Patio Permit in Little Rock, Arkansas
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
Before pouring or building a patio whose material and labor exceed $5,000, or one that requires an inspection.
Issued byCity of Little Rock Planning and Development Department, Building Codes Division
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Little Rock never mentions patios in its code or handouts. Its general rule requires a permit for any work that exceeds $5,000 including material and labor, or that requires an inspection, and patios are not on the list of excluded work, so a patio costing more than $5,000 needs a building permit. Whether a cheaper uncovered slab "requires an inspection" is not stated anywhere the City publishes; a patio cover, roof or enclosure is building construction that does.
Typical threshold: Value of the work, including material and labor.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before pouring or building a patio whose material and labor exceed $5,000, or one that requires an inspection.
What a patio permit costs in Little Rock
How to apply in Little Rock
In Little Rock, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement.
What most patio permit applications include:
- Filing a permit application with the local building department, which only the property owner or an authorized agent may sign, since a patio cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size (IRC R105.1).
- For Little Rock, a scaled site plan showing the new patio cover's size and location relative to the house and other existing structures, with dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is approved (IRC R106.2).
- Construction documents such as a framing plan and elevation, showing rafter or beam sizes and spacing, the distance between supporting posts, and the method of attachment to the house, drawn with enough clarity for the building official to confirm the work will conform to the code (IRC R106.1).
- For the roof structure itself, plans showing compliance with the patio cover appendix's structural limits, such as adequate footing sizes for the applied post loads, since a shallow slab on grade may substitute for a deeper footing only in limited cases up to about 750 pounds of load per post (IRC Appendix AH, Section AH105.2).
- By contrast, an at grade concrete or paver patio that is not attached to the dwelling and stays within the code's small flatwork thresholds, similar to a sidewalk, driveway, or low deck under 200 square feet and 30 inches high, commonly needs no building permit at all, so none of the plan review steps above apply (IRC R105.2).
General submittal guidance from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Sections R105 and R106, with Appendix AH Patio Covers (named Appendix H in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 editions). Source. City of Little Rock Planning and Development Department, Building Codes Division sets the exact checklist for Little Rock.
Where to apply in Little Rock:
City of Little Rock Planning and Development Department, Building Codes Division
- 723 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72201
- Phone: (501) 371-4832
- Email: Permits@littlerock.gov
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Little Rock, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.
- In Little Rock: a footing inspection once the excavation, forms, and any reinforcing steel are in place but before concrete is poured, confirming the posts supporting a patio cover will bear on adequate footings (IRC R109.1.1).
- In Little Rock: a frame inspection after the rafters, beams, posts, and any required rough in work are in place but before the roof sheathing or covering material conceals them, since a solid patio cover roof cannot be signed off once it is covered without this check (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Little Rock: a final inspection once all permitted work, including roofing and post anchorage, is complete, which the code requires before the structure may be used (IRC R109.1.6).
- In Little Rock: an at grade concrete or paver patio that qualifies as exempt flatwork under the permit rules is not subject to any of these inspection stages, since the inspection sequence only attaches to work that required a permit in the first place (IRC R105.2).
- In Little Rock: each inspection has to be requested by the permit holder rather than happening automatically, and the approved plans and permit card need to be on site and available when the inspector arrives (IRC R109.3).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Little Rock permit portal or by phone at (501) 371-4832.
Inspection sequence from 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109 (Inspections). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Patio Permit checklist for Little Rock
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: Value of the work, including material and labor. Usually needed: Before pouring or building a patio whose material and labor exceed $5,000, or one that requires an inspection.
- Budget the fee. Building permit valued on the cost of the work ("Proper documentation, i.e., copy of contract or letter of affidavit from applicant, must be presented"); "Minimum fee for any building permit, except as otherwise specified, shall be fifty-one and 50/100 dollars ($51.50)" plus a $25.75 data processing fee per residential or commercial permit. Little Rock Code Sec. 8-31(c), as amended through Ord. No. 22,703 (December 16, 2025), read on Municode. The valuation table itself is not shown in the Municode text; the City's posted 2022 fee ordinance (Ord. No. 22,204) has since been amended, so its table figures are not repeated here. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Little Rock, applying for a patio permit means submitting a site plan and framing plans for a roofed patio cover, since a cover is treated as its own permitted structure regardless of size. A plain concrete or paver patio slab at or near grade is, by contrast, often exempt from that same building permit requirement. Start at the Little Rock permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Little Rock Planning and Development Department, Building Codes Division. Phone: (501) 371-4832. Address: 723 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72201.
- Plan for inspections. In Little Rock, a permitted patio cover follows the same footing, frame, and final inspection sequence used for any small accessory structure, since the posts and roof framing have to be checked before they are covered and again once the work is done. An at grade patio slab that qualifies as exempt flatwork usually needs no building inspection at all, because inspections only attach to work that required a permit in the first place.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a patio permit in Little Rock?
- Little Rock never mentions patios in its code or handouts. Its general rule requires a permit for any work that exceeds $5,000 including material and labor, or that requires an inspection, and patios are not on the list of excluded work, so a patio costing more than $5,000 needs a building permit. Whether a cheaper uncovered slab "requires an inspection" is not stated anywhere the City publishes; a patio cover, roof or enclosure is building construction that does. Value of the work, including material and labor. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a patio permit cost in Little Rock?
- Building permit valued on the cost of the work ("Proper documentation, i.e., copy of contract or letter of affidavit from applicant, must be presented"); "Minimum fee for any building permit, except as otherwise specified, shall be fifty-one and 50/100 dollars ($51.50)" plus a $25.75 data processing fee per residential or commercial permit. Little Rock Code Sec. 8-31(c), as amended through Ord. No. 22,703 (December 16, 2025), read on Municode. The valuation table itself is not shown in the Municode text; the City's posted 2022 fee ordinance (Ord. No. 22,204) has since been amended, so its table figures are not repeated here. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a patio permit in Little Rock?
- You can apply through the Little Rock permit portal or contact the City of Little Rock Planning and Development Department, Building Codes Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a patio permit themselves in Little Rock?
- Under Arkansas law (Ark. Code 17-25-513(1), (2); 17-38-302(1); 17-28-101(9); 17-28-102(b); 17-28-305(b)(2); 17-25-101(a)(2)): Yes. A person building his or her own residence does not need a residential building contractor license unless they build more than one residence in a calendar year, and the owner of a single family residence may act as his or her own home improvement contractor (17-25-513(1)-(2)). Plumbing work done by a property owner in a building the owner owns and occupies as his or her home is exempt from plumber licensing unless a local ordinance requires a license (17-38-302(1)). The electrical licensing law does not require an individual to hold a license to do electrical work on his or her primary residence, defined as an unattached single-family dwelling, unless other state law or a local ordinance requires it, and a city or county may require the owner to show technical competency first (17-28-102(b), 17-28-305(b)(2)). These are licensing exemptions, not permit exemptions: the owner still needs whatever local permits apply. No state owner-builder disclosure form or resale restriction was found. Confirm how Little Rock applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Little Rock
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Painting, floor coverings, cosmetic changes and fixture trap or supply-line swaps are exempt; moving plumbing, any electrical work or work over $5,000 needs permits | Building permit (if required) on the valuation schedule with a $51.50 minimum |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Any size | ...except as otherwise specified, shall be fifty-one and 50/100 dollars ($51.50)" plus... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Any size | Repair/alteration/addition items, for example openings 1 to 20, $12.36 |
| EV Charger Permit | Permit required | Any size | ...special equipment, outdoor lighting or any circuits not already covered"... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | Height of a residential fence | ...subsection 8-3 l(c)(l)a." (the building permit valuation schedule), with a $51.50... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Any size | ...for replacements, repairs, alterations and additions by total valuation: "$500.00... |
| Plumbing Permit | It depends | Clearing stoppages, temporary leak clamps, replacing a fixture trap or supply lines, and like-for-like gas appliance hookups are exempt; new or altered piping needs a permit | Repair/alteration items: "Each plumbing fixture outlet or appliance" $6.18 |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Any size | ...8-31(c)(l)a., but minimum fee shall be fee of fifty-one and 50/100 dollars... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | No permit needed | Exempt | Not published |
| Shed Permit | It depends | Floor area of a one-story detached tool or storage shed, playhouse or similar accessory structure | ...except as otherwise specified, shall be fifty-one and 50/100 dollars ($51.50)" plus... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Any size | ...assessed on the building permit valuation schedule (Sec. 8-31(c)(1)n.), $51.50... |
| Water Heater Permit | Permit required | Any size | Plumbing permit line item "Water heater .....$17.51" (minimum plumbing permit $50.00) |
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Little Rock documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this patio permit page for Little Rock was verified. 2 official sources: littlerock.gov, library.municode.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Little Rock Planning and Development Department, Building Codes Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Patio Permit requirements across Arkansas localities