Solar Permit in Broward County, Florida
Permit required
We could not confirm this
Before installing any rooftop solar PV system
Issued byBroward County Building Code Division
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A building and electrical permit is required for residential rooftop solar PV installations in unincorporated Broward County under the Florida Building Code. The GoSOLAR program page previously cited returned a 404 error and could not be verified. Solar is not explicitly listed on the Broward BuildingPermits page but is required under Florida Building Code for any rooftop structural installation. Incorporated municipalities in Broward each set their own permit process.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing any rooftop solar PV system
What a solar permit costs in Broward County
How Broward County compares in Florida
No Florida jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Alachua County | Permit required | No solar-specific flat fee is published |
| Brevard County | Permit required | Brevard's Residential Solar Photovoltaic Permit Application fee table lists a... |
| Broward Countythis page | Permit required | Not published |
| Charlotte County | Permit required | At application: flat fee $90, plus a building fee of 0.004 x ICC valuation (if... |
| Collier County | Permit required | Fee Schedule (Resolution 2025-231, effective January 1, 2026), Solar Permit... |
| Hernando County | Permit required | Photovoltaic System (Res): $180.00 |
| Hillsborough County | Permit required | Residential Photovoltaic trade permit fee is $250 flat, inspection-only with... |
How to apply in Broward County
In Broward County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.
What most solar permit applications include:
- Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
- For Broward County, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
- Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
- For Broward County, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
- For Broward County, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
- Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).
General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Broward County Building Code Division sets the exact checklist for Broward County.
Where to apply in Broward County:
Broward County Building Code Division
- 2307 W Broward Blvd Suite 300, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
- Phone: (954) 765-4400
- Email: building@broward.org
Solar Permit in Broward County compared with nearby Florida localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Florida schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Broward County | Permit required | Not specified | Not published | |
| Alachua County | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific flat fee is published | |
| Brevard County | Permit required | Not specified | Brevard's Residential Solar Photovoltaic Permit Application fee table lists a Building... | |
| Charlotte County | Permit required | Not specified | At application: flat fee $90, plus a building fee of 0.004 x ICC valuation (if valuation... | |
| Clay County | Not confirmed | Not specified | Not published |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Broward County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
- In Broward County: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
- In Broward County: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Broward County: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
- In Broward County: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
- In Broward County: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Broward County: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Broward County permit portal or by phone at (954) 765-4400.
Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Solar Permit checklist for Broward County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before installing any rooftop solar PV system.
- Apply. In Broward County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit. Start at the Broward County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Broward County Building Code Division. Phone: (954) 765-4400. Address: 2307 W Broward Blvd Suite 300, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312.
- Plan for inspections. In Broward County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Broward County
In 2024, Broward County authorized permits for 1,655 new residential housing units (697 single-family, 958 in multi-family buildings), valued at $409M, down from 3,047 the year before. That works out to about 0.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,037,472.
About Broward County
Broward County has about 863,128 housing units. The median home is valued at $380,400, against a median household income of $74,534. About 63% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a solar permit in Broward County?
- A building and electrical permit is required for residential rooftop solar PV installations in unincorporated Broward County under the Florida Building Code. The GoSOLAR program page previously cited returned a 404 error and could not be verified. Solar is not explicitly listed on the Broward BuildingPermits page but is required under Florida Building Code for any rooftop structural installation. Incorporated municipalities in Broward each set their own permit process. Always confirm with the Broward County Building Code Division before starting.
- How much does a solar permit cost in Broward County?
- Fees are set by Broward County and are not published here. Contact the office for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a solar permit in Broward County?
- You can apply through the Broward County permit portal or contact the Broward County Building Code Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Broward County?
- Under Florida law (F.S. 489.103(7)(a)-(c)): Florida lets you pull your own permit as an owner-builder under section 489.103(7), Florida Statutes, which exempts property owners from the contractor licensing law when they act as their own contractor and provide direct, onsite supervision of all work not performed by licensed contractors. The exemption covers building or improving a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding for your own occupancy or use, and commercial buildings only up to a $75,000 cost, and the property may not be built or improved for sale or lease. If you sell or lease the property within 1 year after completing the work, the law presumes it was built for sale or lease, which violates the exemption. To qualify, you must personally appear and sign the building permit application and sign a state-prescribed disclosure statement acknowledging that you are the party legally and financially responsible for the construction, that you must provide direct, onsite supervision, and that unlicensed people you use must be your own employees, bringing federal tax withholding and workers' compensation obligations. You may not hire an unlicensed person to act as your contractor and may not delegate supervision to anyone who is not licensed for the work being done; if these requirements are violated, the local permitting agency shall withhold final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue unlicensed-activity remedies. A separate narrow branch of the exemption also lets an owner take over and complete a permit on a one-family or two-family residence when the original contractor substantially completed the project. Confirm how Broward County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Broward County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate deck fee line |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permit is the greater of a $125 minimum base fee or 3.0% of job value, per... |
| Fence Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate fence fee line |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Mechanical (air conditioning and ventilation) permit is the greater of a $125 minimum... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate patio fee line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing permit is the greater of a $125 minimum base fee or 3.0% of job value, per... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Pool work needs separate Structural, Plumbing, Mechanical and Electrical permit... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | under F.S. 553.79(1)(g) (HB 803, ch. 2026-63, effective 2026-07-01), work valued at less than $7,500 on a single-family dwelling qualifies for exemption upon a written exemption request with documentation of the nature and value of the work; the exemption excludes electrical, plumbing, structural, mechanical, and gas work and any property in a flood hazard area; the statute does not name roofing, so a non-structural reroof under that value can qualify; confirm with Broward County Building Code Division. | Structural permit with a roofing-specific minimum: the greater of a $250 minimum base... |
| Shed Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate shed fee line |
Solar Permit in other Florida localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Broward County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this solar permit page for Broward County was verified. 1 official source: broward.org. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Broward County Building Code Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Florida rule changes
- Broward County, FL updates building permit fee schedule (Ordinance 2025-038)
Ord. 2025-038 ·
- Florida waives permits for small single-family jobs under $7,500 (HB 803)
ch. 2026-63 (HB 803), F.S. 553.79 ·