Nevada / Clark County

Electrical Permit in Clark County, Nevada

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For all electrical installations, modifications, or panel work

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byClark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Permit fee
$54
from the published schedule

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required for residential electrical work in Clark County. Same-size panel replacements and test-and-tag work qualify as Simple Online Permits through the Citizen Access Portal. Larger electrical projects require plan submittal. The county adopted the 2023 National Electrical Code with Southern Nevada amendments effective January 2026.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For all electrical installations, modifications, or panel work

What an electrical permit costs in Clark County

Line item
electrical permit$54$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-B, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88 for a re-tag or panel replacement up to 200 amps rising to $119.16 over 2,000 amps; other scopes bill via Table 3-A valuation, per the county Building Administrative Code Ch. 22.02.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How to apply in Clark County

In Clark County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Clark County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Clark County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention sets the exact checklist for Clark County.

Where to apply in Clark County:

Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention

Electrical Permit in Clark County compared with nearby Nevada localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Nevada schedule saysVerified
Clark CountyPermit requiredNot specified$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-B, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88...
HendersonPermit requiredNot specifiedNo single flat electrical fee, charged per component: $190 per service including the...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Clark County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Clark County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Clark County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Clark County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Clark County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Clark County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Clark County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Clark County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Clark County permit portal or by phone at (702) 455-3000.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Clark County

In 2024, Clark County authorized permits for 14,754 new residential housing units (12,277 single-family, 2,477 in multi-family buildings), valued at $3.7B, up from 13,073 the year before. That works out to about 6.2 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,398,871.

About Clark County

Clark County has about 935,960 housing units. The median home is valued at $400,800, against a median household income of $73,845. About 57% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1997.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Clark County?
An electrical permit is required for residential electrical work in Clark County. Same-size panel replacements and test-and-tag work qualify as Simple Online Permits through the Citizen Access Portal. Larger electrical projects require plan submittal. The county adopted the 2023 National Electrical Code with Southern Nevada amendments effective January 2026. Always confirm with the Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Clark County?
$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-B, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88 for a re-tag or panel replacement up to 200 amps rising to $119.16 over 2,000 amps; other scopes bill via Table 3-A valuation, per the county Building Administrative Code Ch. 22.02. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Clark County?
You can apply through the Clark County permit portal or contact the Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Clark County?
Under Nevada law (NRS 624.031(5), 624.031(6); NRS 278.610): Nevada licenses general contractors and the specialty trades together under one Contractors Board license in NRS chapter 624, and NRS 624.031(5) exempts an owner of property who is building or improving a residential structure on the property for the owner's own occupancy and not intended for sale or lease. Because Nevada does not license electricians and plumbers under separate chapters the way some states do, this same owner-occupant exemption also covers trade work done on the project, as long as it is for the owner's own home rather than resale. Selling or leasing the newly built structure, or even just offering it for sale or lease, within 1 year after completion creates a rebuttable presumption that the owner never intended to occupy it and built it to sell instead, which can defeat the exemption. An owner who wants to use the exemption must apply to the Contractors Board, which sets the requirements for granting it by regulation. The exemption only reaches the state contractor license requirement; it does not excuse the owner from the local building permit itself, which NRS 278.610 still requires from whichever city or county building official has jurisdiction. A separate, unrelated exemption in NRS 624.031(6) lets anyone, owner or not, do minor repair or maintenance work worth less than $1,000 without a license, unless a building permit is required for the work or the work is plumbing, electrical, refrigeration, heating, or air conditioning work. Confirm how Clark County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Clark County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54 for the...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 6 feet in height require a building permit; all fences require a Fence/Wall Permit (Form BPA-005) regardless of heightType A fencing 6 feet or under that is not a pool barrier needs no permit
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-C, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPatio covers bill as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specified$54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-D, with flat online simple permit fees of $56.57...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPool and spa permits add a flat $110 equipment and plumbing fee on top of the estimated...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedReplacing no more than 64 sq ft of non-tile roof sheathing with no structural repairs...
Shed PermitIt dependssheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190A detached storage shed of 200 sq ft or less with no mechanical or plumbing needs no...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo dedicated solar fee table

Electrical Permit in other Nevada localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Clark County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Clark County was verified. 2 official sources: clarkcountynv.gov, clarkcountynv.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Nevada localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Clark County permit record

Permit required $54
Get quotes