Texas / San Antonio

Deck Permit in San Antonio, Texas

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before constructing any residential deck or platform structure

From an official source Verified

Issued byCity of San Antonio Development Services Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A building permit is required in San Antonio for residential decks. Smaller one-story decks under 1,000 square feet use the Residential Improvements Permit application. Decks over 1,000 square feet or two-story decks use the full Residential Building Permit Application. Applications are submitted through the BuildSA online portal. A final inspection by DSD is required.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before constructing any residential deck or platform structure

What a deck permit costs in San Antonio

Line item
deck permitBy formulaFlat $160 fee covering carports and decks under the residential miscellaneous flat-fee table, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How San Antonio compares in Texas

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ArlingtonIt dependsheight of an uncovered deck above grade at any point
AustinIt dependsuncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exempt
Corpus ChristiIt dependsA deck needs a permit if it is larger than 200 square feet, or more than 30 inches above the ground, or attached to a dwelling, or serving the exit door; any one of the four triggers alone requires the permit.
DallasIt dependsdecks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt
Fort WorthIt dependsheight of the platform, walk or deck above grade, and whether it sits over a basement or story below
HoustonIt dependsdeck not exceeding 200 sq ft and not more than 30 in above grade and not attached to dwelling and not serving required exit door is exempt from permit
San Antoniothis pagePermit requiredNot specified

How to apply in San Antonio

In San Antonio, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs.

What most deck permit applications include:

  • For San Antonio, a permit application identifying the work, the deck's size (square footage), and whether electrical work such as lights or receptacles is included, submitted for plan review before construction begins (IRC R106).
  • For San Antonio, a scaled site plan (for example 1/4 inch to 1 foot) showing the new deck's location relative to the house, its overall length and width, and dimensioned distances from the deck to all property lines and other structures so required setbacks can be verified (IRC R106.1.1).
  • For San Antonio, a deck plan drawn to scale showing overall dimensions and the framing layout: joist size, spacing, span, and species; beam size and span; post size and height; and footing or pier size and depth (IRC R507.4 posts, R507.5 beams, R507.6 joists, R507.3 footings).
  • For San Antonio, a section or side elevation with connection details showing the ledger attachment to the house band joist with flashing, the fastener or bolt schedule, joist hangers, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the required lateral load connection (IRC R507.9 ledger connection, R507.9.2 lateral connection, R507.2.4 flashing).
  • Footing sizing derived from tributary area, the soil bearing value, and design loads per IRC Table R507.3.1, with footings shown bearing on undisturbed soil at the frost depth required by the jurisdiction (IRC R507.3).
  • Details for the guards required where the walking surface is more than 30 inches above grade, and for the stairs and handrails, showing guard height and opening limits, stair riser and tread dimensions, and handrail location (IRC R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
  • For designs that fall outside the prescriptive R507 tables (for example multi-story or stacked decks, or a ledger attached to a cantilever), engineered and stamped structural plans are submitted in place of the prescriptive details (IRC R507.1 and R301).

General submittal guidance from IRC R106.1.1 (construction documents) and IRC R507 (exterior decks), 2021 IRC. Source. City of San Antonio Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for San Antonio.

Where to apply in San Antonio:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department

  • 1901 S. Alamo St., San Antonio, TX 78204
  • Phone: 210-207-1111

Deck Permit in San Antonio compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
San AntonioPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $160 fee covering carports and decks under the residential miscellaneous flat-fee...
ArlingtonIt dependsheight of an uncovered deck above grade at any pointPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No.
AustinIt dependsuncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exemptUncovered decks are grouped with pools and fences under the Small Projects Plan Review...
Corpus ChristiIt dependsA deck needs a permit if it is larger than 200 square feet, or more than 30 inches above the ground, or attached to a dwelling, or serving the exit door; any one of the four triggers alone requires the permit.FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Residential Construction - New, Remodels, and...
DallasIt dependsdecks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exemptNo deck-specific line

Inspections and closing out your permit

In San Antonio, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.

  1. Footing or pier inspection in San Antonio: after the holes are dug and any forms or reinforcing are set but before concrete is placed, the inspector checks footing depth and diameter, a flat undisturbed bearing surface, and that the holes are free of water (IRC R109.1.1 foundation inspection; R507.3 footings).
  2. Framing inspection in San Antonio: after the deck is framed but before the decking conceals it, the inspector verifies the ledger attachment and its flashing, the fastener and bolt schedule, joist hangers and metal connectors, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the lateral load connection; call it before decking is installed (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R507.9 ledger and flashing).
  3. Final inspection in San Antonio: after the deck is complete and before it is used, the inspector confirms guard height and opening limits (a 4 inch sphere must not pass, 4 3/8 inch at stairs), stair riser and tread dimensions, handrail height and graspability where there are 4 or more risers, stair landings, and required stair lighting (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Antonio permit portal or by phone at 210-207-1111.

Inspection sequence from IRC R109 (inspections: R109.1.1 footing before concrete, R109.1.4 frame, R109.1.6 final), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in San Antonio

In 2024, San Antonio authorized permits for 6,258 new residential housing units (5,000 single-family, 1,258 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.6B, down from 9,159 the year before. That works out to about 4 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,567,087.

About San Antonio

San Antonio has about 603,213 housing units. The median home is valued at $219,700, against a median household income of $62,917. About 52% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1984.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a deck permit in San Antonio?
A building permit is required in San Antonio for residential decks. Smaller one-story decks under 1,000 square feet use the Residential Improvements Permit application. Decks over 1,000 square feet or two-story decks use the full Residential Building Permit Application. Applications are submitted through the BuildSA online portal. A final inspection by DSD is required. Always confirm with the City of San Antonio Development Services Department before starting.
How much does a deck permit cost in San Antonio?
Flat $160 fee covering carports and decks under the residential miscellaneous flat-fee table, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a deck permit in San Antonio?
You can apply through the San Antonio permit portal or contact the City of San Antonio Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a deck permit themselves in San Antonio?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how San Antonio applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in San Antonio

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFor work on an existing home, a $50 electrical inspection permit fee plus a $10...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 6 ft in height require a permit; fences 6 ft or under generally do not require a permit in San AntonioFlat $25 residential fence permit fee, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFor work on an existing home, a $50 mechanical permit fee plus a $10 administrative fee...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFor work on an existing home, a $50 plumbing inspection fee plus a $10 administrative...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $360 residential swimming pool permit fee, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $25 residential re-roof permit fee, per the FY2026 Development Fee Schedule
Shed PermitIt dependssheds over 200 sq ft require a permit; sheds with a permanent foundation (including concrete slab) at any size require a permit; sheds attached to the primary dwelling require a permitNot published
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar photovoltaic installs file as a sub-type of the Electrical Permit, so the $50...

Deck Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Antonio documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this deck permit page for San Antonio was verified. 2 official sources: sa.gov, docsonline.sanantonio.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Antonio Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Deck Permit requirements across Texas localities

Deck permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing San Antonio permit record

Permit required
Get quotes