Shed Permit in Clark County, Nevada
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
Before constructing any accessory building or shed over 200 sq ft
Issued byClark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Sheds and accessory structures over 200 square feet require a building permit from Clark County. Smaller storage sheds may be exempt under Clark County Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190 though zoning setback requirements apply regardless. Applications for permitted sheds are submitted through the Citizen Access Portal.
Typical threshold: sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds or places your shed, they usually handle any required permit. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before constructing any accessory building or shed over 200 sq ft
What a shed permit costs in Clark County
How to apply in Clark County
In Clark County, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing.
What most shed permit applications include:
- For Clark County, a written permit application identifying the proposed work and describing the property by its address or legal description, filed with the building department before construction begins (IRC R105.3).
- For Clark County, a scaled site plan showing the shed's size and location and its dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is issued (IRC R106.2).
- Construction documents showing the shed's foundation: freestanding accessory structures at or under the code's small-structure size and eave-height limits (600 square feet and a 10 foot eave height in the model code) are exempt from continuous footings but must still be shown supported on undisturbed soil or engineered fill and anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1).
- Where the shed does sit on a continuous foundation with a wood sill plate, anchor bolt or approved strap details tying the sill plate to the foundation (IRC R403.1.6).
- Roof framing details showing the rafter-to-wall or truss-to-wall connections, since even a shed exempt from continuous footings must be anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1; R802.11).
General submittal guidance from IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC. Source. Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention sets the exact checklist for Clark County.
Where to apply in Clark County:
Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention
- 4701 West Russell Road, Las Vegas, NV 89118
- Phone: (702) 455-3000
- Email: pacenter@clarkcountynv.gov
Shed Permit in Clark County compared with nearby Nevada localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Nevada schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clark County | It depends | sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190 | A detached storage shed of 200 sq ft or less with no mechanical or plumbing needs no... | |
| Henderson | Not confirmed | Not specified | Not published |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Clark County, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.
- Foundation or anchor inspection in Clark County: called after any required footings, piers, or ground anchors are set and any forms or reinforcing steel are in place, but before concrete is placed, so the foundation or anchoring system can be verified before it is covered (IRC R109.1.1).
- Frame inspection in Clark County: after the shed is framed, sheathed, and braced, the inspector checks the framing, bracing, fasteners, and the roof connections that resist wind uplift, before those elements are covered (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R403.1 anchorage).
- Final inspection in Clark County: made after the permitted work is complete and before the shed is used; work may not proceed past any inspection stage without the building official's approval (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R109.4 approval required).
- In Clark County: for a pre-fabricated or kit shed, the manufacturer's installation instructions must be on site at the time of inspection so the inspector can confirm the anchoring and assembly match the design (IRC R106.1.2).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Clark County permit portal or by phone at (702) 455-3000.
Inspection sequence from IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Shed Permit checklist for Clark County
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190. Usually needed: Before constructing any accessory building or shed over 200 sq ft.
- Budget the fee. A detached storage shed of 200 sq ft or less with no mechanical or plumbing needs no building permit; a larger shed bills as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54, per the county Building Administrative Code Ch. 22.02. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Clark County, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing. Start at the Clark County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention. Phone: (702) 455-3000. Address: 4701 West Russell Road, Las Vegas, NV 89118.
- Plan for inspections. In Clark County, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Clark County
In 2024, Clark County authorized permits for 14,754 new residential housing units (12,277 single-family, 2,477 in multi-family buildings), valued at $3.7B, up from 13,073 the year before. That works out to about 6.2 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,398,871.
About Clark County
Clark County has about 935,960 housing units. The median home is valued at $400,800, against a median household income of $73,845. About 57% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1997.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a shed permit in Clark County?
- Sheds and accessory structures over 200 square feet require a building permit from Clark County. Smaller storage sheds may be exempt under Clark County Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190 though zoning setback requirements apply regardless. Applications for permitted sheds are submitted through the Citizen Access Portal. Sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a shed permit cost in Clark County?
- A detached storage shed of 200 sq ft or less with no mechanical or plumbing needs no building permit; a larger shed bills as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54, per the county Building Administrative Code Ch. 22.02. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a shed permit in Clark County?
- You can apply through the Clark County permit portal or contact the Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a shed permit themselves in Clark County?
- Under Nevada law (NRS 624.031(5), 624.031(6); NRS 278.610): Nevada licenses general contractors and the specialty trades together under one Contractors Board license in NRS chapter 624, and NRS 624.031(5) exempts an owner of property who is building or improving a residential structure on the property for the owner's own occupancy and not intended for sale or lease. Because Nevada does not license electricians and plumbers under separate chapters the way some states do, this same owner-occupant exemption also covers trade work done on the project, as long as it is for the owner's own home rather than resale. Selling or leasing the newly built structure, or even just offering it for sale or lease, within 1 year after completion creates a rebuttable presumption that the owner never intended to occupy it and built it to sell instead, which can defeat the exemption. An owner who wants to use the exemption must apply to the Contractors Board, which sets the requirements for granting it by regulation. The exemption only reaches the state contractor license requirement; it does not excuse the owner from the local building permit itself, which NRS 278.610 still requires from whichever city or county building official has jurisdiction. A separate, unrelated exemption in NRS 624.031(6) lets anyone, owner or not, do minor repair or maintenance work worth less than $1,000 without a license, unless a building permit is required for the work or the work is plumbing, electrical, refrigeration, heating, or air conditioning work. Confirm how Clark County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Clark County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54 for the... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-B, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences over 6 feet in height require a building permit; all fences require a Fence/Wall Permit (Form BPA-005) regardless of height | Type A fencing 6 feet or under that is not a pool barrier needs no permit |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-C, with flat online simple permit fees of $61.88... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Patio covers bill as a valuation-based building permit under Table 3-A starting at $54... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $54 permit issuance fee under Table 3-D, with flat online simple permit fees of $56.57... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Pool and spa permits add a flat $110 equipment and plumbing fee on top of the estimated... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Replacing no more than 64 sq ft of non-tile roof sheathing with no structural repairs... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No dedicated solar fee table |
Shed Permit in other Nevada localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Clark County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
- IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC
- IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC
How this shed permit page for Clark County was verified. 2 official sources: clarkcountynv.gov, clarkcountynv.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Clark County Department of Building and Fire Prevention. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page