Pennsylvania / Philadelphia

Electrical Permit in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For residential electrical installations, alterations, and service upgrades

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byDepartment of Licenses and Inspections

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Permit fee
$100
from the published schedule

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required from Philadelphia L&I for residential electrical installations, alterations, and renewals. Replacements of circuit breakers, switches, and light fixtures as regular maintenance are exempt. Work must be performed by a licensed electrical contractor. Apply through the eCLIPSE portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For residential electrical installations, alterations, and service upgrades

What an electrical permit costs in Philadelphia

Line item
electrical permit$100$100 filing fee (nonrefundable); permit fee $25 per $1,000 of construction cost, minimum $63.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How to apply in Philadelphia

In Philadelphia, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Philadelphia, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Philadelphia, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Department of Licenses and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Philadelphia.

Where to apply in Philadelphia:

Department of Licenses and Inspections

  • 1401 John F. Kennedy Blvd., MSB, Philadelphia, PA 19102
  • Phone: (215) 255-4040

Electrical Permit in Philadelphia compared with nearby Pennsylvania localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Pennsylvania schedule saysVerified
PhiladelphiaPermit requiredNot specified$100 filing fee (nonrefundable)
PittsburghIt dependsNot specified2026 PLI Fee Schedule, effective 1/1/2026: "Base Permit Fee (Residential) $6.00 per...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Philadelphia, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Philadelphia: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Philadelphia: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Philadelphia: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Philadelphia: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Philadelphia: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Philadelphia: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Philadelphia: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Philadelphia permit portal or by phone at (215) 255-4040.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Philadelphia

In 2024, Philadelphia authorized permits for 2,962 new residential housing units (539 single-family, 2,423 in multi-family buildings), valued at $498M, down from 3,863 the year before. That works out to about 1.9 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,578,487.

About Philadelphia

Philadelphia has about 739,725 housing units. The median home is valued at $232,400, against a median household income of $60,698. About 52% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1949.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Philadelphia?
An electrical permit is required from Philadelphia L&I for residential electrical installations, alterations, and renewals. Replacements of circuit breakers, switches, and light fixtures as regular maintenance are exempt. Work must be performed by a licensed electrical contractor. Apply through the eCLIPSE portal. Always confirm with the Department of Licenses and Inspections before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Philadelphia?
$100 filing fee (nonrefundable); permit fee $25 per $1,000 of construction cost, minimum $63. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Philadelphia?
You can apply through the Philadelphia permit portal or contact the Department of Licenses and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Philadelphia?
Under Pennsylvania law (34 Pa. Code 403.62(a); Act 132 of 2008 (HICPA), Section 2 (73 P.S. 517.2)): Yes. 34 Pa. Code 403.62(a) provides that 'An owner or authorized agent who intends to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish or change the occupancy of a residential building or erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert or replace an electrical, gas, mechanical or plumbing system regulated by the Uniform Construction Code shall first apply to the building code official and obtain the required permit.' The owner is a permitted applicant. The Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (Act 132 of 2008, 73 P.S. 517.1 et seq.) is a registration and consumer-protection law for contractors: its 'Contractor' definition covers a person 'who owns and operates a home improvement business or who undertakes, offers to undertake or agrees to perform any home improvement,' so it governs people doing home improvements for others, not homeowners doing their own work. Pennsylvania has no statewide trade licensing barring homeowner work; trade licensing, where it exists, is municipal. Confirm how Philadelphia applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Philadelphia

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a plumbing alteration permit at $50 for the first 7 fixtures plus $22.50 per...
Deck PermitIt dependsresidential decks up to 216 sq ft (excluding roof decks) qualify for EZ permit without plans; larger decks require full building permit with plansNew decks fall under the accessory structure and addition bucket at $75 for the first...
EV Charger PermitIt dependsNot specifiedCharged as a standard electrical permit at $25 per $1,000 of estimated cost with a $63...
Fence PermitIt dependspermit required if fence exceeds 6 feet tall, is masonry over 2 ft, is on Historic Registry, or is in the 100-year floodplainZoning permit $50-$632 by lot size
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified$100 filing fee (nonrefundable)
Patio PermitIt dependsconcrete or other hard-surface paving on grade (driveways, walkways, patios not used for parking) is exempt; covered or elevated patio structures require a permit, and paving in flood protection areas requires oneNo fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specified$100 filing fee (nonrefundable)
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated swimming pools or spas less than 24 inches deep AND less than 5000 gallons do not require a permit; all larger pools require a permitFlat $69 building permit fee for a pool or spa accessory to a one or two family...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $69 building permit fee to replace the roof covering on a one or two family...
Shed PermitIt dependsdetached structures under 200 sq ft for one-or-two-family dwellings do not require a permitSheds 120 sq ft or less in the rear yard need no permit
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $200 building permit fee for the solar panel structure plus a separate electrical...
Water Heater PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $31 plumbing permit fee to replace a water heater in a one or two family dwelling...

Electrical Permit in other Pennsylvania localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Philadelphia documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Philadelphia was verified. 2 official sources: phila.gov, phila.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Department of Licenses and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Pennsylvania localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Philadelphia permit record

Permit required $100
Get quotes