective 2026-01-01

last checked

King County

No separate patio line; the deck and accessory building category (which the county states includes porches or decks of any size) applies, $772 minimum application review plus $2.46 per sq ft inspection plus the $6.50 state building code surcharge, per the 2026 single family residential fee guide

last checked

Pierce County

Attached patio covers use the same valuation based building permit fee as other building permits (PCC Table 17C.10-1-B, from $69.00, plus a 65 percent plan review fee); Pierce County's Predesigned Covered Porch or Patio Guide can be used for a qualifying attached patio cover up to 500 sq ft without structural engineering.

last checked

Seattle

No standalone patio permit; a patio is regulated as pavement and needs a grading permit only when adding or replacing 750 square feet or more of hard surface, priced hourly at the $292 SDCI rate with a one-hour minimum due at intake, plus a 5% technology fee

last checked

Snohomish County

Priced from the PDS valuation table starting at a $45 permit fee plus $29.25 plan check at the lowest valuation bracket, plus a $150 base fee per application, the $6.50 state surcharge and a 3% technology surcharge, per PDS Bulletin 18 effective 3/13/2026; unattached patio covers under 200 sq ft (400 outside an urban growth area) need no permit

last checked

Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.

Common questions about patio permits in Washington

Do I need a patio permit in Washington?
In Washington it depends on the size of the job. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Washington city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 8 Washington jurisdictions we have verified for patio work, 0 require a permit outright, 6 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 2 require none.
Is there a patio permit exemption in Washington?
6 of the 8 Washington jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Washington county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Washington jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.

Ready to move on your patio permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

Planning more than a patio permit? Check your whole project