Electrical Permit in Minneapolis, Minnesota
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all residential electrical work
Issued byMinnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis)
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Electrical permits in Minneapolis are issued through the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry rather than the city directly. Homeowners and contractors must obtain an electrical permit from the state DLI for residential electrical work. Inspections are coordinated through Minneapolis Construction Code Services.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all residential electrical work
What an electrical permit costs in Minneapolis
How to apply in Minneapolis
In Minneapolis, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Minneapolis, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Minneapolis, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis) sets the exact checklist for Minneapolis.
Where to apply in Minneapolis:
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis)
- 505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320, Minneapolis, MN 55415
- Phone: 612-673-3000
- Email: Development@minneapolismn.gov
Electrical Permit in Minneapolis compared with nearby Minnesota localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Minnesota schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis | Permit required | Not specified | No city fee | |
| Saint Paul | Permit required | Not specified | Sec. |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Minneapolis, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Minneapolis: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Minneapolis: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Minneapolis: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Minneapolis: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Minneapolis: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Minneapolis: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Minneapolis: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Minneapolis permit portal or by phone at 612-673-3000.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Minneapolis
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all residential electrical work.
- Budget the fee. No city fee; electrical permits in Minneapolis are issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, so fees follow the state schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Minneapolis, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Minneapolis permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis). Phone: 612-673-3000. Address: 505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320, Minneapolis, MN 55415.
- Plan for inspections. In Minneapolis, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Minneapolis
In 2024, Minneapolis authorized permits for 452 new residential housing units (65 single-family, 387 in multi-family buildings), valued at $151M, down from 1,528 the year before. That works out to about 1 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 433,111.
About Minneapolis
Minneapolis has about 203,217 housing units. The median home is valued at $345,600, against a median household income of $80,269. About 48% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1950.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Minneapolis?
- Electrical permits in Minneapolis are issued through the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry rather than the city directly. Homeowners and contractors must obtain an electrical permit from the state DLI for residential electrical work. Inspections are coordinated through Minneapolis Construction Code Services. Always confirm with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis) before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Minneapolis?
- No city fee; electrical permits in Minneapolis are issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, so fees follow the state schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Minneapolis?
- You can apply through the Minneapolis permit portal or contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis) directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Minneapolis?
- Under Minnesota law (Minn. Stat. 326B.805, subd. 6, clause (3)): Minnesota requires a license to work as a residential building contractor, remodeler, or roofer, but it exempts an owner who builds or improves their own residential real estate if the owner occupies it, or will occupy it, for residential purposes, or keeps it as a rental once the work is done. That exemption lets a homeowner act as their own contractor and pull permits without holding a contractor's license. The exemption does not apply to an owner building or improving property for resale or speculation, and the law presumes speculation if the owner builds or improves more than one property within any 24-month period, unless each property is retained for rental. This is a licensing exemption only; it does not remove the separate requirement to obtain a building permit for the work itself. Confirm how Minneapolis applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Minneapolis
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | freestanding decks less than 30 in above grade that are not attached with frost footings and do not serve the main entrance are exempt; all other decks require a permit | Billed as a standard building permit valued by cost of work once the deck exceeds 30... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences no more than 7 feet high are exempt from a permit; fences over 7 feet require a building permit | No fee for fences 7 feet or under since no permit is required |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Existing residential mechanical fee is tiered by scope: Level 1 misc HVAC work with no... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | freestanding platforms less than 30 in above grade that are not attached with frost footings and do not serve the main entrance are exempt; others may require a permit | No permit fee |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Minimum plumbing permit fee is $85.20 including the $1 state surcharge, with per-item... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate pool schedule |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a standard building permit valued by cost of work, minimum $84.20 plus 65%... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story tool and storage sheds under 200 sq ft are exempt from a permit; sheds 200 sq ft or larger or more than one story require a permit | One-story sheds under 200 sq ft need no permit or fee |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | The building permit portion uses the valuation-based schedule, minimum $84.20 plus 65%... |
Electrical Permit in other Minnesota localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Minneapolis documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Minneapolis was verified. 2 official sources: minneapolismn.gov, dli.mn.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Minnesota localities
Permit office
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (electrical permits issued by state in Minneapolis)
612-673-3000Permit portal