Do you need a patio permit in California?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 6
- of 14 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 8
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
Patio Permit rules nationwide, beyond California.
Requirements and size thresholds for patio permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each California county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See patio permit rules across every locality we cover.
The application steps and inspection sequence for patio permits come from the model code rather than from California law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a patio permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between California jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | Conditional | Total area of each sunshade structure, including any roofed area, at which the building permit exemption stops; the exemption also requires an average height of not more than 10 feet | Confirmed on official page |
| Contra Costa County | Conditional | roof area of a trellis, arbor, or pergola accessory to a residence, treated by the county as a one-story detached accessory structure | Confirmed on official page |
| Fresno County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Los Angeles | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Los Angeles County | Conditional | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Orange County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Riverside County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Sacramento | Conditional | covered patios and patio covers require a building permit; at-grade sidewalks and driveways are exempt, as are unattached decks up to 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade | Confirmed on official page |
| Sacramento County | Conditional | floor area of a detached, not fully enclosed patio cover, pergola, arbor or trellis that is also no taller than 12 feet and stands 5 feet or more from the property line | Confirmed on official page |
| San Bernardino County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| San Diego | Conditional | patio cover accessory to a dwelling under 300 sq ft of projected roof area and no taller than 12 ft and not in a yard setback does not require a permit | From an official source |
| San Diego County | Conditional | Patio covers and carports accessory to an individual dwelling unit need a building permit once projected roof area exceeds 300 square feet. | Confirmed on official page |
| San Jose | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Santa Clara County | Conditional | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What a patio permit costs in California
13 California jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
No patio cover line item appears in the Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1, 2024). A patio cover or patio enclosure permit is priced from construction valuation using the Schedule A table with a $140.00 minimum service fee, plus a $20.00 single-permit processing fee, or $30.00 for a combo permit covering two or more trades.
last checked
The Building Valuation Data Supplement values a "Patio cover (includes pre-fab types, usually with ICBO research listing)" at $25.73 per square foot, and adds $50.27 per square foot "If enclosed with walls or glazing." Permit fees are then computed from that valuation using the S-001 and S-002 fee tables, with a $75.00 minimum fee on all charges. Fee schedule adopted May 24, 2022, effective August 10, 2022.
last checked
No flat patio permit fee is published. The Table of Construction Valuation prices patio work two ways depending on construction: under 'Private Garages, Residential Accessory Structures: (U)' it lists 'Frame Patios Type VB $23.00' with 'Add for Screening $8.00', and under 'Metal Roof Structures: IIB' it lists 'Residential Patio Cover & Carport (U) $16.00' with 'Add for Screening $6.00'. These are valuation rates per square foot, not fees; the permit fee comes from Section 2501, a $166.28 minimum charge for FY 2026-27.
last checked
Valuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A; the LADBS Valuation Table sets minimum declared valuation at $16 per sq ft for a patio cover and $22 per sq ft for a patio enclosure, feeding the graduated brackets (posted base $65)
last checked
No patio line item is published. A patio cover or patio enclosure is priced from the valuation-based Table 1-A Building Permit Fees ($65.36 for a total valuation of $0 to and including $700; $98.09 for more than $700 to and including $25,000 plus $25.27 for each additional $1,000 or fraction thereof in excess of $1,000), plus the $41.35 permit issuance fee. Building Code Fee Schedule (Title 26, Ord. No. 2013-0048), effective July 1, 2026.
last checked
Patio, Standard: Covers, Decks, Balconies, Enclosures: $768 for FY 2024-25, $803 for FY 2025-26, $819 for FY 2026-27. Patio, Custom: Covers, Decks, Balconies, Enclosures: valuation-based. Both from the OC Development Services Fee Schedule 2024-2027, fees effective July 21, 2024.
last checked
Lattice Patio Cover County Standard (BPT-LPAT): $411.90 fixed fee; Solid Patio Cover County Standard (BPT-SPAT): $586.60 fixed fee; Patio Cover Engineered (BPT-PATE): $822.04 deposit; Patio Cover Final Inspection (BPT-PTFNL): $237.20 fixed fee, per Appendix A to Ordinance No. 457 as amended by Ordinance No. 457.108 (adopted June 23, 2026, effective July 23, 2026).
last checked
Patio covers are valued at $34.50 per square foot per CDD-0245's construction valuation table (rev 07-12-2026), then charged per the valuation schedule with a $75 minimum permit plus $32 plan review
last checked
Patio covers are priced off the FY 2026/27 Construction Fee Schedule adopted under County Code 16.0204(a)(1), which combines plan check and inspection fees. The line item is "U Other - Awning/Canopy, Deck, Carport, Patio Cover": for Construction Type VA/VB the base cost is $691 at the 50 sq ft project-size threshold, $810 at 250 sq ft, $1,054 at 500 sq ft and $1,436 at 1,000 sq ft. A $57.00 intake processing fee under 16.0204(h)(1) is applied to each permit.
last checked
Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Patio Cover with pre-approved plans $1,501.42 plan check plus $353.13 inspection each, custom plans $1,412.54 plan check plus $529.71 inspection each
last checked
PDS 613 (effective 07/10/2026, FY 25/26) names patios in its over-the-counter miscellaneous line: "Misc Permit OTC. Minor int. SFD remodel / repair-no structural change, patio, carport, canopy, fence, re-roof, stairs, radio tower, antenna, etc." at a Plan Review Fee of $405.00 plus a Permit Fee of $521.00. If the patio project needs plan check, "Misc. Permit Requiring Plan Check Submittal" is $1,766.00 plan review plus the same $521.00 permit fee.
last checked
Not separately itemized; the printed residential exterior/site-alterations bucket charges base permit issuance $227, plan review $325 and inspection $367, per the FY2025-26 Building Division Fee Schedule
last checked
No patio-specific flat fee is published. A patio cover is charged by valuation: the county's Building Section Services Fee Schedule effective July 1, 2025 sets the minimum construction valuation for a Covered Deck/Porch at $33.60 per square foot and for a Carport at $33.60 per square foot, and that valuation is run through the Building Section Valuation-Based Fee Schedule. Adopted by the Board of Supervisors on January 23, 2024.
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about patio permits in California
- Do I need a patio permit in California?
- In California it depends on the size of the job. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your California city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 14 California jurisdictions we have verified for patio work, 6 require a permit outright, 8 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
- Is there a patio permit exemption in California?
- 8 of the 14 California jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one California county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each California jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.
Ready to move on your patio permit?
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.