Texas / San Antonio

Electrical Permit in San Antonio, Texas

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For all residential electrical work including new wiring service upgrades and panel replacements

From an official source Verified

Issued byCity of San Antonio Development Services Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required in San Antonio for all residential electrical work including new wiring, circuit additions, service upgrades, and panel replacements. Licensed electrical contractors must register with DSD and pull permits before beginning work. Applications are submitted through the BuildSA online portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For all residential electrical work including new wiring service upgrades and panel replacements

What an electrical permit costs in San Antonio

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaFor work on an existing home, a $50 electrical inspection permit fee plus a $10 administrative processing fee, then an amperage-based service rating charge, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How San Antonio compares in Texas

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ArlingtonPermit requiredNot specified
AustinPermit requiredNot specified
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredAn electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all.
DallasPermit requiredNot specified
El PasoPermit requiredReplacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt.
Fort WorthPermit requiredNot specified
San Antoniothis pagePermit requiredNot specified

How to apply in San Antonio

In San Antonio, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For San Antonio, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For San Antonio, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of San Antonio Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for San Antonio.

Where to apply in San Antonio:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department

  • 1901 S. Alamo St., San Antonio, TX 78204
  • Phone: 210-207-1111

Electrical Permit in San Antonio compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
San AntonioPermit requiredNot specifiedFor work on an existing home, a $50 electrical inspection permit fee plus a $10...
ArlingtonPermit requiredNot specifiedPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No.
AustinPermit requiredNot specifiedElectrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee...
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredAn electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all.FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Electrical Permits: Residential $0.075 per square...
DallasPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In San Antonio, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In San Antonio: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In San Antonio: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In San Antonio: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In San Antonio: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In San Antonio: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In San Antonio: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In San Antonio: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Antonio permit portal or by phone at 210-207-1111.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in San Antonio

In 2024, San Antonio authorized permits for 6,258 new residential housing units (5,000 single-family, 1,258 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.6B, down from 9,159 the year before. That works out to about 4 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,567,087.

About San Antonio

San Antonio has about 603,213 housing units. The median home is valued at $219,700, against a median household income of $62,917. About 52% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1984.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in San Antonio?
An electrical permit is required in San Antonio for all residential electrical work including new wiring, circuit additions, service upgrades, and panel replacements. Licensed electrical contractors must register with DSD and pull permits before beginning work. Applications are submitted through the BuildSA online portal. Always confirm with the City of San Antonio Development Services Department before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in San Antonio?
For work on an existing home, a $50 electrical inspection permit fee plus a $10 administrative processing fee, then an amperage-based service rating charge, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in San Antonio?
You can apply through the San Antonio permit portal or contact the City of San Antonio Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in San Antonio?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how San Antonio applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in San Antonio

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $160 fee covering carports and decks under the residential miscellaneous flat-fee...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 6 ft in height require a permit; fences 6 ft or under generally do not require a permit in San AntonioFlat $25 residential fence permit fee, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFor work on an existing home, a $50 mechanical permit fee plus a $10 administrative fee...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFor work on an existing home, a $50 plumbing inspection fee plus a $10 administrative...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $360 residential swimming pool permit fee, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $25 residential re-roof permit fee, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule
Shed PermitIt dependssheds over 200 sq ft require a permit; sheds with a permanent foundation (including concrete slab) at any size require a permit; sheds attached to the primary dwelling require a permitNot published
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar photovoltaic installs file as a sub-type of the Electrical Permit, so the $50...

Electrical Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

sa.gov: Permitsread

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Antonio documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for San Antonio was verified. 1 official source: sa.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Antonio Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Texas localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing San Antonio permit record

Permit required
Get quotes