Pennsylvania / Philadelphia

EV Charger Permit in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

It depends

We could not confirm this

Based on building code Verified

Issued byDepartment of Licenses and Inspections

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Under 34 Pa. Code 403.62(a), installing or altering 'an electrical... system regulated by the Uniform Construction Code' requires a permit, and adding a hardwired Level 2 charger circuit is not an ordinary repair, since 403.62(d)(4) excludes from ordinary repairs 'the addition to, or relocation of any... electric wiring'; the only wiring exemption is 'installation or rearrangement of communications wiring' (403.62(c)(9)). The conditional element is jurisdictional: Act 45 Section 104(b)(5) and 34 Pa. Code 403.1(b)(8) exclude from the act alterations to residential buildings that make no structural or egress changes 'except as required by ordinances' under sections 303(b)(1) or 503, and municipal ordinances differ, so confirm with the local building code official or, in opt-out municipalities, a certified third-party agency.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

What an EV charger permit costs in Philadelphia

Line item
EV charger permitBy formulaCharged as a standard electrical permit at $25 per $1,000 of estimated cost with a $63 minimum and $18,975 maximum; no EV-specific fee line exists, per the city's electrical permit page.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How to apply in Philadelphia

In Philadelphia, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.

What most EV charger permit applications include:

  • For Philadelphia, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
  • For Philadelphia, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
  • For Philadelphia, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
  • Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
  • For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
  • For Philadelphia, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).

General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Department of Licenses and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Philadelphia.

Where to apply in Philadelphia:

Department of Licenses and Inspections

  • 1401 John F. Kennedy Blvd., MSB, Philadelphia, PA 19102
  • Phone: (215) 255-4040

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Philadelphia, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.

  1. In Philadelphia: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
  2. In Philadelphia: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
  3. In Philadelphia: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
  4. In Philadelphia: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
  5. In Philadelphia: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
  6. In Philadelphia: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Philadelphia permit portal or by phone at (215) 255-4040.

Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Philadelphia

In 2024, Philadelphia authorized permits for 2,962 new residential housing units (539 single-family, 2,423 in multi-family buildings), valued at $498M, down from 3,863 the year before. That works out to about 1.9 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,578,487.

About Philadelphia

Philadelphia has about 739,725 housing units. The median home is valued at $232,400, against a median household income of $60,698. About 52% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1949.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an EV charger permit in Philadelphia?
Under 34 Pa. Code 403.62(a), installing or altering 'an electrical... system regulated by the Uniform Construction Code' requires a permit, and adding a hardwired Level 2 charger circuit is not an ordinary repair, since 403.62(d)(4) excludes from ordinary repairs 'the addition to, or relocation of any... electric wiring'; the only wiring exemption is 'installation or rearrangement of communications wiring' (403.62(c)(9)). The conditional element is jurisdictional: Act 45 Section 104(b)(5) and 34 Pa. Code 403.1(b)(8) exclude from the act alterations to residential buildings that make no structural or egress changes 'except as required by ordinances' under sections 303(b)(1) or 503, and municipal ordinances differ, so confirm with the local building code official or, in opt-out municipalities, a certified third-party agency. Always confirm with the Department of Licenses and Inspections before starting.
How much does an EV charger permit cost in Philadelphia?
Charged as a standard electrical permit at $25 per $1,000 of estimated cost with a $63 minimum and $18,975 maximum; no EV-specific fee line exists, per the city's electrical permit page. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Philadelphia?
You can apply through the Philadelphia permit portal or contact the Department of Licenses and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Philadelphia?
Under Pennsylvania law (34 Pa. Code 403.62(a); Act 132 of 2008 (HICPA), Section 2 (73 P.S. 517.2)): Yes. 34 Pa. Code 403.62(a) provides that 'An owner or authorized agent who intends to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish or change the occupancy of a residential building or erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert or replace an electrical, gas, mechanical or plumbing system regulated by the Uniform Construction Code shall first apply to the building code official and obtain the required permit.' The owner is a permitted applicant. The Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (Act 132 of 2008, 73 P.S. 517.1 et seq.) is a registration and consumer-protection law for contractors: its 'Contractor' definition covers a person 'who owns and operates a home improvement business or who undertakes, offers to undertake or agrees to perform any home improvement,' so it governs people doing home improvements for others, not homeowners doing their own work. Pennsylvania has no statewide trade licensing barring homeowner work; trade licensing, where it exists, is municipal. Confirm how Philadelphia applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Philadelphia

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a plumbing alteration permit at $50 for the first 7 fixtures plus $22.50 per...
Deck PermitIt dependsresidential decks up to 216 sq ft (excluding roof decks) qualify for EZ permit without plans; larger decks require full building permit with plansNew decks fall under the accessory structure and addition bucket at $75 for the first...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specified$100 filing fee (nonrefundable)
Fence PermitIt dependspermit required if fence exceeds 6 feet tall, is masonry over 2 ft, is on Historic Registry, or is in the 100-year floodplainZoning permit $50-$632 by lot size
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified$100 filing fee (nonrefundable)
Patio PermitIt dependsconcrete or other hard-surface paving on grade (driveways, walkways, patios not used for parking) is exempt; covered or elevated patio structures require a permit, and paving in flood protection areas requires oneNo fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specified$100 filing fee (nonrefundable)
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated swimming pools or spas less than 24 inches deep AND less than 5000 gallons do not require a permit; all larger pools require a permitFlat $69 building permit fee for a pool or spa accessory to a one or two family...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $69 building permit fee to replace the roof covering on a one or two family...
Shed PermitIt dependsdetached structures under 200 sq ft for one-or-two-family dwellings do not require a permitSheds 120 sq ft or less in the rear yard need no permit
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $200 building permit fee for the solar panel structure plus a separate electrical...
Water Heater PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $31 plumbing permit fee to replace a water heater in a one or two family dwelling...

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Philadelphia documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this EV charger permit page for Philadelphia was verified. 1 official source: pacodeandbulletin.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Department of Licenses and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Pennsylvania localities

EV charger permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Philadelphia permit record

It depends
Get quotes