Florida / Orange County

Solar Permit in Orange County, Florida

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential solar PV system

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byOrange County Division of Building Safety

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required for residential solar PV installations in unincorporated Orange County. Solar permits are typically approved within 24 hours. A permit checklist and fee schedule are available on the county website. Applications are submitted through the Fast Track online portal. Residents in incorporated cities should contact their local municipality.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Orange County

Line item
solar permitBy formulaNo dedicated solar line; PV installation bills under the Electrical Permit Additions and Alterations schedule at a $38 minimum for the first $1,000 of valuation plus $5 per additional $1,000, per the FY2025-26 Fee Directory.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Orange County compares in Florida

No Florida jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Alachua CountyPermit requiredNo solar-specific flat fee is published
Brevard CountyPermit requiredBrevard's Residential Solar Photovoltaic Permit Application fee table lists a...
Charlotte CountyPermit requiredAt application: flat fee $90, plus a building fee of 0.004 x ICC valuation (if...
Collier CountyPermit requiredFee Schedule (Resolution 2025-231, effective January 1, 2026), Solar Permit...
Hernando CountyPermit requiredPhotovoltaic System (Res): $180.00
Hillsborough CountyPermit requiredResidential Photovoltaic trade permit fee is $250 flat, inspection-only with...
Orange Countythis pagePermit requiredNo dedicated solar line

How to apply in Orange County

In Orange County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Orange County, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Orange County, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Orange County, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Orange County Division of Building Safety sets the exact checklist for Orange County.

Where to apply in Orange County:

Orange County Division of Building Safety

  • 201 S. Rosalind Avenue, Orlando, FL 32801
  • Phone: (407) 836-5564
  • Email: esubs@ocfl.net

Solar Permit in Orange County compared with nearby Florida localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Florida schedule saysVerified
Orange CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo dedicated solar line
Alachua CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific flat fee is published
Brevard CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBrevard's Residential Solar Photovoltaic Permit Application fee table lists a Building...
Broward CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Charlotte CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedAt application: flat fee $90, plus a building fee of 0.004 x ICC valuation (if valuation...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Orange County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Orange County: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Orange County: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Orange County: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Orange County: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Orange County: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Orange County: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Orange County permit portal or by phone at (407) 836-5564.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Orange County

In 2024, Orange County authorized permits for 8,052 new residential housing units (4,810 single-family, 3,242 in multi-family buildings), valued at $2.3B, down from 8,690 the year before. That works out to about 5.3 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,533,646.

About Orange County

Orange County has about 576,450 housing units. The median home is valued at $358,300, against a median household income of $77,011. About 57% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1993.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Orange County?
An electrical permit is required for residential solar PV installations in unincorporated Orange County. Solar permits are typically approved within 24 hours. A permit checklist and fee schedule are available on the county website. Applications are submitted through the Fast Track online portal. Residents in incorporated cities should contact their local municipality. Always confirm with the Orange County Division of Building Safety before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Orange County?
No dedicated solar line; PV installation bills under the Electrical Permit Additions and Alterations schedule at a $38 minimum for the first $1,000 of valuation plus $5 per additional $1,000, per the FY2025-26 Fee Directory. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Orange County?
You can apply through the Orange County permit portal or contact the Orange County Division of Building Safety directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Orange County?
Under Florida law (F.S. 489.103(7)(a)-(c)): Florida lets you pull your own permit as an owner-builder under section 489.103(7), Florida Statutes, which exempts property owners from the contractor licensing law when they act as their own contractor and provide direct, onsite supervision of all work not performed by licensed contractors. The exemption covers building or improving a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding for your own occupancy or use, and commercial buildings only up to a $75,000 cost, and the property may not be built or improved for sale or lease. If you sell or lease the property within 1 year after completing the work, the law presumes it was built for sale or lease, which violates the exemption. To qualify, you must personally appear and sign the building permit application and sign a state-prescribed disclosure statement acknowledging that you are the party legally and financially responsible for the construction, that you must provide direct, onsite supervision, and that unlicensed people you use must be your own employees, bringing federal tax withholding and workers' compensation obligations. You may not hire an unlicensed person to act as your contractor and may not delegate supervision to anyone who is not licensed for the work being done; if these requirements are violated, the local permitting agency shall withhold final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue unlicensed-activity remedies. A separate narrow branch of the exemption also lets an owner take over and complete a permit on a one-family or two-family residence when the original contractor substantially completed the project. Confirm how Orange County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Orange County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedA $12 flat Zoning Permit covers a detached deck 120 sq ft or smaller
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum Electrical Permit fee is $38 flat, scaling with service amperage for new or...
Fence PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential Fence Permit fee is $38 flat per the FY2025-26 Fee Directory's Zoning Permit...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedAir conditioning or heat pump installation up to 3 tons with ductwork included is $75...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedA concrete patio slab is valued at $5 per sq ft then charged under the Accessory...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBase Plumbing Permit fee for new construction, addition or alteration is $75 flat plus...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedThe pool shell bills under the Accessory Structure schedule using the Fee Directory's...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsunder F.S. 553.79(1)(g) (HB 803, ch. 2026-63, effective 2026-07-01), work valued at less than $7,500 on a single-family dwelling qualifies for exemption upon a written exemption request with documentation of the nature and value of the work; the exemption excludes electrical, plumbing, structural, mechanical, and gas work and any property in a flood hazard area; the statute does not name roofing, so a non-structural reroof under that value can qualify; confirm with Orange County Division of Building Safety.Residential re-roof permit fee is a $26 minimum for the first $1,000 of value plus $5...
Shed PermitPermit requiredstructures 120 sq ft or less require a zoning permit; structures over 120 sq ft require a full building permit with engineered plansA $12 flat Zoning Permit covers a tool or storage shed 120 sq ft or smaller

Solar Permit in other Florida localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Orange County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Orange County was verified. 2 official sources: orangecountyfl.net, orangecountyfl.net; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Orange County Division of Building Safety. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Florida localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Orange County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes