Florida

Do you need a fence permit in Florida?

By Mario Bailey Last checked

Always required
14
of 28 jurisdictions
Conditional
11
depends on size or scope
Not required
3
exempt outright

Fence Permit rules nationwide, beyond Florida.

Wood privacy fences between houses in a suburban subdivision

Requirements and size thresholds for fence permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Florida county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.

Comparing states? See fence permit rules across every locality we cover.

The application steps and inspection sequence for fence permits come from the model code rather than from Florida law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a fence permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Florida jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.

Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.

Locality Permit required? Typical threshold Confidence
Alachua County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Brevard County Conditional Permit not required for repair or replacement of less than 50% of an existing fence using the same size and material in the same location. Confirmed on official page
Broward County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Charlotte County Yes A permit is not required for fence enclosures of garbage containers or mechanical equipment with three panels or less and one gate. Confirmed on official page
Clay County Conditional value of repair or replacement work to existing wood fence pickets or panels, not including fence posts From an official source
Collier County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Escambia County No Not specified Confirmed on official page
Hernando County Yes Fence permits are required in all commercial, industrial, and residential zoning districts; agricultural zoning districts (AG, AR, AR1, AR2, PDP(RUR)) are exempt from the Fence Ordinance Confirmed on official page
Hillsborough County Conditional PVC wood and chain-link fences are exempt; electrical or concrete fences require a permit Confirmed on official page
Jacksonville No Not specified Confirmed on official page
Lake County Conditional Masonry or concrete fences 4 feet or less in height, and fences of any other material 6 feet or less in height, are exempt from a building permit under the county's Chapter 6 building-code amendment Confirmed on official page
Lee County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Leon County Conditional Traditional fences (chain link, wooden, etc.) do not need a building permit; a solid wall does. Confirmed on official page
Manatee County Conditional Masonry fences, walls, and columns (residential and commercial) always require a building permit. Non-structural residential fences such as wood, chain link, and vinyl are exempt from a building permit when located on a one or two family lot that is not in a flood hazard area. Confirmed on official page
Marion County Yes Not specified From an official source
Miami-Dade County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Orange County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Osceola County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Palm Beach County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Pasco County Conditional A permit is required only when the fence is supported by brick, block, or concrete columns; ordinary residential fences are exempt but setbacks must be checked with Development Code Review. Confirmed on official page
Pinellas County Conditional chain-link, wood, and vinyl fences generally need no building permit, though a zoning clearance may be required in certain conditions such as pool safety barriers or corner-lot sight triangles; masonry fences, retaining walls, seawalls, and fences over 6 ft are handled as separate building-permit types Confirmed on official page
Polk County Conditional Solid fences over eight feet high and all masonry walls or fences with masonry pilasters require a permit; chain link fences of any height and stockade fences up to eight feet high are exempt. Confirmed on official page
Santa Rosa County No Not specified Confirmed on official page
Sarasota County Conditional A chain link, wood, or vinyl fence does not need a building permit when it meets the county's standards for height, placement, and finished side facing the neighbor or right-of-way; fences and walls that do not meet those standards require a permit. A permit is also required when the property is in a flood zone or the fence is part of a larger project scope. Confirmed on official page
Seminole County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
St. Johns County Yes Not specified From an official source
St. Lucie County Yes Minor repair or exact replacement of an existing permitted fence of up to 2 panels, excluding pool barriers, does not require a permit; installing a new fence, larger repairs, or any pool barrier fence requires a permit. Confirmed on official page
Volusia County Conditional Not specified Confirmed on official page

What a fence permit costs in Florida

18 Florida jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.

Alachua County

No fence-specific flat fee is published. Fences fall under the $150.00 minimum base permit fee for "all other building permits not charged a flat rate fee (i.e., mechanical, electrical, plumbing, aluminum, accessory buildings, etc.)" plus the dollar-value-of-construction fee, per the Building Fee Schedule effective 11/01/2025.

last checked

Brevard County

Brevard's Residential Fence Permit Application fee table lists a $25.00 Application Processing Fee, a $34.00 flat Building Code fee, $15.00 Land Development Review, $15.00 Natural Resources Review, and $14.00 Zoning Review, plus a $10.00 Unlicensed Contractor Activity Enforcement fee and state surcharges of 1.5% (BCA, F.S. 468.631) and 1% (FBC, F.S. 553.721) on the Building Code fees. No effective date is shown on the fee table.

last checked

Broward County

No separate fence fee line; fences fall under the Structural permit schedule, the greater of a $125 minimum base fee or 3.0% of job value, per Section 40.29 (Ord. 2025-038, eff. 5-1-25)

last checked

Charlotte County

Charlotte County's Residential Fence page lists fees due at issuance: Zoning Review $30, plus a building fee of 0.004 x ICC valuation (only if valuation is $50,000 or more) and a surcharge of 0.025 x the building fee.

last checked

Clay County

The FY 2024/2025 Building Fee Schedule (Resolution No. 2023/2024-97, adopted September 24, 2024, effective October 1, 2024) has no fence-specific line item; fence work would fall under the general 'Minimum Fee for Any Building Permit (including amendments)' of $100.00, effective January 1, 2025, unless billed by job value.

last checked

Collier County

Fee Schedule (Resolution 2025-231, BCC approved October 28, 2025, effective January 1, 2026), Section V (Fences/Walls): "Fences: $35.00 application fee plus a per-inspection charge"; "Walls: $100.00 application fee plus a per-inspection charge."

last checked

Escambia County

The separate Land Use Certificate for Fence Installation form (Development Services Department, revised 10/2021) lists a flat fee of $50.00 (the fee includes a $5.00 technical fee). No effective date or resolution number is shown on the form.

last checked

Lake County

Residential Walls and Fences (includes gates & seawalls; does not include fire inspection): $100 for the first 100 linear feet and $30 for each additional 50 linear feet or fraction thereof, per the county's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule (Office of Building Services).

last checked

Lee County

Fee schedule effective 2026-04-15: $50 application fee and $35 technology fee per application plus an operational support fee; residential fence plan review $35 initial, regulatory review $25, structural inspections $50 per required inspection

last checked

Manatee County

Manatee County Development Services Building Fee Schedule, effective 04/01/2023 (R-23-043, R-23-045, R-23-046): Fence Commercial or Residential Structural $207; Fence Commercial Nonstructural $79; Fence Residential Nonstructural $62.

last checked

Marion County

Fence/Wall/Entrance-way (Res or Com): $125.00, per the county's construction permit fee schedule (Resolution 25-R-295, effective Oct. 1, 2025).

last checked

Orange County

Residential Fence Permit fee is $38 flat per the FY2025-26 Fee Directory's Zoning Permit Fees table

last checked

Osceola County

Appendix A lists 'Fences (Wood, Chain Link or Vinyl/Plastic)' at $60.00, with no plan review fee required; the county notes the $60.00 permit fee is inclusive of a $30.00 zoning review fee. (Commercial fences are billed separately at $60.00 plan review plus $100.00 permit fee.) Effective October 1, 2025, per Resolution #25-036R.

last checked

Palm Beach County

Flat $125 fee for a residential fence permit, per the PZB Building Division fee schedule

last checked

Pasco County

Base permit fee $45 for all permits per posted fee Resolution 18-17; no fence specific line item in the schedule

last checked

Pinellas County

Fences of chain link, vinyl or wood 6 feet or less need no building permit; taller or other fences default to the $100 general minimum per required inspection, per the FY26 BDRS schedule

last checked

Seminole County

Fences: $40.00 base permit fee plus $5.00 per $1,000 value of construction; a separate $20.00 zoning permit review fee applies to residential fence permits. Per the county's Section 20.10 fee schedule as amended by Resolution 2024-R-139, adopted Dec. 12, 2023.

last checked

St. Johns County

No fence-specific fee line item is published. Fence permits fall under the general Building Services Fees table: Permit Issuance Fee $14.00, plus Total Valuation of Building fee (minimum $19.00, or $11.00 for the first $1,000 plus $2.63 for each additional thousand or fraction thereof up to $50,000; higher tiers apply above that), per St. Johns County's Schedule of Fees and Services, Exhibit A (amended 07/21/2026).

last checked

Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.

Common questions about fence permits in Florida

Do I need a fence permit in Florida?
In Florida it depends on the size of the job. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Florida city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 28 Florida jurisdictions we have verified for fence work, 14 require a permit outright, 11 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 3 require none.
Is there a fence permit exemption in Florida?
11 of the 28 Florida jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Florida county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Florida jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.

Ready to move on your fence permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare fence installer quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

Planning more than a fence permit? Check your whole project