Nevada / Clark County

Patio Permit in Clark County, Nevada

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before constructing any covered or roofed patio structure

From an official source Verified

Issued byClark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Building permits are required for all freestanding and attached covered patio structures in Clark County. Standard designs B-102 (light roofing material) and B-103-2 (heavy roofing material) are available for single-family residential covered patios and can reduce plan review time. Applications are submitted through the Citizen Access Portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before constructing any covered or roofed patio structure

What a patio permit costs in Clark County

Line item
patio permitBy formulaPatio covers bill as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54 for the first $500 of value, plus a 65 percent building plan review fee and a 10 percent zoning plan review fee, per the county Building Administrative Code Ch. 22.02.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How to apply in Clark County

In Clark County, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement.

What most patio permit applications include:

  • Filing a permit application with the local building department, which only the property owner or an authorized agent may sign, since a patio cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size (IRC R105.1).
  • For Clark County, a scaled site plan showing the new patio cover's size and location relative to the house and other existing structures, with dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is approved (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents such as a framing plan and elevation, showing rafter or beam sizes and spacing, the distance between supporting posts, and the method of attachment to the house, drawn with enough clarity for the building official to confirm the work will conform to the code (IRC R106.1).
  • For the roof structure itself, plans showing compliance with the patio cover appendix's structural limits, such as adequate footing sizes for the applied post loads, since a shallow slab on grade may substitute for a deeper footing only in limited cases up to about 750 pounds of load per post (IRC Appendix AH, Section AH105.2).
  • By contrast, an at grade concrete or paver patio that is not attached to the dwelling and stays within the code's small flatwork thresholds, similar to a sidewalk, driveway, or low deck under 200 square feet and 30 inches high, commonly needs no building permit at all, so none of the plan review steps above apply (IRC R105.2).

General submittal guidance from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Sections R105 and R106, with Appendix AH Patio Covers (named Appendix H in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 editions). Source. Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention sets the exact checklist for Clark County.

Where to apply in Clark County:

Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention

Patio Permit in Clark County compared with nearby Nevada localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Nevada schedule saysVerified
Clark CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedPatio covers bill as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54...
HendersonPermit requiredNot specified$298 for the first 200 sq ft of a standard-plan residential patio plus $14 per...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Clark County, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.

  1. In Clark County: a footing inspection once the excavation, forms, and any reinforcing steel are in place but before concrete is poured, confirming the posts supporting a patio cover will bear on adequate footings (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. In Clark County: a frame inspection after the rafters, beams, posts, and any required rough in work are in place but before the roof sheathing or covering material conceals them, since a solid patio cover roof cannot be signed off once it is covered without this check (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Clark County: a final inspection once all permitted work, including roofing and post anchorage, is complete, which the code requires before the structure may be used (IRC R109.1.6).
  4. In Clark County: an at grade concrete or paver patio that qualifies as exempt flatwork under the permit rules is not subject to any of these inspection stages, since the inspection sequence only attaches to work that required a permit in the first place (IRC R105.2).
  5. In Clark County: each inspection has to be requested by the permit holder rather than happening automatically, and the approved plans and permit card need to be on site and available when the inspector arrives (IRC R109.3).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Clark County permit portal or by phone at (702) 455-3000.

Inspection sequence from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109 (Inspections). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Clark County

In 2024, Clark County authorized permits for 14,754 new residential housing units (12,277 single-family, 2,477 in multi-family buildings), valued at $3.7B, up from 13,073 the year before. That works out to about 6.2 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,398,871.

About Clark County

Clark County has about 935,960 housing units. The median home is valued at $400,800, against a median household income of $73,845. About 57% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1997.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a patio permit in Clark County?
Building permits are required for all freestanding and attached covered patio structures in Clark County. Standard designs B-102 (light roofing material) and B-103-2 (heavy roofing material) are available for single-family residential covered patios and can reduce plan review time. Applications are submitted through the Citizen Access Portal. Always confirm with the Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention before starting.
How much does a patio permit cost in Clark County?
Patio covers bill as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54 for the first $500 of value, plus a 65 percent building plan review fee and a 10 percent zoning plan review fee, per the county Building Administrative Code Ch. 22.02. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a patio permit in Clark County?
You can apply through the Clark County permit portal or contact the Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a patio permit themselves in Clark County?
Under Nevada law (NRS 624.031(5), 624.031(6); NRS 278.610): Nevada licenses general contractors and the specialty trades together under one Contractors Board license in NRS chapter 624, and NRS 624.031(5) exempts an owner of property who is building or improving a residential structure on the property for the owner's own occupancy and not intended for sale or lease. Because Nevada does not license electricians and plumbers under separate chapters the way some states do, this same owner-occupant exemption also covers trade work done on the project, as long as it is for the owner's own home rather than resale. Selling or leasing the newly built structure, or even just offering it for sale or lease, within 1 year after completion creates a rebuttable presumption that the owner never intended to occupy it and built it to sell instead, which can defeat the exemption. An owner who wants to use the exemption must apply to the Contractors Board, which sets the requirements for granting it by regulation. The exemption only reaches the state contractor license requirement; it does not excuse the owner from the local building permit itself, which NRS 278.610 still requires from whichever city or county building official has jurisdiction. A separate, unrelated exemption in NRS 624.031(6) lets anyone, owner or not, do minor repair or maintenance work worth less than $1,000 without a license, unless a building permit is required for the work or the work is plumbing, electrical, refrigeration, heating, or air conditioning work. Confirm how Clark County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Clark County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54 for the...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specified$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-B, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 6 feet in height require a building permit; all fences require a Fence/Wall Permit (Form BPA-005) regardless of heightType A fencing 6 feet or under that is not a pool barrier needs no permit
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-C, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specified$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-D, with flat online simple permit fees of $56.57...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPool and spa permits add a flat $110 equipment and plumbing fee on top of the estimated...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedReplacing no more than 64 sq ft of non-tile roof sheathing with no structural repairs...
Shed PermitIt dependssheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190A detached storage shed of 200 sq ft or less with no mechanical or plumbing needs no...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo dedicated solar fee table

Patio Permit in other Nevada localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Clark County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this patio permit page for Clark County was verified. 2 official sources: clarkcountynv.gov, clarkcountynv.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Patio Permit requirements across Nevada localities

Patio permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Clark County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes