Solar Permit in Minneapolis, Minnesota
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
Before installing a solar energy system on a residential structure
Issued byCity of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A building permit is required for residential solar panel installations in Minneapolis. The city provides a permit applicant checklist for solar energy installations. Compliance with the Minnesota State Building Code and Minneapolis Zoning Code is required.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing a solar energy system on a residential structure
What a solar permit costs in Minneapolis
How to apply in Minneapolis
In Minneapolis, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.
What most solar permit applications include:
- Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
- For Minneapolis, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
- Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
- For Minneapolis, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
- For Minneapolis, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
- Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).
General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development sets the exact checklist for Minneapolis.
Where to apply in Minneapolis:
City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development
- 505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320, Minneapolis, MN 55415
- Phone: 612-673-3000
- Email: Development@minneapolismn.gov
Solar Permit in Minneapolis compared with nearby Minnesota localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Minnesota schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis | Permit required | Not specified | The building permit portion uses the valuation-based schedule, minimum $84.20 plus 65%... | |
| Saint Paul | Permit required | Not specified | Two fees. |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Minneapolis, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
- In Minneapolis: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
- In Minneapolis: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Minneapolis: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
- In Minneapolis: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
- In Minneapolis: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Minneapolis: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Minneapolis permit portal or by phone at 612-673-3000.
Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Solar Permit checklist for Minneapolis
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before installing a solar energy system on a residential structure.
- Budget the fee. The building permit portion uses the valuation-based schedule, minimum $84.20 plus 65% plan review and 0.05% state surcharge; the required electrical permit and its fee come from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, not the city. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Minneapolis, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit. Start at the Minneapolis permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development. Phone: 612-673-3000. Address: 505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320, Minneapolis, MN 55415.
- Plan for inspections. In Minneapolis, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Minneapolis
In 2024, Minneapolis authorized permits for 452 new residential housing units (65 single-family, 387 in multi-family buildings), valued at $151M, down from 1,528 the year before. That works out to about 1 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 433,111.
About Minneapolis
Minneapolis has about 203,217 housing units. The median home is valued at $345,600, against a median household income of $80,269. About 48% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1950.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a solar permit in Minneapolis?
- A building permit is required for residential solar panel installations in Minneapolis. The city provides a permit applicant checklist for solar energy installations. Compliance with the Minnesota State Building Code and Minneapolis Zoning Code is required. Always confirm with the City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development before starting.
- How much does a solar permit cost in Minneapolis?
- The building permit portion uses the valuation-based schedule, minimum $84.20 plus 65% plan review and 0.05% state surcharge; the required electrical permit and its fee come from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, not the city. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a solar permit in Minneapolis?
- You can apply through the Minneapolis permit portal or contact the City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Minneapolis?
- Under Minnesota law (Minn. Stat. 326B.805, subd. 6, clause (3)): Minnesota requires a license to work as a residential building contractor, remodeler, or roofer, but it exempts an owner who builds or improves their own residential real estate if the owner occupies it, or will occupy it, for residential purposes, or keeps it as a rental once the work is done. That exemption lets a homeowner act as their own contractor and pull permits without holding a contractor's license. The exemption does not apply to an owner building or improving property for resale or speculation, and the law presumes speculation if the owner builds or improves more than one property within any 24-month period, unless each property is retained for rental. This is a licensing exemption only; it does not remove the separate requirement to obtain a building permit for the work itself. Confirm how Minneapolis applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Minneapolis
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | freestanding decks less than 30 in above grade that are not attached with frost footings and do not serve the main entrance are exempt; all other decks require a permit | Billed as a standard building permit valued by cost of work once the deck exceeds 30... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No city fee |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences no more than 7 feet high are exempt from a permit; fences over 7 feet require a building permit | No fee for fences 7 feet or under since no permit is required |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Existing residential mechanical fee is tiered by scope: Level 1 misc HVAC work with no... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | freestanding platforms less than 30 in above grade that are not attached with frost footings and do not serve the main entrance are exempt; others may require a permit | No permit fee |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Minimum plumbing permit fee is $85.20 including the $1 state surcharge, with per-item... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate pool schedule |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a standard building permit valued by cost of work, minimum $84.20 plus 65%... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story tool and storage sheds under 200 sq ft are exempt from a permit; sheds 200 sq ft or larger or more than one story require a permit | One-story sheds under 200 sq ft need no permit or fee |
Solar Permit in other Minnesota localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Minneapolis documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this solar permit page for Minneapolis was verified. 2 official sources: minneapolismn.gov, minneapolismn.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Solar Permit requirements across Minnesota localities
Permit office
City of Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development
612-673-3000Permit portal