Tennessee / Nashville

Electrical Permit in Nashville, Tennessee

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For all residential electrical work

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byMetro Nashville Codes and Building Safety Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical trade permit is required for residential electrical work in Nashville. Licensed contractors apply through the ePermits system. Contact the Codes Help Desk at 615-862-6510 for project-specific guidance.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For all residential electrical work

What an electrical permit costs in Nashville

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaFlat minimum of $75 per permit with itemized add-on charges for circuits, panels, services and appliances, per Metro Code 16.20.250 in the Codes fee schedule (Dec 2025).
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Nashville compares in Tennessee

No Tennessee jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
MemphisPermit requiredE-0 fee issuance cost per permit $20.00, E3.1 minimum fee $15.00, E-6.2...
Nashvillethis pagePermit requiredFlat minimum of $75 per permit with itemized add-on charges for circuits...
Williamson CountyPermit requiredState-issued via the TN CORE system: a $5 issuing fee plus ampere-based...

How to apply in Nashville

In Nashville, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Nashville, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Nashville, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Metro Nashville Codes and Building Safety Department sets the exact checklist for Nashville.

Where to apply in Nashville:

Metro Nashville Codes and Building Safety Department

Electrical Permit in Nashville compared with nearby Tennessee localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Tennessee schedule saysVerified
NashvillePermit requiredNot specifiedFlat minimum of $75 per permit with itemized add-on charges for circuits, panels...
MemphisPermit requiredNot specifiedE-0 fee issuance cost per permit $20.00, E3.1 minimum fee $15.00, E-6.2 EXISTING...
Williamson CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedState-issued via the TN CORE system: a $5 issuing fee plus ampere-based inspection fees...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Nashville, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Nashville: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Nashville: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Nashville: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Nashville: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Nashville: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Nashville: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Nashville: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Nashville permit portal or by phone at 615-862-6500.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Nashville

In 2024, Nashville authorized permits for 6,799 new residential housing units (2,662 single-family, 4,137 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.2B, down from 11,158 the year before. That works out to about 10.1 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 671,295.

About Nashville

Nashville has about 333,074 housing units. The median home is valued at $383,100, against a median household income of $75,197. About 53% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1985.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Nashville?
An electrical trade permit is required for residential electrical work in Nashville. Licensed contractors apply through the ePermits system. Contact the Codes Help Desk at 615-862-6510 for project-specific guidance. Always confirm with the Metro Nashville Codes and Building Safety Department before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Nashville?
Flat minimum of $75 per permit with itemized add-on charges for circuits, panels, services and appliances, per Metro Code 16.20.250 in the Codes fee schedule (Dec 2025). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Nashville?
You can apply through the Nashville permit portal or contact the Metro Nashville Codes and Building Safety Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Nashville?
Under Tennessee law (T.C.A. 62-6-103; Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-02-23-.01(1)(i), -.05(3), -.05(4)(b)2.; Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-02-01-.05(2)(a)): Tennessee lets a homeowner act as their own builder. Under T.C.A. 62-6-103, as the State Fire Marshal's Office explains it, an owner may construct a single residence once every two years for personal use without a contractor's license, so long as the home is not for resale, lease, or rent, and anyone the homeowner hires whose portion of the work is $25,000 or more must be a licensed contractor. In state permit areas the owner pulls a property owner's permit, limited by rule to one per 24 month period, and the work is subject to the same inspections and fees as a contractor's job; proof of licensure is waived at permit purchase only when the owner personally performs the work. For electrical work, a homeowner may wire their own residence only after obtaining a residential property owner's electrical permit, which covers only the applicant and immediate family, does not authorize help from anyone unlicensed, and is limited to one per 12 month period unless the owner lost the home to fire or windstorm. Confirm how Nashville applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Nashville

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a residential building permit at $5 per $1,000 of total valuation plus a $25...
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNo permit fee
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat minimum of $75 per gas/mechanical permit plus $32 per 100,000 Btuh or fraction for...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedUses the same residential building permit rate as decks, $5 per $1,000 of valuation plus...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat minimum of $75 per permit plus $11 per plumbing fixture, per Metro Code 16.12.220...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a residential building permit at $5 per $1,000 of valuation plus a $25 zoning...
Roof Replacement PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedRoof work beyond normal maintenance (repairs over 33 percent of roof area) is billed as...
Shed PermitIt dependsaccessory structures 100 sq ft or larger require a permit; structures under 100 sq ft may not require a permitSheds of 100 sq ft or more are billed as a residential building permit at $5 per $1,000...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specified$75 minimum permit fee

Electrical Permit in other Tennessee localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Nashville documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Nashville was verified. 2 official sources: nashville.gov, nashville.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Metro Nashville Codes and Building Safety Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Tennessee localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Nashville permit record

Permit required
Get quotes